2000 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews
2000 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

21 Reviews
2000 Volkswagen New Beetle
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car EVER

by Beetle Love from OH on October 15, 2011

This little car is AMAZING! I got this car, for my 1st car. 16 years old. It is good for starters, its GREAT on gas and drives very smoothly. I ABSOLUTELY reccommend this car for 1st cars for teens, and or adults. Beetles are very nice, comfortable, and affordable little cars. Good style, and interior. I give this car 5 stars. VW Beetles are the best. !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is wonderful!

by John from Jersey :) from New Jersey on August 19, 2009

I bought this car used. It's a 2001. Not only is the car a fantastic lime green but it's fantastic for my wallet. I am a High school student working at staples and making minimum wage. Gas is important to everyone and boy do I get good gas mileage. My whole tank takes about 400 miles to empty. It's fast, sporty and cute! Please don't be afraid to buy one. I had to get my ignition wires and coil pack replaced. No biggy! But it's all fixed and is working wonderfully!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

140,000 miles and still going strong

by Joanne from KY on November 12, 2007

Own a 2000 model GLS, auto with the 2.0 liter. 140,000 miles and never needed anything but regular maintenance- oil changes,brakes, etc... great little car. Over 30 mpg in town. If you get a bug get the 2.0 liter- 1.8 liter has too many problems

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Beetle

by Dan from Harrisburg, PA on May 1, 2011

We bought this car in February and have had a fun time driving it these past couple of months. It is an enjoyable ride, as it should be, and it is fun as well. I love the turbocharger! On those short I-83 on-ramps, the turbo really helps you to get up to speed in a hurry! The AC needed to be recharged but no real surprise there considering its age. I wish it did not have the fancy low-profile wheels - I do not want to pay twice as much for tires as for ordinary wheels, but other than that I really like the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my bug!

by Amanda Rose from San Francisco, CA on March 28, 2008

I just went over the 100,000 mile mark and have had no problems with this car. It is dependable and gets great gas mileage. I would definitely recommend a 2000 VW beetle if you are looking for a used car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect For First Year Drivers!!!

by Wimpy Bug Lover from Fairfield, Ca on August 16, 2007

I chose this car to be my first car. It was perfect for me, it was petite just like me and had a lot of attitude. I absolutely love my bug and i think that if you want to be unique and stand out then it just may be the car you're looking for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 VW Beetle GLS

by Ciaraamc from Seattle, WA on January 9, 2016

I got this bug a little over a year ago, with only 65,000 miles one it. i am absolutely in love with it, i have had to replaced the spark plus (which was excepted) and then my vehicle kept over heating and had to get the water pump and some belts replaced. hoping that will be all besides general maintenance for a while. The only thing i really dislike about this vehicle is where the cup holders are located. They are under the radio making it hard to fit almost any cup in there. besides that i love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great first car....

by car lover! from maurice,LA on July 25, 2007

I bought this car as my first car. It was and still is GREAT! Ive had some things go wrong with it such as falty warning lights. but I rather have them go off more then have them not go off at all. I love this car. and plan on buying another one in a year or two.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride, fuel efficient.

by Jake from Las Vegas, NV on February 16, 2008

You won't find too many other cars that get as good as gas mileage as the VW Beetle. This car has been very reliable. No problems at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect for Everyone

by CCMeyers from Ashtabula, Ohio on August 17, 2017

Love everything besides the cup holder placement. Worst spot to have one. would not recommend for having multiple passengers. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed this car. The seats are comfortable and its a fun car to ride in. Very satisfying to watch people punch each other while driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2000 Volkswagen New Beetle