2009 Eos

Consumer Reviews

2009 Volkswagen Eos

$4,533 - $12,881  MSRP Range
2009 Volkswagen Eos

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

26 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Volkswagen Eos?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

VW EOS an excellent value

by Don A. from Suburban Chicago on Mon Jul 16 2012

Just bought this car and I am very happy with it. The car is solid with minimal wind noise. The hardtop/convertible operation is a engineering marvel. The top appears or disappears within 25 seconds. We use the sunroof as well. The interior is as deluxe as the Audi I owned and better than the Z4 I had before this. If you are looking for a comfortable, fun and nice handling car this is the one for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Don't ever think of purchasing this vehicle.

by Bubba from Arlington, NE on Tue Apr 25 2017

First the cat leaks oil. All vws leak oil so buy stock in oil dry if you buy one. Next set a side money for repairs as t he cost about twice that of American made vehicle. Steering s t I'm a if you don't have wheels straight when you park. Headlights bulbs impossible to change and O'Reilly will not change them. Last worst problem, is timing chain will break at some point. When it does, then only thing you can do is replace the engine. VW will not even own up to the problem. My VW dos timing chain broke at only 85000 miles. When I talked to the vw dealership to make along story short. Tough luck it will cost you $500 for us to tell you the engine is shot and $8000 to replace. Company is not honest as this is a very common problem and recall s/b made. There also are numerous lawsuits against VW about this timing chain issue. So don't be in the same predicament that I am out a vehicle that I only had had 2 1/2 years. Stay away.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

perfect florida car

by herbiejack from pompano beach , FL on Sat Feb 09 2013

wanted a 4 passenger convertible. this one has that plus a hard top plus a sun roof. 2.0 turbo gets great gas mileage and is powerful enough for expressway highspeed driving. love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Blast

by FunNtheSun from Park City, Utah on Sat Sep 01 2012

The VW Eos is an incredible combination of the fuel economy of a small coupe, the stylish appeal of a convertible, and the sporty acceleration of a sports car. Great German engineering, outstanding features, with the cool, one button transition to outdoor styling. I am so happy, I can't believe it. I own the Lux model with a beautifully appointed interior, rocking stereo, and the same 2.0L turbo used in the Audi TT. Great car! Super fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun little car

by Japalee on Sat Jun 02 2018

So far this car is fun. Great for southern California. Pleases with the whole car and experience so far. Moon roof and convertible top are awesome

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

can't use for the purpose of purchased.

by arlene from on Tue May 23 2017

always wanted a convertible, fell in love when 1st saw this vehicle, 2009 purchased in 2010, very very low mileage, one owner. purchased as a pre-owned vehicle. Now after 7 yrs. convertible top not working cost from $8,000 up to repair. This was my retirement gift. I thought I would not have to purchased another vehicle, just keep up. I traded a 12 yrs old Neon for the vehicle, I got more use out of the Neon than The Eos. Very hurt, disappointed and very sad because this was the most expensive vehicle I have ever had. And can't afford to get it repaired. This was a waste of investment. So much paid in the vehicle and nothing out of the vehicle. please help!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun in the Sun

by Convertible Hard Top Fan from Oklahoma on Wed Feb 28 2018

Wonderful to have as a second car, but inconvenient for a growing family, or as a passenger car for more than two people as their is no graceful way of getting in or out of a coupe. Great value for a convertible, comparably unmatched by any other brand when it comes to affordability. The leatherette interior seats are comfortable, and perfect for pet's since they can't ruin the leather. Whenever the weather is right, it's nice to retract the hardtop, and relax and unwind with the wind in your hair. Moreover in German cars, you can feel the road in the suspension, and steering, gripping the curvy roads. I've driven VW's with the 4-cylinder turbo engine, and the uncommon, but popular 5-cylinder turbo engine, and you have to love German engineering at it's finest! Overall it's a fun sporty little car with a lot of get up, and go, beautiful handling, appeal, and reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car by value luxury performance and handling.

by erioni from sheboygan wi on Sun Mar 23 2014

I buy a used volsvwagen eos convertible, and I love it. It has everything a luxury car must have expect the pricing was dirt cheap for what I buy. I thank the salesperson Miki Kadric for his recomendation, honesty, his insistance to make his client happy. I recommend for every customer, first find a salesperson that will deal with you honestly, and the rest will come naturally. If you need a vehicle that you will fall in love with please see Miki Kadric or visit autobarn city in chicago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for a hardtop convertible.

by Loren L. from Charlotte, NC on Thu Jun 15 2017

This car has all of the bells and whistles for a great price. This is our second used one that we have bought. Very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car for Florida

by Bob from Sarasota, FL on Sun Jul 06 2014

We have only owned this car for a few weeks, but are already impressed with the 4 cylinder turbo. Good gas mileage and performance. Wanted a hard top convertible that was reasonably priced for a fun car, and it fills the bill with good looks too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3