2001 Golf

Consumer Reviews
2001 Volkswagen Golf

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

15 Reviews
2001 Volkswagen Golf
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

OK car but has had it's share of problems

by VWCline from Maryland on March 2, 2010

I bought my 2001 VW Golf (manual) brand new. At this writing it has about 128k miles. The engine seal went bad while still under warranty (37k miles) but it still burns more oil than it should - but apparantly within "normal" range according to VW. If you have to replace the catalytic converter (I did at 117k miles) buy the VW brand (~$900)and not a cheaper aftermarket brand (~$330) as my Golf rejected the non-VW brand! It's an expensive repair so don't waste money on labor/parts on the non-VW brand converter - the off brand failed on me at after 6k miles. Cup holders (front & rear) and center arm rest are cheap plastic and will break. I've replaced lots of other parts - mass airflow sensor, serpentine belt, electronic coolant temp sensor, coolant fan & thermostat, timing belt & water pump, cam shaft positioning sensor. On the positive side, it has ~128k miles and I've never replaced the clutch or had any problems w/the transmission. Initial cost was moderately low but repairs have been expensive. I'll keep it until it dies - repairs are still cheaper than a new car payment!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great car

by vw forever from seattle wa on November 3, 2014

This is a great car, I have had mine from 65k to 140k in that time I have done the timing belt and regular oil changes along with basic maintenance wear and tear items, as with any car if you keep it up there is nothing to worry about, it has amazing head room and the seat height is adjustable so even real tall people will fit fine, it's really great on gas I average 30+ mpg, it has a wide range in mpg with a claim of up to 49 mpg on the highway which I haven't got, I think most the people who complain about this car in review probably complain in their daily lives about a lot as well...lol, if you get one you will be happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Far from groovin'

by rolo68 from Florida on January 17, 2013

I bought this car as a basic commuter car to and from work 30mi from my home. Overall, I think it's fun to drive, and I like that it's "zippy" - but thats really about it. The gas miledge is pretty low for a car of this size and weight in it's class- about 23mpg overall. electronics and controls are quirky, plastic knobs and dials are adequate, but second rate. and while parts are readily available and relitively cheap, it's a car that I have to continually monitor and work on to keep running.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun when chipped

by First time owner from on August 13, 2010

I loved to drive this car. Steering, clutch, and ride felt great. Repairs are costly however. If you do get it chipped make sure it's good software and a good company performing it. Mine was not done properly. When they are done well these cars are "Torque Monsters" Fun car but not fun repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ok, but no bells or whistles, and just Ok.

by "Golfie" from Buffalo, New York on March 31, 2009

I bought my 2001 Golf in 2002 after it had been sitting on the lot for year. It had 63 test drive miles on it. It's the base model, so the windows are crank. Initially, I was surprised by the cheapness of the doors. They made creaks at high speeds. The roof rack, which I negotiated at sale, makes a humming sound at 40 MPH which is worse yet in the rain...louder. The car is just ok. I have 83,000 miles on it now and I am looking to replace it. Everything went at 82,550; alternator, front and back brakes, control arm bushing wheel bearings and muffler! So, it's been one heck of a year of disappointment when it comes to the Golf. I would not buy this car again (I plan to look at the Subaru Impreza Outback Sport. It's the car I wanted back in 2002, but couldn't afford it so I got the Golf). Another thing about VWs. I don't know why they think a dial is a good way to recline a seat back. The dial design is a sure-fire mechanism to increase tendonitis. I long for a lever with an easily reclining seat in a VW!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ok, but flimsy and pretty unreliable

by love/hate relationship from on September 21, 2009

I have a 2001 golf turbo, its quick, but thats the only thing i like about it. The windows rattle in the door when down, the turbo cuts in and out, and the it goes through coils like underwear. When i get more money im getting rid of it!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable n practical

by Dieseldude on March 22, 2018

Great car! I bought mine ten years ago and and It’s been virtually trouble free. Great mileage...has 180k miles on it. It’s a manual trans ...been through two sets of tires and in ten years and 100k miles, my brakes are still good and I don’t downshift to slow down. My first battery for it lasted 8 years! It’s due for a timing belt...possibly an alternator and shocks n struts.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Decent features 3000$ in mechanic bills

by lexxx123 from on December 31, 2016

Okay car, Nice heating seats and aux cord are a plus but i cant even remember how many times it broke down and had expensive fixes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most Bang for Your Buck

by Jaydeeeeeeeeeeee from Germantown, Maryland on May 2, 2017

Great car to start learning stick shift. VERY RELIABLE and DIRT cheap to repair. As long as you don't do any types of modifications on the car it will serve you greatly.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid German Car!

by German Car Fanatic from Houston, TX on March 19, 2012

I bought my 2001 Golf 2.0 liter 5 speed in 2010 from the original owner who was buying a 2010 Golf. The Golf had 103,000 miles. The maintenance was up to date with timing belt done at 80,000 miles as specified. Over the past two years (15,000 miles) I have replaced the drivers window regulator ($250), replaced an air flow sensor ($140), 5 oil changes, and a new set of tires. The car drives fantastic, sporty, and gets great gas mileage. The cloth interior is quality material with no rips or tears after 11 years. All of the electical components work including heated exterior mirrors. Overall, I highly rate the Volkwagen with 2.0 liter normally aspirated engine. Manual transmission is smooth shifting and fun, and most importantly reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2001 Volkswagen Golf