2000 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

$1,595 - $5,563  MSRP Range
2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

21 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Volkswagen New Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

140,000 miles and still going strong

by Joanne from KY on Mon Nov 12 2007

Own a 2000 model GLS, auto with the 2.0 liter. 140,000 miles and never needed anything but regular maintenance- oil changes,brakes, etc... great little car. Over 30 mpg in town. If you get a bug get the 2.0 liter- 1.8 liter has too many problems

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is wonderful!

by John from Jersey :) from New Jersey on Wed Aug 19 2009

I bought this car used. It's a 2001. Not only is the car a fantastic lime green but it's fantastic for my wallet. I am a High school student working at staples and making minimum wage. Gas is important to everyone and boy do I get good gas mileage. My whole tank takes about 400 miles to empty. It's fast, sporty and cute! Please don't be afraid to buy one. I had to get my ignition wires and coil pack replaced. No biggy! But it's all fixed and is working wonderfully!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my bug!

by Amanda Rose from San Francisco, CA on Fri Mar 28 2008

I just went over the 100,000 mile mark and have had no problems with this car. It is dependable and gets great gas mileage. I would definitely recommend a 2000 VW beetle if you are looking for a used car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Beetle

by Dan from Harrisburg, PA on Sun May 01 2011

We bought this car in February and have had a fun time driving it these past couple of months. It is an enjoyable ride, as it should be, and it is fun as well. I love the turbocharger! On those short I-83 on-ramps, the turbo really helps you to get up to speed in a hurry! The AC needed to be recharged but no real surprise there considering its age. I wish it did not have the fancy low-profile wheels - I do not want to pay twice as much for tires as for ordinary wheels, but other than that I really like the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 VW Beetle GLS

by Ciaraamc from Seattle, WA on Sat Jan 09 2016

I got this bug a little over a year ago, with only 65,000 miles one it. i am absolutely in love with it, i have had to replaced the spark plus (which was excepted) and then my vehicle kept over heating and had to get the water pump and some belts replaced. hoping that will be all besides general maintenance for a while. The only thing i really dislike about this vehicle is where the cup holders are located. They are under the radio making it hard to fit almost any cup in there. besides that i love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride, fuel efficient.

by Jake from Las Vegas, NV on Sat Feb 16 2008

You won't find too many other cars that get as good as gas mileage as the VW Beetle. This car has been very reliable. No problems at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great first car....

by car lover! from maurice,LA on Wed Jul 25 2007

I bought this car as my first car. It was and still is GREAT! Ive had some things go wrong with it such as falty warning lights. but I rather have them go off more then have them not go off at all. I love this car. and plan on buying another one in a year or two.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

These cars last forever!

by cassy09 from Chicago, IL on Thu Apr 05 2018

This car has been great to me! I purchased this car used and at the time it was over ten years old. It looked like new! I was able to get 5 years out of it and it still drives like it did the first time! The Beetles have a classic style that never gets old and I received compliments every time I left the house. This car was ahead of its time with heated electric mirrors and full interior lighting. Not to mention, parking was a breeze with the size. They look small on the outside but are much larger on the inside. Overall, I would recommend this vehicle to all! I love my bug!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect for Everyone

by CCMeyers from Ashtabula, Ohio on Thu Aug 17 2017

Love everything besides the cup holder placement. Worst spot to have one. would not recommend for having multiple passengers. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed this car. The seats are comfortable and its a fun car to ride in. Very satisfying to watch people punch each other while driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Lonnie Sue from Groveport on Sat Mar 03 2018

It is a cute car. It is fun to drive and adequate for the everyday shuttle drive. It is quick and agile and the gas mileage is a plus of ownership.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

We were riveted to the TV set as countries across the globe welcomed the new millennium.

By the time the celebration reached Dick Clark in New York, who finally looks like he has lived a millennium, give or take a year, it was obvious that Y2K glitches weren't going to materialize.

Still, we had a 2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLS parked in the driveway waiting for the stroke of midnight central standard time so we could turn the ignition key and learn whether the Y2K bug would infect a Bug.

The clock struck, the Beetle started and all systems functioned as we took a brief ride to experience the fireworks displays at neighbors' before heading back to the house, toasting the... Read More