2016 Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Beetle

$10,686 - $23,858  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Beetle

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My Third Beetle

by Gumball from Rockford, Illinois on Wed Sep 21 2016

My first new car was a VW Beetle. When I turned 50 I said, I want another Bug! I got vanity license plates that said GUMBAL1 because the colors, at the time, all looked like the colors in a gumball machine and the design was pretty round! That car lasted 14 yrs! I love these cars because the steering is tight, they are extremely dependable on ice and snow, the turbo is a must on the highway and I feel safe. I really do like the design changes and upgrades. The dashboard is awesome. I would not change a thing! So retro! Joe & Brandon made my purchase a fun experience! I am pretty happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Bug...The best one ever!

by SMP from Elizabeth, Colorado on Thu Jul 07 2016

Test drive one...The car sells itself. After I got my Bug; my family bought two more. It's my Mom and Dad's favorite Bug as well. We have owned over 10 together over the years........

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love Volkswagon Beetles. Extremly Reliable.

by Slug Bugger from Granbury, Texas on Sat Jul 23 2016

I am in love with my VW Beetle. It rides like a dream. On my trip down to Houston I felt like I was just floating. It runs Extremly quiet too. I loved my 2006 VW New Beetle but I think I'm going to love my VW Beetle Classic even more! I really appreciate my salesman Jeff Taylers help with my purchase. He made the experience plesant and not so scarey for me. He was very curtious and professional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My little orange bug

by Taylor from on Fri Mar 10 2017

I love driving around in my little orange bug, it's a great little car. I love the unique orange color and how quickly the car picks up in speed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Classic Beetle

by Terri JW from Lethbridge, AB on Mon Mar 06 2017

Love this car! It is a new Beetle that looks like an old Beetle; so definitely has the nostalgia factor. Only real downside is a small backseat & trunk, which, I guess, comes with the territory.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Like car _ not dealership harpers

by Un happy customer from Louisville, TN on Sun Jun 05 2016

I like the car but had to take it back for service less than 3 weeks after purchase. The window on passenger side was not working properly. They did not have part to fix. Said they would call me but did not.I h a d to call them. Took over 4.5 hours t o fix. Also we were told when purchased we would receive a Blount county tag (county in which we live) but was sent a knox county tag. We called finance guy at Harpers he laughed and was not helpful at all. Harper's sent me a survey 3 days after I purchased and because of salesman I gave good review. Wished I would have waited. The car is a 3 but dealership is a 1!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking convertible on the market

by Convertible lover from Birmingham, Al. on Fri Aug 18 2017

This car is better than expectation. It handles like a dream. We especially like the way the convertible top goes up and down with the push of a button. No longer have to do anything like roll down the windows, etc. It is all one smooth motion. The car looks fantastic and is easy to wipe clean. The seats are extremely comfortable. And the car rides like a large expensive car. It has a fantastic response with the turbo thrust engine. Love the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Showroom new

by profesor from Victor, NY on Mon Sep 11 2017

A beautiful fun car to drive. Very peppy with the turbo and yet good gas milage. With the split back seats folded down there is an amazing amount of cargo room. The car has always been garaged. Wife wants to sell as she is not using it much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Bug!

by 1337jam from lorain, ohio on Tue Apr 04 2017

I Just love the VW bug... theres something about the style of the car...people just know it when they see it. It's got enough power for me and it can still take my whole drumset to gigs!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The exact Beetle I was looking for

by spinninghorse from on Thu May 25 2017

The 2016 SEL Beetle is exactly as advertised. I purchased it sight unseen from a VW dealership in PA and I have no regrets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Volkswagen Beetle

The verdict: I took the Volkswagen Beetle out for groceries and just kept driving; the cute little coupe's spunky engine and plucky road manners prompted giggles and smiles for miles.

Versus the competition: The Beetle delivers peppy power and quirky style without the size constraints, reliability failings or ergonomic unfriendliness of some competitors. Compare all three here.

For 2016, there's a newly available multimedia system that supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto smartphone mirroring on the car's dashboard screen. Also, a pair of spectacularly colored, retro-inspired trims — Denim and Dune — join the lineup this year; I review the latter here. Compare 2015 and 2016 Beetle models... Read More