2016 Golf R

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Golf R

$27,062 - $35,066  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Golf R

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Golf R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's a stretch, but worth it

by dagot from Frankfort, IL on Sat Jun 11 2016

I've had my 2016 Golf R for 3 weeks now and love it. Yes, it's a stretch financially, but oh so worth it. The car is fast, responsive, takes turns as if it were on rails, and did I say fast? The automatic transmission is actually a bit faster than the manual, but, preferring to row my own, I bought the manual. It's a joy to hear the engine as you plow through the gears. If you're a lover of performance in an automobile, this is the one to get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a car...

by Golf R 4 eva from New York, NY on Tue Aug 09 2016

It's a VW 2.0L turbo. Reliable as a wheel. It's a hatchback. Functional as a paper clip. It also happens to be incredibly entertaining, comfortable, and downright fast. Ask anyone... This is the car to buy. Not the STi, not the RS, not the S3... This is it. You're not a 19 year old trustafarian, buying a tuner rig with your parent's money, right? You're a grown man. You want a grown man's car. Not some blinged out toy that looks like a matchbox car, and not some heavy, slow, overpriced schlep-box with 4 rings on the nose. You want a fast car. You want a nice car. You want a reasonably priced car. You want a MKVII Golf R.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

She's here, people!

by She's HERE from Pacific North West on Sat Aug 22 2015

Most fun car - ever. If you can get one, do it! The blue is not as shown online. See cars in person!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's something else

by R Driver from MT on Tue Mar 13 2018

Until you drive one it's hard to imagine. Amazing year round performance, comfort, design, and mileage. The DSG transmission is lightning quick and makes passing, merging, etc. a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Golf R... It's all you need

by deklund1 from Aptos, CA on Fri Aug 18 2017

From style to function and everything in between, the Golf R has it all covered. It's civilized, a stunner to look at and above all, stunning, well rounded performance. You'll never find overall value like you do in an R. Identical to an Audi S3 with just a different badge. You can't go wrong. Buy one and enjoy. You'll be pleasantly surprised, trust me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jack of all trades

by VWR Demon from Moon, MN on Wed Aug 02 2017

Fun to toss around, well equipped, fits family of 5 comfortably. Jack of all trades, master of none which is what it was designed to do. Love the car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mostt comfortable hatchback on the market

by DoughBoy from Yuma on Fri Oct 20 2017

I spent about a year trying to find the right car. When I found the Golf R, I know my searching was done. It had all the features i was looking for in a small sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet, sweet litle Monster-I love it!

by Bull from Bradenton, Florida on Thu May 11 2017

My favorite car of all-time, for it's size and price, you can't beat it. I have been lucky enough to have owned some of the best cars in the world, and it's one of the best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

90% as fun as my 2010 M3 for half the price

by Sgengaro from Boonton, NJ on Mon May 14 2018

Great interior, fast, fun to drive nd loads of space with rear seats down. I drive it year round in NJ and the car is fabulous. I do out snows on it in the winter and it performs very well all winter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You've likely already made your decision

by roc2062 on Fri Aug 25 2017

The GTI is definitely the best value for money, no question- I've owned them and they are 85% of the R (tuned gets you even a little closer). But the R carries greater power with even greater potential, plus a sum of little changes and of course traction for days. The AWD really is the biggest delineator that you will notice on any regular frequency with even moderately hard pulls from the line. At cruising speeds/on the highway it's less obvious until you really dig into it- there's always just slightly more (than the GTI) when you're looking for it. Is what separates the R from the GTI worth the extra money? The GTI is an amazing value and for most people is no question the right choice. Of course if you find yourself reading reviews looking for something to convince you, you've probably already made the decision- you're just looking for someone to back you up (afterall, I know what car I ended up with).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Volkswagen Golf R

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2015 about the 2015 Volkswagen Golf R. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

You'll grin as the 2015 Volkswagen Golf R's turbocharged engine responds with each stomp of the gas pedal, but a lack of driver involvement diminishes the fun, making this car's hefty premium over the exceptional Golf GTI hard to stomach.

Volkswagen redesigned its Golf hatchback for the 2015 model year. A number of variants are offered, including diesel and fully electric models. The Golf TSI, Golf GTI and Golf R all have turbocharged gas four-cylinder engines... Read More