NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

$25,650 - $35,050  MSRP Range
2019 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

212 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Nice Redesign but needs Refinement

by Paul B from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada on Mon Jun 24 2019

I was excited when Toyota redesigned the RAV4. I've owned Toyota's in the past and liked how they made it look less "Soccer Mom". I have to agree with the majority of reviews I've seen on Youtube about how it is a good step forward, but it needs work. First of all, the engine sounds awful. When you want to accelerate to higher speeds, the engine does make a terrible, high pitched buzzing noise which is normal of all things! It really is quite grating, almost as bad as nails on a chalkboard. Acceleration is also jerky, you start off slow, the buzzy engine kicks in and then you're pushed back in your seat. The steering is strange. It is easy to steer, but you get absolutely no feedback from the steering wheel. If you weren't looking at where you want to go, you'd never be able to tell the steering wheel was doing anything. It's not all bad. The new styling is great, plenty of cargo room, rear leg room is good and the interior is nicely done and feels like quality. Hopefully Toyota will do something about the horrendous engine noise and jerky acceleration in then next couple of years; these are its biggest drawbacks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Stylish RAV

by Rebecca's RAV from Tazewell, TN on Wed Apr 24 2019

This car meets my needs as a grandmother and running around town. The stitching on the leather seats is beautiful. The seats are very comfortable, love the cordless phone charger, and has a smooth ride. I knew going in the engine is not as quiet as other choices but overall has been a great choice for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car. Terrible Entune/map system.

by Pr. Leland on Mon May 13 2019

We bought the hybrid for its gas milage, comfort, safety features, and ease of entry/exit. It comes with no build in GPS screen/map--to have one requires plugging in the GPS/maps from one's iPhone. No excuse to have such an excellent car paired with such a crap GPS/map/Entune product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Transmission problem

by BennyM from Toronto, ON on Tue Jul 23 2019

when slowing and then accelerating the transmission downshifts and when accelerating the car jumps and jerks . This could cause an accident if not aware of this problem. Toyota has to fix this, until than I would not recommend this car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Transmission - Adventure series

by AWDFunInFL from Somewhere, FL on Sat Aug 03 2019

I love everything about the car. I read the reviews about the transmission jerk. Toyota says there is nothing wrong. My car does it but only when I try to roll through a full stop. Solution? Don't roll through stops - it is illegal in all 50 states. So, as hard as it is, ignore that tailgater behind you and make a full stop!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A letdown

by RJ from Louisiana on Tue May 28 2019

Not as spacious as my old 2009 RAV4. I love the new exterior style of the Adventure trim that I bought. Great safety features and mpg. But...horrbile transmission with plenty of metal in metal noises, weird shifting (more so while downshifting) as it "pulls" and slips at low speeds. Traction control warning light keeps coming on and the dealership can't find why. Grinding noise when accelersting on the highway. Trying to love it but is difficult. I wish I could return it already and I have only driven it for just four months.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

30 Plus Years as a Toyota Owner!

by JimM from Trinity, FL on Sun Jul 07 2019

It wasn't a very difficult decision to purchase our RAV4: we've been Toyota owners for 33 years. We weren't disappointed by our most recent choice. The ride is excellent for a small SUV. That's largely a result of it's 109 Inch Wheel Base. Fuel economy is outstanding and handling is pretty good too. A heads-up. The lane assist takes some getting used to and probably shouldn't be used on roads with a lot of curves/turns. You'll feel like you're fighting the steering wheel but eventually you'll get used to the handling and be glad it's there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Michi from Worcester on Sat May 25 2019

This car is exactly what I wanted and needed. It’s reliable and spacious enough for my family. I’m very happy and excited to finally own it and have been showing it off to all my family and friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rav 4 Hybrid is better than the gas version

by RussC from Kaysville on Sun Jun 30 2019

Test drove the gas and hybrid Rav 4 2019 and there is no comparison. The gas version is noisy and the 8 speed transmission is rough when it shifts. We purchased the hybrid and never looked back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good!

by Jeff M. from Baton Rouge, Louisiana on Mon Jul 08 2019

So far I love my RAV4. It drives and handles great. Looks great and am enjoying all the new safety, communication, and entertainment features. The new body style looks so much better than the previous one. It's a lot of car for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 22

Our Take on the 2019 Toyota RAV4

The verdict:

Toyota serves up adventure, efficiency and safety with the 2019 RAV4, but a side of rowdy road manners spoils the sauce.

Versus the competition:

Though it’s solidly improved and offers a near-class-leading list of standard safety goodies, the new RAV4 lacks the comfortable ride of some competitors and the spirited road manners of others.

The Toyota RAV4 has a lot of fans — more than 400,000 people in the U.S. bought one last year alone — but I've never been one of them; I've always been underwhelmed by its slow, loud road manners, clunky multimedia system and chintzy interior. A redesign for 2019, however, has brought me closer to understanding what all the fuss is about.

On the outside, the fifth generation of the compact SUV trades its previous crossover-like curves for the beefed-up face and aggressive shoulders of Toyota's larger, trucky SUVs, like the 4Runner. Inside, there's an updated multimedia system, upgraded materials, and added tech and safety features. Compare it with the 2018 model.

The compact... Read More