Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2001 Volkswagen Golf

$376 - $4,176  MSRP Range
2001 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

15 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

OK car but has had it's share of problems

by VWCline from Maryland on Tue Mar 02 2010

I bought my 2001 VW Golf (manual) brand new. At this writing it has about 128k miles. The engine seal went bad while still under warranty (37k miles) but it still burns more oil than it should - but apparantly within "normal" range according to VW. If you have to replace the catalytic converter (I did at 117k miles) buy the VW brand (~$900)and not a cheaper aftermarket brand (~$330) as my Golf rejected the non-VW brand! It's an expensive repair so don't waste money on labor/parts on the non-VW brand converter - the off brand failed on me at after 6k miles. Cup holders (front & rear) and center arm rest are cheap plastic and will break. I've replaced lots of other parts - mass airflow sensor, serpentine belt, electronic coolant temp sensor, coolant fan & thermostat, timing belt & water pump, cam shaft positioning sensor. On the positive side, it has ~128k miles and I've never replaced the clutch or had any problems w/the transmission. Initial cost was moderately low but repairs have been expensive. I'll keep it until it dies - repairs are still cheaper than a new car payment!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great car

by vw forever from seattle wa on Mon Nov 03 2014

This is a great car, I have had mine from 65k to 140k in that time I have done the timing belt and regular oil changes along with basic maintenance wear and tear items, as with any car if you keep it up there is nothing to worry about, it has amazing head room and the seat height is adjustable so even real tall people will fit fine, it's really great on gas I average 30+ mpg, it has a wide range in mpg with a claim of up to 49 mpg on the highway which I haven't got, I think most the people who complain about this car in review probably complain in their daily lives about a lot as well...lol, if you get one you will be happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun when chipped

by First time owner from on Fri Aug 13 2010

I loved to drive this car. Steering, clutch, and ride felt great. Repairs are costly however. If you do get it chipped make sure it's good software and a good company performing it. Mine was not done properly. When they are done well these cars are "Torque Monsters" Fun car but not fun repairs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Far from groovin'

by rolo68 from Florida on Thu Jan 17 2013

I bought this car as a basic commuter car to and from work 30mi from my home. Overall, I think it's fun to drive, and I like that it's "zippy" - but thats really about it. The gas miledge is pretty low for a car of this size and weight in it's class- about 23mpg overall. electronics and controls are quirky, plastic knobs and dials are adequate, but second rate. and while parts are readily available and relitively cheap, it's a car that I have to continually monitor and work on to keep running.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ok, but no bells or whistles, and just Ok.

by "Golfie" from Buffalo, New York on Tue Mar 31 2009

I bought my 2001 Golf in 2002 after it had been sitting on the lot for year. It had 63 test drive miles on it. It's the base model, so the windows are crank. Initially, I was surprised by the cheapness of the doors. They made creaks at high speeds. The roof rack, which I negotiated at sale, makes a humming sound at 40 MPH which is worse yet in the rain...louder. The car is just ok. I have 83,000 miles on it now and I am looking to replace it. Everything went at 82,550; alternator, front and back brakes, control arm bushing wheel bearings and muffler! So, it's been one heck of a year of disappointment when it comes to the Golf. I would not buy this car again (I plan to look at the Subaru Impreza Outback Sport. It's the car I wanted back in 2002, but couldn't afford it so I got the Golf). Another thing about VWs. I don't know why they think a dial is a good way to recline a seat back. The dial design is a sure-fire mechanism to increase tendonitis. I long for a lever with an easily reclining seat in a VW!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ok, but flimsy and pretty unreliable

by love/hate relationship from on Mon Sep 21 2009

I have a 2001 golf turbo, its quick, but thats the only thing i like about it. The windows rattle in the door when down, the turbo cuts in and out, and the it goes through coils like underwear. When i get more money im getting rid of it!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best buy ever! Reliable.. and excellent on gas.

by Jolley80 from Las Vegas nv on Fri Apr 13 2018

Overall very happy with my VW Golf. Good on gas. Comfortable to drive and I feel very safe. Very pleased with the results. I recommend especially for beginners.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Decent features 3000$ in mechanic bills

by lexxx123 from on Sat Dec 31 2016

Okay car, Nice heating seats and aux cord are a plus but i cant even remember how many times it broke down and had expensive fixes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable n practical

by Dieseldude on Thu Mar 22 2018

Great car! I bought mine ten years ago and and It’s been virtually trouble free. Great mileage...has 180k miles on it. It’s a manual trans ...been through two sets of tires and in ten years and 100k miles, my brakes are still good and I don’t downshift to slow down. My first battery for it lasted 8 years! It’s due for a timing belt...possibly an alternator and shocks n struts.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most Bang for Your Buck

by Jaydeeeeeeeeeeee from Germantown, Maryland on Tue May 02 2017

Great car to start learning stick shift. VERY RELIABLE and DIRT cheap to repair. As long as you don't do any types of modifications on the car it will serve you greatly.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Volkswagen Golf

A boxy little Volkswagen hatchback with a small four-cylinder engine may not sound too exciting, but VW has added something to the basic Golf that launches it into pocket-rocket territory.

That something is a new engine option, a 1.8-liter, dual-cam four banger with five valves per cylinder, and motivated by an intercooled turbocharger, giving it the torque and power of a V-6. Now, VW has four engine choices for its Golf and Jetta models: the standard 2-liter four with 115 horsepower; a four-cylinder diesel for reliability and economy; the new turbo four; and the VR6, a lively V-6 that makes 174 horsepower, once again available in the sporty Golf GTI.

The 150-horse turbo engine also... Read More