Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2010 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2010 Volkswagen Golf

$3,757 - $11,153  MSRP Range
2010 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

27 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by TDI fan from McDonough, GA on Thu Aug 05 2010

This is a great car. It has everything that I wanted in a car. It handles great, and has tons of torque, which I find more useful than horsepower. The clutch is easy to use and get used to. The fuel economy is great, even when I drive the car hard. I have gotten 43mpg, city and highway combined when I drive it softly, but usually, I get about 38mpg. I am also new to diesels, but I barely notice that it's a diesel. The turbo kicks in at just under 2000rpm, so the power is there when you need it. You don't even have to downshift go up hills or make passes as long as you are above 1750rpm or so. I hope to keep this car past 250,000 miles since diesels usually last longer. If you are considering this vs. hybrids, go for the TDI if you enjoy driving. If you don't care about the driving experience and all you want is good mpg's, then I would go for a hybrid.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great mpg

by TDI Enthusiast from Charlotte on Fri Apr 16 2010

This is my 3rd Golf diesel, the 4th overall. The 2010 TDI manual handles great, has nice features and gadgets. The fuel consumption is amazing since I got around 47mpg on 6 full tanks so far and a stint at 60.7 mpg. The car gets to 120mph pretty fast! Cons: It feels a little less sturdier than the MK4, few cheap details here and there, shallower trunk than previous versions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by iliketorate from Sion on Fri May 14 2010

I have this car since some years now and i m really proud of my purchase. Comfort, reliability, good handling... everything is great for an accessbile price. I really recommend this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by ACEY from Fontana,Ca. on Sat Jan 30 2010

This is a very solid car. Fun to drive,handles very well. Nice interior with a lot of nice features. Good ergonomics. I shopped other car makers small cars/hatchbacks and the Golf surpassed them in comfort, quality, and drivability. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a car in this class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fuel mileage exceptional

by paskinel from Central Mass on Fri Apr 30 2010

I purchased new 2 months ago, have traveled 4000 miles already. It handles like your on a rail and the turbo charge gives it plenty of go, you have to continually keep your eye on the speedometer otherwise you'll hit 80 without realizing it. I'm averaging 43 mpg in combine city and hwy. Great car so far, I'll report again in a year, so if I still feel the same.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Golf Tdi

by tdi lover from Carmel, CA on Fri Jul 16 2010

It looks great, handles well, gets great gas mileage up to 50 mpg on the highway, and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TDI Fuelsipper...

by Family Man from Vero Beach, Florida on Sat Jun 23 2012

I have owned this fully loaded car since buying it new in June 2010. At 6'2" I am the primary driver. We are a family of four with two boys 11 and 13. Our other car is a 2008 Suburban (awesome, but thirsty). The Golf TDI fits all of us comfortably on long and short trips. I opted for the 2-door and it is no hassle for the boys to get in and out the back. The front seats are very comfortable, with side bolsters that keep you snug when cornering! This car is a blast to drive. The turbo engine allows you to accelerate quickly past other vehicles. Mine has the DSG auto transmission and optional paddle shifters on the steering wheel. Although the normal mode is plenty quick, it also has a Sport mode which gives you even more speed (highly recommend). Though you'll pay more for diesel fuel, the mpg (combined with the fun-to-drive factor) is worth it. I have a 70-30 mix of city - highway driving and average 39 mpg per tank. If I drive highway only, it will get 42-44 mpg consistently. It won't get the 48-50mpg of a Prius, but I don't care. Driving a Prius is just not fun. Mine is decked out with bluetooth, navigation and the Dynaudio sound system. Three options well worth the extra $ IMO. I have had no reliability issues to date. Today I test drove the Chevy Volt and they offered a nice lease deal. It too is a great car packed with technology, and more fun than the Prius, but to purchase one, the price is steep. It also lacks the addicting turbo feel. I'll stick with the TDI for a while longer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by VW TDI Fan from Washington, DC on Mon Aug 02 2010

Bought a 2010 4 door VW Golf TDI after looking for one with the bells and whistles we were interested in. We are absolutely thrilled with the car and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fuel efficient, sharp, and remarkably sporty little car. Well done VW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Boss-Face from Austin, TX. on Fri Nov 18 2011

Agile, loves the turns, great MFI system, cool color, great milage, good stereo system, quick defrost time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a great not-too-big car

by Ron from Central NJ on Tue Feb 15 2011

Perfect combination of size, utility, fun to drive, economy and comfort. Price is not out of reach for the segment if you don't crave a lot of goodies to add on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2010 Volkswagen Golf

Thanks to decades of refinement, the Volkswagen Golf is one of the most impressive small cars you can buy, combining interior quality with a sporty character.

With a starting price of $17,620 for the two-door, though, it's in the expensive range for compact hatchbacks, and the four-door Golf 2.5's standard automatic transmission puts it at $19,335, in league with hatchback versions of the Mazda3 and Subaru Impreza, as well as the Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback and the Mini Cooper and Cooper Clubman.

While Cars.com's Mike Hanley reviewed the clean-diesel Golf TDI two-door, I tested the more common gas-powered Golf 2.5 in four-door form.

Ride & Handling
Mike pointed out... Read More