2017 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota RAV4

$12,898 - $39,730  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

466 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Not all changes are positive

by SpartanFatty from on Mon May 01 2017

I also own a 2010 RAV 4, which I love. Lots of upgrades with the electronics on the 2017. The backup camera is nice, the radar guided cruise is a blessing and a curse. The lane indicator is just annoying. I like that the spare is inside the car. I DO NOT like that the rear door is now a hatch rather than a door. No more closing the door with your hands full. The interior seems a bit plasticy/cheap.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Ashour from Denver, Colorado on Mon Feb 27 2017

Perfect vehicle for someone who needs a small SUV loaded up with all the tech and safety features. Gas mileage is great and my dealer experience was superb

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third RAV4

by Rapid Bob #1 from Indian Land, SC on Fri Apr 21 2017

While I have had my new 2017 Toyota RAV4 for only a very short period of time I am extremely impressed with it. This is the 3rd new RAV4 that I have purchased and find this new one as the very best. Of course it is my first Hybrid model but the Safety package is outstanding. The added horse power provides quick acceleration and the ride is much softer than previous RAV4's that I have owned. The cabin is quiet offering a very pleasant interior environment for conversation or listening to the radio. I have already advised several friends to consider exploring purchasing a 2017 RAV4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointing

by Former Loyal Toyota Customer from TN on Sat Feb 10 2018

Do not buy. Not the same quality as past Toyotas I have owned. Too much road noise to enjoy the audio system. And Audio system has software flaws that Toyota does not seem to care about fixing. When playing music in song name sequence from a USB drive, the music randomly jumps forward skipping several songs at a time. Dealer acknowledges problem but does not expect a fix. Also, the audio system even finds songs previously deleted from the USB drive, so you can never add a song to the USB drive and then remove it without reformatting the drive and adding only the songs you want to hear. Front seating is very uncomfortable for both tall and short passengers. Not having a motorized front passenger seat on the Platinum model is such a disappointment. If this is representative of current Toyota attitudes to vehicle quality, this will be my last toyota.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Real Gem in Style, Safety and Comfort

by Mimi K. from Beaverton, OR on Sun Mar 26 2017

I just purchased a Toyota RAV4 SE and couldn't be happier. The safety features and solid feel are excellent. The comfort and performance are also fantastic! You really feel you are driving a super high end car in all aspects. To be honest there are 3 things that I was disappointed with--my car had the Entunes Connected GPS Navigation System. Very much a let down in what you would expect- no way to get a map showing as you drove or even when getting directions. You got arrows and voice but no map. Also, no way to get the Entune apps promoted and showing. I called Entunes, Toyota, the GPS company and they all said those things not able to work in this model navigation system plus, you cannot install the Premium Entunes system to replace the connected one as hardware not included. The map was important to me, so I had to go to outside vendor and have a brand name navigation system installed. The second feature, no integration of garage door opener into the car in any way. I have to carry my opener with me. The outside vendor said they possibly could add something for several hundred dollars but after the navigation change out, definitely could not justify spending hundreds more just to not carry my garage door opener. The 3rd things, the splash up is atrocious. My car is white and after driving a few miles in rainy weather, the top surface of the back bumper was black, along with the entire rear liftgate and window, coated in mud film. I had mud flaps installed by the dealer and happy to say--excellent value for the money, the rear of the Rav stays clean now. They look sharp and are a solid addition. I also had the side mouldings put on, good additional protection and really improves the appearance of the vehicle. After those modifications, I feel I am driving a top car in comfort, safety, appearance and reliability. As far as safety features, Toyota now equips their Ravs with just about everything you could think of and it works so well. This car is luxury in safety features, comfort, reliability and appearance. Still have a constant smile on my face as I drive it. One other things, Toyota now has as standard the type of shifting system that cars like the Prius have had before, the anticipated shifting where you don't even feel the car shift, leads to much better fuel consumption, better ride and performance and more steady acceleration when you need to increase your speed, like when entering a freeway. By the way, if you happen to be in the Oregon area, a dealer in Hillsboro, Royal Moore Toyota, no personal connection, has a unique 20,000 mile Power Train Warranty, along with making a car buying experience so enjoyable and one in which you end up with friends, in every department. The personal care and recognition from your first day on is exceptional!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Rav4

by KittyMom5 from Menomonee Falls, WI on Sun Mar 19 2017

The only thing Toyota got wrong on this model is the alignment of the sunvisor & rearview mirror. You can't lower the visor & then push it forward & up to block sun, but maintain visibilty. This is due to the visor hitting the rearview mirror. A pain for taller people like me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Seek to have this be a terrific vehicle.

by Loiki. loiswn from on Mon Mar 20 2017

Looking forward to a wonderful experience. It is a new SUV for us & we are anxious to have fun & pleasure with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I just bought the car and l love everything about

by Virginie from Kissimmee, fl on Thu Mar 23 2017

I first nice car I have not drove.it is beautiful, with a great technology update that every one will wish on a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its my 3rdd Rav so you can see I love it.

by Linda by Sea from Cayucos, Ca on Sun Mar 19 2017

My only complaint was I can't reach the rear hatch back to close it, should of got an automatic closer. Wasn't aware I would be too short.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Rav4

by Pritesh from Altamonte spring on Wed Mar 29 2017

Very smooth to handle and comfortable in all aspects.. powerful and good handling. I liked interior design very much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 47

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota RAV4

The verdict:

The 2016 Toyota RAV4 is a useful compact SUV, but the SE trim level is let down by a stiff ride and a high price tag.

Versus the competition:

The RAV4's slight update for 2016 brings it closer to the competition, but it still trails class leaders including the Chevrolet Equinox, Honda CR-V and Nissan Rogue.

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2016 about the 2016 Toyota RAV4, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

We tested a 2016 Toyota RAV4 in the new, sporty SE trim level, also equipped with the optional Advanced Technology Package that includes sonar parking sensors, 360-degree cameras, forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking and adaptive cruise control. The test SUV cost $34,595 including a $900 destination charge. The RAV4 also is sold in a new-for-2016 hybrid version, which is reviewed here.

Exterior & Styling

The 2016 RAV4 is sleeker with a... Read More