2017 Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Beetle

$11,824 - $27,024  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Beetle

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

43 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2014 Beetle GSR

by yadybg from Midlothian, Va on Sat Apr 22 2017

Love the beetle GSR, lighting quick. 6sp auto with manual shift is smooth. Interior comfortable. Seats good support and manually adjustable. Radio navigation system good sound with fender system. LOVE IT. Yellow color draws the looks for other drivers.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!!

by previous Ford Mustang lover from Stockton, CA on Sat Aug 05 2017

Wow! I am really impressed by my 2017 VW Beetle. It's roomier than I would have imagined, drives well, brakes well, steers well, turns well and to top it off...it's a nice looking car! I can't say enough about it. I've had it exactly 7 days and its been a pleasure to drive. If you're thinking about the VW Beetle, at least give it a test drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by thePrincessOreo from Plymouth, MA on Thu Jul 26 2018

I drove one before and since I was beetle owner. I did upgrade got a turbo and I absolutely love it. It is great getting in tight places and has all bells and whistles to boot. It is perfect car for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by B Reese from on Fri Apr 14 2017

The cutest car EVER. So many bells and whistles for such a low price! Love love love it!!! We will have it forever and can't wait to see it age.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

New Car

by 47 tomahawk trail s from Wakefield RI on Wed Apr 19 2017

I love my convertibile bug. I wanted a convertible and was looking at least 4 months and back a fourth deciding whether Miata , vw, or Buick . I bought the VW and am very happy with my choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by None from Dundalk, Maryland on Sun May 21 2017

This is my seventh VW. I purchased my first one in September 1969. It is amazing how many improvements there have been. Back in 1969 they also sold a tool kit consisting of seven basic tools so I could repair anything on the car; from dropping an engine to installing new brakes. Of course the 1969 VW cost $1609. I wonder what my next VW will be; driverless?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Beetle in 50 Years without an ounce of regret.

by Mucklefane from MARBLEHEAD on Tue Sep 05 2017

My first car, 50 years ago, was a 1967 VW Beetle with a pop top. It was a FANTASTIC car. Wish I still had it. But now I've got "Kadie F", a 2017 Beetle cabriolet. Again, it's a fantastic car. Two Score and Ten, and I did it again. Only problem: My wife always wants to borrow it! Her Audi Q5 is great, but it ain't my "Kadie".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Amazing Bug ever!

by xanman96 from Palm Harbor, FL on Wed May 03 2017

I have always wanted a VW Bug. This is everything and more than I had ever expected! Truly an amazing car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous salesman and car

by Cindylaloca on Thu Aug 16 2018

Love it!!!! I had already done my research ahead of time and knew exactly what I wanted, besides I own and still own a 2002 Beetle and love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, sporty ride

by Cyndi from Tampa, fl on Thu Jun 08 2017

This car is beautiful inside and out. It is comfy and spacious for two people but can fit 4. The trunk bit a whole week worth of groceries.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Beetle

The verdict:

I took the Volkswagen Beetle out for groceries and just kept driving; the cute little coupe's spunky engine and plucky road manners prompted giggles and smiles for miles.

Versus the competition:

The Beetle delivers peppy power and quirky style without the size constraints, reliability failings or ergonomic unfriendliness of some competitors. Compare all three here.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 Beetle, but little has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check our a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

For 2016, there's a newly available multimedia system that supports Apple CarPlay and Android Auto smartphone mirroring on the car's dashboard screen. Also, a pair of spectacularly colored, retro-inspired trims — Denim and Dune — join the lineup this year; I review the latter here. Compare 2015 and 2016 Beetle models here.

The Beetle’s key competitors include the Fiat 500 and Mini Hardtop (compare all three here).

Exterior... Read More