Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 GTI

Consumer Reviews

2003 Volkswagen GTI

$2,125 - $7,293  MSRP Range
2003 Volkswagen GTI

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Volkswagen GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun You'll ever have in a car!

by Pugs from Chicago, il on Thu May 12 2011

I bought my GTI new and always did the routine maintenance. The coil went bad Around 40,000 miles VW replaced under warrantee. The drivers window came off the track but was easily fixed, a few other minor problems but nothing major. The car was a pleasure to drive even on long road trips. The handling was superb and the acceleration was exceptional (occasionally when passing on 2 lane roads I would find my self doing over 100 by the time I returned to my lane. I drove the car over 100,000 miles in less than 4 years and enjoyed every minute of driving. I would still be driving it had a micro burst not planted a 100 year old maple tree firmly in the center of the car. I miss my GTI and would purchase another in a heart beat if I could find one in my price range.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck!

by The Shrink from Boise, Idaho on Sat Mar 05 2011

Have owned BMW, VR6 Jetta, etc. GTI VR6 hands down the most enjoyable, reliable car I have ever owned

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like a go-cart on rails

by GTI Driver from San Diego, CA on Tue Jul 24 2012

Fun, fun, fun. Not the best gas mileage, but ore than makes up for that with lots of power. Styling is admittedly dated, but with a VR6, you get VW's great V6 engine, which is no longer offered. I test drove both the VR6 and the turbo, and greatly preferred the VR6.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good german engineering

by European car enthusiast from Carlisle, PA on Tue Oct 20 2009

i have owned two vw gti's during my life and i must say they have been the best cars i have ever owned. My first was a four door golf 1.8t. This car was a fun car to drive and very comfortable. Also they are very safe. I totalled the golf into a stone wall when i hit it at over 100 mph while racing. the car rolled in mid air and landed on all four tires again. Me and 2 other walked away from this accident unharmed. it was absoutly crazy how well the car held up in the accident. That is exactly why i bought one as my next car. they are safe cars. I thank all the VW Engineers out there for manufacturing and designing such a safe and well rounded vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best overall car ive owned

by king of hatchbacks from milwaukee on Wed Nov 09 2011

self explanitory.................................................................................................

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i've ever owned, and FUN to drive!

by EllinasOhio from Cleveland, Ohio on Sun May 13 2018

I bought this car new in late 2002 (GTI VR6 24v), and have had it as my daily driver now for 15 plus years! The car has been super-reliable with NO engine or drivetrain issues whatsoever! The only 'major' issue in 15 years was the engine fan failing, battery replacement, and a bit of rusting in the exhaust system and the hatchback lip, which isn't much for such a long period of ownership in harsh weather Ohio. The car is fun as heck to drive, quick, and puts a smile on my face every day! The black leather interior is Audi quality and gorgeous, and it looks way more expensive and classy than the $25,000 I paid for it way back then. Even though the styling is a bit plain for a GTI, I am a huge fan of the MK4 GTI's, especially the more aggressive styled ones like the rare '337', 25th Anniversary Edition, or the MK4 R32!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love to drive this car.

by rickyjohn from queens,ny on Sun Mar 25 2018

i love the car in every way . the clutch , the steering wheel , the way it handles the turns. i mean this is after you do some performance you dont even need a lot, but i love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best kept car I?ve ever seen!

by Car Lover from on Mon Jan 08 2018

The car has low miles which is what I?ve been looking for. It is a few years old but still runs well and was properly maintained which I love!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2003 Volkswagen GTI

Want a blast from the past?

It's hard to believe it has been 20 years since Volkswagen first pulled the Rabbit GTI out of its hat.

Back in 1983, there were no econo-hatchbacks that could burn up the road without burning too much unleaded. But what VW did was visionary, transforming its best-selling Rabbit into a hot hatchback, satisfying the needs of a nation in an oil crisis by creating a car that was meant to help you forget the problems at the pump.

And the GTI was a whole new way of viewing the world. It was a breath of fresh air compared to the wheezing Pintos and Chevettes.

Powered by a scrappy 90-horsepower, 1.8-liter fuel-injected inline four-cylinder engine, the GTI came with a... Read More