2001 GTI

Consumer Reviews
2001 Volkswagen GTI

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

8 Reviews
2001 Volkswagen GTI
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

WHAT A CAR!!!

by Nitto from NH on March 28, 2008

I just bought a 2001 GTi VR6, its a great car, has a ton of power for its size, handles great, but I dont recommened the GTi VR6 or the 1.8T to a teen's first car. They have TO MUCH POWER for them. I would get them a 2.0. All are great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest value car around!!!

by Top Gear from New York on December 28, 2006

I bought a GTI GLS over three years ago. It so far has never had anything go wrong which is amazing. It has everything you could want from rear cup holders to great surround system. But by far the best thing about this car is the performance. It is like a pocket rocket on speed. It handles so well and feels really sturdy when you try to push it to the limits. I have had many cars and this is by far my favourite.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Mk4 from Northern VA on November 2, 2009

Does the 2001 1.8T only really have 150hp?? I find that hard to believe. My car takes off like a rocket. I have driven several sports cars and this is by far my favorite. It is very quick, handles great, and responds very well to modifications. I would recommend a VW to any skeptical car enthusiast out there. You won't be disappointed. As long as the car is maintained and driven nicely, it will last for years and years to come!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

monster gti

by starrdog from new jersey on May 29, 2010

great performance, decent fuel, very comfortable, handling is good, interior is great, styling is great. fun car to drive, great car to drive, reliable and powerful with the vr6 engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awsome car

by Eazy from somewhere on January 2, 2007

this vehicle is very durable and dependable. i would recomend this car more for teenagers and adults in there early 20's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by Hannah Hufsmith from Mount Pocono PA on November 3, 2017

This car is modded, but it’s super fun to drive! Never left me sitting. I hit a deer a few days ago (which made my car shopping speed up) and the only damage was really to the hood, grill and one of the glass headlights I had replaced. The car never shut off, and I drove it home after that. Definitely a little tank.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VR6 has amazing stock power

by Scott from PA on October 19, 2008

I got the GTI VR6 a few months ago and I love it. I took it to the drag track and it did great for a bone stock vehicle. The only thing is that the VR6 is expensive to get a turbo and some aftermarket parts for, but the 2.8L almost doesnt need the turbo for a short track.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Awesome engine, but lots of problems

by Kickdown-169 from Germany on May 13, 2010

We purchased it with 46.000 miles on it and sold it with 61.000 miles. The engine is a awesone, 1.8 turbo with only 150hp, but it's so fast and has a good gas mileage too (manual transmission). But we have lots of problems with it, the sunroof was not water-proof, the transmission sometimes makes strange noises and we had several problems with the engine oil pressure. The car is a bit small for long trips.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 2001 Volkswagen GTI