2016 Golf R

Consumer Reviews
2016 Volkswagen Golf R

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
2016 Volkswagen Golf R
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's a stretch, but worth it

by dagot from Frankfort, IL on June 11, 2016

I've had my 2016 Golf R for 3 weeks now and love it. Yes, it's a stretch financially, but oh so worth it. The car is fast, responsive, takes turns as if it were on rails, and did I say fast? The automatic transmission is actually a bit faster than the manual, but, preferring to row my own, I bought the manual. It's a joy to hear the engine as you plow through the gears. If you're a lover of performance in an automobile, this is the one to get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a car...

by Golf R 4 eva from New York, NY on August 9, 2016

It's a VW 2.0L turbo. Reliable as a wheel. It's a hatchback. Functional as a paper clip. It also happens to be incredibly entertaining, comfortable, and downright fast. Ask anyone... This is the car to buy. Not the STi, not the RS, not the S3... This is it. You're not a 19 year old trustafarian, buying a tuner rig with your parent's money, right? You're a grown man. You want a grown man's car. Not some blinged out toy that looks like a matchbox car, and not some heavy, slow, overpriced schlep-box with 4 rings on the nose. You want a fast car. You want a nice car. You want a reasonably priced car. You want a MKVII Golf R.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

She's here, people!

by She's HERE from Pacific North West on August 22, 2015

Most fun car - ever. If you can get one, do it! The blue is not as shown online. See cars in person!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's something else

by R Driver from MT on March 13, 2018

Until you drive one it's hard to imagine. Amazing year round performance, comfort, design, and mileage. The DSG transmission is lightning quick and makes passing, merging, etc. a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing performance and fun

by DocDCSC from Utah on January 13, 2018

Such a fun AWD hatch compared to my Subaru Legacy GT wagon or Audi S4 wagon. Fantastic performance and fun!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jack of all trades

by VWR Demon from Moon, MN on August 2, 2017

Fun to toss around, well equipped, fits family of 5 comfortably. Jack of all trades, master of none which is what it was designed to do. Love the car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

TEST DRIVE REVIEW 5 out of 5 stars

Mostt comfortable hatchback on the market

by DoughBoy from Yuma on October 20, 2017

I spent about a year trying to find the right car. When I found the Golf R, I know my searching was done. It had all the features i was looking for in a small sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet, sweet litle Monster-I love it!

by Bull from Bradenton, Florida on May 11, 2017

My favorite car of all-time, for it's size and price, you can't beat it. I have been lucky enough to have owned some of the best cars in the world, and it's one of the best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Golf R... It's all you need

by deklund1 from Aptos, CA on August 18, 2017

From style to function and everything in between, the Golf R has it all covered. It's civilized, a stunner to look at and above all, stunning, well rounded performance. You'll never find overall value like you do in an R. Identical to an Audi S3 with just a different badge. You can't go wrong. Buy one and enjoy. You'll be pleasantly surprised, trust me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You've likely already made your decision

by roc2062 on August 25, 2017

The GTI is definitely the best value for money, no question- I've owned them and they are 85% of the R (tuned gets you even a little closer). But the R carries greater power with even greater potential, plus a sum of little changes and of course traction for days. The AWD really is the biggest delineator that you will notice on any regular frequency with even moderately hard pulls from the line. At cruising speeds/on the highway it's less obvious until you really dig into it- there's always just slightly more (than the GTI) when you're looking for it. Is what separates the R from the GTI worth the extra money? The GTI is an amazing value and for most people is no question the right choice. Of course if you find yourself reading reviews looking for something to convince you, you've probably already made the decision- you're just looking for someone to back you up (afterall, I know what car I ended up with).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2016 Volkswagen Golf R