2004 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volkswagen Golf

$2,157 - $5,517  MSRP Range
2004 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

10 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car German Style

by James from Kentucky on Wed Nov 19 2008

This is the 3rd Golf that I have owned and it has been the best. I purchased the vehicle used and it was certified. The Golf goes anywhere. It does well in the snow. I would recommend it to a friend if you want a reliable car that is good on gas and is safe. It has 6 airbags.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of (Almost) All Worlds

by VW Guy from Indianapolis, IN on Mon Feb 14 2011

The Golf TDI is almost the perfect vehicle! It looks cool, handles awesome AND gets great gas mileage. I drove a Prius and it was comfortable but it could not touch the Golf. It does get superior fuel economy but the Golf owns the acceleration, handling and fun. That and I love the sound of a diesel engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I wish I had second one

by happy customer from georgia on Wed Jul 17 2013

Great car, 55MPG highway, great fun to drive. MUST change the timing belt at 80,000 miles, if it fails it will wreck your engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Fun to drive, reliable and great looking car!

by VDubboy from Ephrata, Pa on Mon Nov 13 2006

Bottom line is the Germans have the best engineering, handling and overall reputation for great cars. You will love the easy to load hatchback trunk and the quick response rack and pinion steering. Its sporting looking yet econimical and a great factory warranty included.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VW golf 2004

by effficiency and handling from oregon on Mon Oct 10 2011

I love this car. It's a TDI. Gets great mileage. It is comfortable and handles like a sports car. Only one complaint. Though the engine noise has been reduced, there is a small amount of tire noise. But the fact that Monsoon sound system can totally drown out any tire noise, I am happy!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever had.

by Viola from Princeton,NJ on Sat Oct 28 2017

‘‘Volkswagen Golf is a great car.It is small and economic works great for one person. I like to bike-ride, my bike fits in the trunk perfectly. I love it. Very reliable and well made vehicle. Love my car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Golf

by Teddy from on Sun Dec 21 2008

Great car for the price...unbeatable. German engineered, lovely drive, looks great, and again: a lot of car for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Used for commuting to work.

by Dolfan0118 from Burlington, Wisconsin on Fri Jun 23 2017

I drive 70 miles around trip a day for work. The Golf gets around 35 miles a gallon so it is perfect for me as a work vehicle. I know if something happens to the Golf I would definitely look for another Golf/Rabbit. It is basic but perfect for driving back and forward to work.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The Silver Submarine

by No More VWs from Silver Spring, MD on Fri Nov 10 2006

Monsoon stereo speakers make noises and vibrations that the dealer hasn't been able to fix, even by replacing the stereo AND the speakers. Very few storage nooks in dash and console for CDs, pens, coins, etc. Cup holders are actually located UNDER the driver's arm rest and are virtually inaccessible. (But perhaps that's only the case with a manual transmission.) The car recently started taking on water every time it rains, and the dealer can't figure out how it's getting in. Carpet soaked, padding ruined, dealer useless. On top of all that, the car doesn't get the gas mileage it should. It only gets about the same mpg as a small SUV. I regret not having gotten one of those instead.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Value & Reliable

by PostVWWorld from Houston, TX on Wed May 10 2017

Its a workhorse that gets you from A-B. Not the most sporty car with its 115hp but its reliable and easy to work on. Comes with all the bells and whistles standard so there isnt too much to complain about.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1