2005 Sienna

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota Sienna

$2,130 - $10,258  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota Sienna

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

51 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota Sienna?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Eyebuzz from Tarrytown on Sat Aug 28 2010

A great vehicle. Very well designed - both styling and functionality. We've owned the Sienna for 5 years and have never had a problem...and it gets 26-27 MPG on trips. AC is cold (colder than our same year Volvo)...and the back seat well, where the third seats stow, has so much room - you can put so much stuff back there with the third row seats up...and it is really easy to fold the seats down, flat to the floor. Any complaints are that the paint could be a bit thicker...but that's really the only complaint.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value in family Haulers

by Family Man from Southern California on Wed Dec 01 2010

We have owned our Sienna Limited for 5 years. When we purchased it new, it was rated over 90 by Consumer Reports, and described aptly as "Lexus of minivans". It was so true - the comparable Honda Odyssey Touring felt like a minivan, while the Sienna Limited like a luxury car. It has all the options like laser guided cruise, DVD Entertainment, Seat heaters, and window shades. It hauls kids, dog, and luggage in comfort on long drives with far better mileage than a SUV with comparable space. Best of all, it has been completely reliable with just dealer recommended maintenance and no expensive repairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Upper class van for the middle class family

by Family Man from Maryland on Tue Dec 20 2011

After searching for several months to replace our conversion van and SUV, both of which we tried with limited success in having 3 small but growing children, we finally decided on a minivan. Ruling out the Kia Sedona for quality, Honda Oddysey for cost and Nissan Quest for style, we narrowed our search to the Toyota Sienna and Dodge Grand Caravan. What sold us on the Sienna over the Caravan was the thought put into the product as a whole. From its powerful, highly ranked, 6 cylinder engine to its stable AWD control, it was clearly the most dependable choice in our budget. However, taking the kids along and stepping into the van for that first experience of comfort, quality, and convenience made the choice almost effortless. We purchased a Toyota "certified" (highly recommend) 2005 XLE Limited model for just over 15,000 and it looks and runs and feels like new. The effort from Toyota put into every option is a testament to the fact that being condemned to "drive a minivan" is clearly overrated.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable people mover

by Sienna Fan from Lynchburg, VA on Tue Jan 26 2010

After years of driving T&Cs, switched to Sienna and am actually embarrassed I waiting so long. For 4 years this car has been incredibly reliable and worry free. For 50,000 miles it has only needed oil changes every 5,000. Nothing breaks! Great mileage, reliability, fit & finish, comfort, utility, and in a recent east coast blizzard, it got me and family home! Would not think of purchasing any other van in the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Didn't really want a minivan, but I love this car!

by Bestemor from Minneapolis, MN on Wed Mar 28 2012

I'm a grandma with 3 small grandsons, and needed a vehicle that could accommodate 3 car seats. I wanted a relatively recent but not new Toyota (I trust the reliability of the older Toyotas more than the brand new ones). I found it's perfect not only for getting in and out with little kids, but also for adults. It's high enough to have good good sight lines, and low enough that I don't have to climb up into it (had a Land Cruiser before). I love the car-ride (after having a truck), and it has more bells and whistles than I knew to wish for. (Purse hook anyone? Sure, why not? Back-up camera and sensors? Well, of course!) It won't go zero to 60 in a nanosecond, but I wasn't looking for that. I bought the car for practical reasons, but found many other things to like a LOT. (I haven't told my grandsons about the DVD player. They don't need to know that. Yet.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

DeLuxe Minivan

by SiennaOwner from Rochester, NY on Mon Jan 03 2011

We bought our XLE AWD new and have been very pleased with it overall. The climate control system is great with three zones that can be managed separately. It drives like a dream, very smooth at highway speeds even with the run flat tires. Configurability of the interior is a nice feature. Seats can be moved around or completely removed. The rear seat folds into a well in the back so you have have a completely flat cargo area. Mechanically it has been very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Sienna XLE

by Davids from Tulsa, Ok on Wed May 14 2014

This is a great minivan. I thought I'd never own a minivan but the number of grandchildren keep growing. I bought it for taking a vacation with the grandkids(no I'm not certifiable), had plenty of room and the DVD player kept them happy most of the time. This Sienna drives more like a car, very smooth and quiet. I thought dual climate control and heated seats were a silly luxury but now I don't think I could live without them. I was going to sell this thing when I got back from the vacation but I still have it two years later, it's just to convient, I just can't part with it. One tip, when you need to change the timing belt take it to the dealer or someone who really knows what they're doing, it's tricky and as I found out can be done wrong, finally took it to the dealer to get it right. Overall it's a keeper!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Family Van

by krboy from Gilbert, AZ on Mon Apr 14 2014

We bought our 2005 Toyota Sienna CE brand new in 2005 and it has been nothing short of a perfect car. Currently, it has 154xxx miles on it, and it runs like a dream. For a Front-Wheel-Drive, V6 powered people-carrier, it handles extremely well and can carry or tow anything. Yes, the CE is the base BASE model, but it has everything we need. Legroom, in the back can be short, especially if the driver is tall like I am, but for a 3 hour trip to Flagstaff, AZ, it does what it needs to. All in all, a great 8-seater van.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Investment

by TheVanMan from on Sat Apr 15 2017

Very reliable; no major complications yet; very comfortable; great for road trips; good on gas; good performance for a minivan; many cargo area configurations

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb car

by Minivan Maven from Hunting Valley, Ohio on Fri Jan 04 2008

Though few of us want to admit that we love our mini-van, I can say that. I love the ease of use, the quiet, comfortable ride, and the convenience of piling in my three children and moving on quickly. I don't love that the doors freeze shut in the winter time or the lack of storage in general in minivans, but in the main, this car has been great for my family and me, and I would highly recommend it to anyone with more than two children.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2005 Toyota Sienna


Memorial Day: Patriotism, pride, stars and stripes, summer, BBQ, lemonade, family, road trip, minivan. Thank heaven for the minivan! Thank heaven for THIS minivan. The 2005 Toyota Sienna arrives just in time to greatly increase my quality of life during the long summer weekends. Oh sure, the kids love it too. But everyone knows that a happy mom means a happy family. The Sienna does its part to make me ethereally happy, which through the halo effect rubs off on the rest of my family.

It all starts with the side doors and rear tailgate that automatically open as if by command as I approach the vehicle to load it up. A push of the key fob button is all it takes. The recessed cargo bin and grocery bag... Read More