1995 Tercel

Consumer Reviews

1995 Toyota Tercel

$1,345 - $3,529  MSRP Range
1995 Toyota Tercel

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Toyota Tercel?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT Car!!!

by CamaroSS4thGen from Sacramento, CA on Thu Mar 31 2011

1995 Tercel was my first car. I went everywhere with it, and I mean everywhere. I was only 18 and did no repairs to it whatsoever, drove from Sacramento to San Diego 600 miles never any problems. Never worried about the car breaking down, wasn't even a thought that entered my head. This car was unbelievably reliable. I sold it at 230000 miles, perfect condition. I highly recommend this car for someone who is looking for reliability. I then bought a Camaro and realized that cars really do have problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

could not kill

by blake from lancaster,ca on Wed Jan 23 2008

better than the carolla-s. best mpg of any car. the off-road tank

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

These cars are little tanks!

by Shane0109 from Calgary, AB on Mon May 03 2010

Owned a tercel for 2 years, never once had ANY issues, (Until i got nailed by a Dodge Ram), which is the only reason I do not own one today. Very durable and the most reliable car I've ever owned. *****Five Stars! (P.S: Not only did I survive getting t-boned by a Dodge Ram, an old friend owned a 98 and lost control at 130 km/h rolling the vehicle 6 times, and, get this, not ONE person seatbelted, THEY ALL LIVED AND DIDN'T EVEN HAVE A SCRATCH!!! there is not even any airbags, yet the body of the car somehow held them in regardless of there being no windows left. I would definitely recommend this car for and fathers worried about their daughters umm... dare I say, driving. haha -Shane

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome car

by car man from sammamish,WA on Sun Dec 21 2008

the toyota tercel is a oldie but never goes bad ive had mine for 7 years so far the financings great and its so easy to pay 60 dollars a month

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hands down most reliable car.

by Shane Kyle from Calgary, Alberta on Tue Sep 07 2010

I owned this car for a year before getting written off by a girl backing up to fast in a Dodge truck. Put the car through everything, mine was the 2-door 4 spd Manual. Took it everywhere from quad trails it was never meant to be on to cross-country trips at 180 km/h plus, and it never had a problem, even at -50 degrees C, try doing that with any other 4 cylinder out there, not a chance. I also once went on a trip to Calgary from Saskatoon with a friend following in her own 99 Tercel DE 4-door model, she ended up losing control at 130 km/h and rolled the car 6 times, and who would think this little car would still be running! And not one person was belted in the vehicle and nobody had more then a scratch. I mean, all four tires were shot, rad was smoking, roof was dented, and a headlight and taillight were shattered, but it stood up way better then other vehicles would, hands down. Handles better then Honda Civic's in the winter, which of course doesn't say much, but If you know what your doing this car his a lot of fun in the winter. This car took such a beating from me and I regularly pushed it hard and it never backed down and never had a problem. Irregular oil changes, never seeing a professional mechanic, and an owner that pushed it constantly, and pushing the transmission to speeds the speedometer couldn't even reach and she still drove like a top every single day. What else would you want in a vehicle? - Shane Kyle

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Given the chance, BUY IT.

by Allison from Nashville, TN on Thu Dec 27 2012

I got this car when my grandfather died a little over 3 years ago. I'm really rough on this car (I drive it like a new car, basically). Even though I drive like a mad man, it still runs like a beauty. She's never laid down on me. I've had to replace my front axle twice, but that's only because of rough terrain and stuff like that, not because of the car itself. But this car can get up to 40MPG if you drive it correctly. It's really light, so driving past tractor trailers aren't exactly a thrill ride. But all-in-all, I have zero complaints about this car. It's definitely the best car for a new driver, too. It handles WONDERFULLY. I drive fast, and driving in curves is a dream. Also, there are very few blind spots. And the two that I have noticed are very small blind spots. The only downfall is that even a car door can dent this car. My car has never been wrecked (other than my husband got rear-ended in it. All it did was chip the paint. And it was a hard impact), so I don't know how it handles in a bad wreck. I hope this review helps! Seriously though, if you get the chance to buy this car, definitely get it. You won't regret it one bit! :) Oh! One last downfall. It is not made for tall people, nor overweight people. I'm 5'3" at 230 pounds, and I fit perfectly. My husband is 6'5" at around 350 pounds, so he tends to be uncomfortable in my car. And there is little-to-know leg room in the back seat. And as short as I am, I have to have the driver's seat ALL the way back...So you can imagine how my husband feels when he drives it, haha. Anyway, if you can deal with that, get this car! :D

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great! little car.

by Lola from Denver, CO on Mon Jun 14 2010

INCREDIBLY RELIABLE! This car only has about 130,000 miles on it but has been driven hard and often. You wouldn't treat a person of equivalent age this way! We've recently replaced the struts but that is by far the most expensive thing we've done to this car. (Although, we have yet to fix the oil pan leak or hairline crack in the engine block.) My favorite thing about this car is that everything is manual. There is no electronic anything! If I want to roll down the window, I ROLL down the window not push-a-button-down the window. No power locks, nothing: I'm horribly disappointed that I won't be able to have those features ever again! I love this car. I wish they would make me a brand new one that is exactly the same!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1995 Toyota Tercel

I DROVE the Energizer Bunny. Actually, it was the two-doorversion of the 1995 Toyota Tercel DX. The little car kept on going andgoing . . . I passed so many gasoline stations, I almost forgot why theywere needed.

The Tercel was amazing. I filled up in Northern Virginia, droveto New York City, put it in a garage, picked it up three days later andreturned via the New Jersey Turnpike, where I finally stopped at a gasstation somewhere near Exit 11.

The Tercel's odometer said I traveled 330 miles between fuelstops, and I still had a quarter of a tank left. That pleased me. Butwhat pleased me more was the cost of refueling -- eight dollars forenough regular unleaded to push the fuel-gauge needle back to... Read More