2016 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Golf

$10,529 - $22,997  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best value baseline trim on the market

by Conor from Winnipeg, Canada on Mon Jul 31 2017

Was in the market for a lightly used hatchback. I had test-driven a Mazda 3 hatch prior to test-driving the Golf and I was immediately floored by all the extras that come standard in the latter compared to the former: heated seats, power seats, android auto, excellent dash console (touch and tactile controls are well-balanced), heated mirrors... the list goes on. More powerful engine than its peers and gets the advertised mileage (7-8 litres/100km in the city). If I were to be really picky, there is a slight lag when putting on the gas (I'm told this is due to the turbo), and there's no block heater (though I'm also told it isn't necessary - even in Winnipeg!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the long last ever I'm owned vechie

by Kyle from on Mon Mar 06 2017

very longest life maintenance car ever I seen it . great reliable and no issue . I'm drove across London to Toronto, small car but powerful performance . even great on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1.8 Golf

by asu970 from Toronto on Wed Apr 26 2017

It's good car. I like it. If the engine was 3.5 or bigger it should be even better. Before Golf I was driving Jetta and it was zero problems as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Joy to drive; economy car that feels "German"

by jfh on Wed Oct 04 2017

I drove a half dozen similar small cars before buying another Golf. Nothing compares to its refinement.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car.

by VWguy on Thu Aug 10 2017

It is value for money. Absolutely love the car. The driving experience in this car is just amazing. Go for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car for cities

by Nathanael from Berkeley, CA on Thu Jan 04 2018

We needed to thread the needle - a car small enough to park in the city, but big enough for my 6'5" gallootness - plus a couple of carseats in the back. This fit the bill, and it's so much fun to drive, with lots of great little touches and an entertainment system that pairs effortlessly with the smartphone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Great parts but overall a cheap piece of junk

by paublart from Los Angeles on Fri Aug 18 2017

Always wanted a Golf and hoped it would be great. Many good features but squeaking, groaning sunroof too intrusive to deal with. Felt and sounded like a 20-year-old Yugo. Made poorly despite great engine and handling characteristics. Very sad to sell it and lost many thousands in depreciation but made me feel like driving a rickety, rattling, creaking old piece of junk. Quality control unacceptable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Fun to drive! Safe, and comfortable!

by Tina H. from Ma. on Fri Nov 11 2016

I love my new VW Golf that I purchased at Wellesley Volkswagen! Jens Albrecht in the sales department was of great help to me in selecting the right car for my needs. I am very happy and I highly recommend Wellesley VW! The whole team was great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Fun to drive! Safe, and comfortable!

by Tina H. from on Fri Oct 28 2016

Jens Albrecht at Wellesley VW is a great salesman and helped me with the buying of my 2016 VW Golf! I love this car! I highly recommend Wellesley VW! Everyone there is helpful and nice! Thank you! T. H.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1.8 liter turbo stick shift S Four Door

by David from Hanover, PA on Sun May 13 2018

Fun. Was going to buy new 1.4 liter Jetta. Had had two 2014 Passats with 1.8 liter, but at, wanted drive with stick, so drive this. Extended payments out a year to get instead of Jetta. More elegant, and quicker. Great gearbox, and clutch, once you get used to them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2