2013 Golf R

Consumer Reviews
2013 Volkswagen Golf R

Change Vehicle
4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

10 Reviews
2013 Volkswagen Golf R
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

by New to VW from Oakland, CA on December 5, 2012

This car handles great! The ride can be a little bumpy on rough roads but far better than others like the Mazdaspeed 3. I put around town and it feels like an economy car with 27 mpg highway, but step on it and go through a turn and its a finely crafted german auto. Its a whole lot of fun to drive with just the right amount of power at 256hp. The Golf R is a practical sportscar for everyday driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

FUN, while not being impractical as a daily driver

by Driver of fun wheels! from Orange County NC on November 17, 2015

The Golf isn't the fastest car I've driven, but it's the perfect balance of luxurious, "quick through traffic" and practical. It's fast, but definitely not a gas hog. I have hit "3-digits" but it is best as a fun commuter that can pass on a moment's notice while keeping 4 people in comfort. I couldn't find the same balance of comfort for 4, performance, and (relative) practicality in any other car. With a slightly used car, I got this performance at a VERY reasonable price. This is definitely a "driver's car".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A nice Autobahn runner

by gauhog from wilmington,de on November 25, 2012

I previously owned a 2010 4-dr GTI 6-speed and it was a very nice car. I knew going in that the 2013 R would not have a massive power advantage but is quicker, but I'm still very happy overall. I have had a few German cars and they all have a certain feel that this car has even with four wheel drive. The fit and finish are excellent, panel gaps are tight, the seats are great, the gearbox is smooth and precise, and the power steering superb. Most cars seem to have a cruising "sweet spot" and in the GTI it seemed to be 65-75 mph, driving home with the new R I found myself going 80-85 mph before I looked down and noticed. Tires are the Pirelli A/S Nero's, and will be replaced with a better A/S when these are done. Gas mileage could be better; 18-20 in town and maybe 27-29 on the highway, would be better if I drove slower, but why? I really wanted the Scirroco because it's much sexier looking, but it won't be coming here. VW charges and gets a lot for this little car, but people buy them and they seem to retain good value. I'm very happy overall and would buy it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome title

by Ryouthere from toledo, oh on August 20, 2012

For all of you enthusiasts out there i would love to say that this is the best volkwagen i have yet to own!! and for everyone looking out there in the field honestly try it out and you will not be sad, but you will have the biggest grin on your face and it wont stop. around the corners this car hugs and tugs along with not stop whats so ever!! launching in this car IS AMAZING, it just pulls you and pulls and shifting is flawless and smooth. For me I would say this is the biggest bang for your buck, and its honestly the same as a audi tts, so there is a win win in this situation! Honestly try it out and you will love every single second you drive that bad boy!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High Performance and High Comfort

by Loyal VW Driver from Birmingham, AL on July 24, 2014

Outstanding car. Has all the bells and whistles I wanted. Had been searching for R series for two years. Found through cars.com. Very smooth manual transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car

by Trinity from Winter Garden on June 20, 2018

European seat , 420 HP very comfortable to drive amazing car to drive solid to drive German excellent All feature what you could have one of the kind in USA

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun. Affordable. Practical

by Streetscapetv on August 1, 2017

This car is as close as VW comes to a halo car. Limited production, exclusive colors, and the R badge all make this car something to look at. My favorite thing about this car is that one minute you're loading up the family in a surprisingly roomy hatch, and the next you're tearing up the canyon roads going faster than you probably should. This is definitely the enthusiasts car, but you can't go wrong with really any of the hot hatches nowadays. The only complaints I have about this car is some of the features we lost out to our European counterparts, such as LED Tail Lights, Automatic Headlights, and DSG. Now, the new MK7 generation R does have all those, but at a hefty premium for most. The 2012-2013 Golf R is a great car for those wanting something fun and practical, while also not breaking the bank in the process.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Golf R A true drivers car

by mustangsally from Plainsboro NJ on February 27, 2018

As my first german car this has been a great experience. This car is super fast, handles fantastic and the all wheel drive is icing on the cake. This car is not a good choice for the average driver,its got a hard ride and not much back seat for passengers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by DD from Monroeville, PA on April 24, 2018

This car is fun to drive and perfect for my needs. It was difficult to find one that had not been modded but worth the wait for sure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to own!

by Ajewell from Indianapolis, IN on April 1, 2017

Great car to own! Fun car to daily and have fun with. Not the cheapest to service, but definitely worth the price! Rare as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 2013 Volkswagen Golf R