Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

$1,887 - $7,103  MSRP Range
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

13 Reviews
77% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Volkswagen New Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Redkin from Greeley, CO on Mon Nov 13 2006

I am extremely happy with my Diesel Bug. The MPG and a few less trips to the gas station. The Diesel engine is what I love. Should last forever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small but spacious

by Tgoehring from Mercer, PA on Mon Nov 27 2017

This is a nice car for far distance commutes. It’s nice and small but spacious at the same time. The gas mileage is GREAT!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun driver

by 2002RedBug from Alexandria VA on Tue Oct 31 2017

Nice looking with good performance. Tight handling and good acceleration highlight this cars performance. Enjoy driving again!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Winner!

by RBDub from Missouri on Fri Jun 25 2010

I recently bought a diesel 2002 Beetle with 198K and it runs like a champ! Exterior has held up well and interior is like new! The gas mileage is AWESOME: 40 mpg highway, 36-37 mpg in town. I've put 6K miles on it in just 6 wks. Acceleration is a little sluggish, but once it's up and running it handles 75-80 mph, no problem... so I've been told.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall a decent car that still turns a few heads

by MG from Chicago, Illinois on Wed Mar 12 2008

If you are a Big & Tall guy who doesn't need space for large items or aren't inteneding it for a grown up family-this is your car! Being 6'4" and the build of an NFL lineman-some 4 door & 2 door cars are too small to get either enough shoulder room to enter/exit or headroom. With the tall roof and large doors, this car is a pleasure to sit in and drive. Don't be fooled-this is a 2800lb car. It's wide track and 16 inch wheels/tires give it great snow traction. The high roof doesn't always like high winds on the highway, but it is something you will get used to. For a smaller car this heavy and stable, 20-25 mpg with the gas engine seems reasonable. There is enough torque at highway passing speeds as it is geared for power in the middle speeds. Original tires lasted 74,000 mi. The GL only had manual windows-the driver's window cable broke during 15 below zero weather in my first year but was fixed under warranty-so was the ignition coil. The headlights are not user changable-if you try to remove the assembly and bend the huge cage assembly you will spend $100's to have the whole thing replaced. I had 3 headlights changed in 4 years. Out of warranty is about $40. Many replacement parts are 1 piece units-not a lot of user serviceable parts-3rd brakelight was about $135. Rear brakes lasted about 80,000. Still have original fronts brakes at 98,000 and still have pad left on 'em. There are some people that still think the design is cool! The only unusual or negative thing I still can't get over is that for a car this heavy/sturdy-and able to hold a big/tall guy, the non-power seats are built with a lot of plastic in the support frame. It is starting to fail An original seat doesn't seem to exist as a 1 piece unit. A rebuild with factory parts was quoted about $1800-looks like I will hunt 4 one in the junkyard. This was/is my 1st VW. I have never had a U.S. car that wouldn't have already gone through 3 or 4 sets of brakes/rotors by now. These have held up. When parts fail-need to be replaced it can be $$$. But many items have been good to me as far as reliability.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great, sporty value for cost

by Johnny from South Carolina on Mon Sep 04 2006

enjoy the drive before passing on this one ! Sporty feel, great handling, enough power to get through traffic and pass gracefully, even above 70 mph. Not the tame little bug it may appear to be...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun to drive

by moose from graham north carolina on Thu Apr 26 2007

fun to drive and sporty looks everyone looks at it going by engine is really peppy gets excellent gas mileage

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2002 BEETLE GLS

by P LESLIE from HOPEWELL, VIRGINIA on Fri Jul 28 2006

WE THOUGHT OUR 2002 BEETLE WAS PERFECT. FIRST WE HAD A RECALL ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. IT WOULDN'T ROLL UP ALL THE WAY OR GET STUCK ROLLING DOWN. IT TOOK 3 ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR AND IT STILL DOESN'T WORK PROPERLY IN CERTAIN TYPES OF WEATHER. ONLY 3 WEEKS AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED THE ALARM SYSTEM STARTED GOING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND THE ALARM LOCK AND UNLOCK SWITCH WOULDN'T STOP THE ALARM FROM GOING OFF. WE HAVE MADE 2 DEALER VISITS AND IT STILL ISN'T FIXED, BUT COULD (POSSIBLY) BE REPAIRED WITH ANOTHER $1,000 BALLPARK FIGURE. THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED LIT AND THE DEALER SAID IT WAS BECAUSE THE SEATBELT WASN'T CONNECTING. IT SEEMS ODD THAT THE SEATBELT LIGHT ALWAYS GOES OUT AFTER CLICKING IT CLOSED. THIS ALSO COSTS US ANOTHER $450.00 ON 07/28/06. THIS HAD TO BE REPAIRED BEFORE AN INSPECTION STICKER COULD BE UPDATED. WE HAVE HEARD OTHER HORROR STORIES ABOUT THE WINDOW COMING OFF THE TRACK, SERVICE ISSUES WITH THE DEALER AND OTHER REMARKS THAT I CANNOT REPEAT PUBLICLY. WE HAVE ONLY TWO VOLKSWAGEN DEALERS IN OUR RICHMOND, VA AREA AND WE (OTHER VOLKSWAGEN CUSTOMERS/FRIENDS) DO NOT CARE TO VISIT EITHER OF THEM BECAUSE OF POOR SERVICE OR EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES. MAYBE IT'S NOT TOTALLY THE CARS FAULT. IT WAS AN EXCELLENT VEHICLE, UNTIL I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS PAST THE WARRANTY STAGE OR MAYBE THE CAR WASN'T BUILT TO LAST PAST THE WARRANTY STAGE! EITHER WAY, IT WILL BE THE LAST VOLKSWAGEN PRODUCT THAT WE WILL EVER PURCHASE. I WOULD RATHER DRIVE A HORSE AND BUGGY OR REVERT TO RIDING A BIKE BEFORE I HAD TO DRIVE ANOTHER VOLKSWAGEN PRODUCT. I SHOULD HAVE KEPT MY ORIGINAL VOLKSWAGEN FROM THE 70'S. ANOTHER SUGGESTION, CONSUMERS NEED TO START MORE LETTERS TO VOLKSWAGEN ABOUT THE DEALERS THEY HAVE WORKING FOR THEM. HOPE SOMEBODY IS LISTENING!!!!!! P. LESLIE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun little car

by rsmock on Thu Sep 07 2017

This yellow turbo bug is a fun little car, the ride and mobility is great..The yellow with yellow accents on wheels and through the interior is truly something to look at..Windows down, sunroof open its a cool ride..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My baby bug

by Katieeeeeeeeeeee from New Hampshire on Mon Apr 09 2012

I got this car for my sixteenth birthday with the $5,000 I've been saving up for my whole life. The car is absolutely perfect. It came with 50,000 miles on it and we bought it a few towns over. Be careful to replace the timing belt and water pump as soon as it needs to be replaced-- ask a mechanic or something I just know its really important. The only thing I had to do was get new rotors because mine were warped and the car shook when the I used the breaks. There isn't a lot of cup holder space-- only a small drink would fit-- but that is my only complaint. I love the car and would recommend it to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

Any way you drive it, the 2002 Volkswagen New Beetle is a rolling contradiction.

Cute, quick, lovable, no longer psychedelic, hardly-like-the-original, but ... a contradiction.

Where the reincarnated Beetle (unveiled at the 1998 Detroit Auto Show) was meant to spark nostalgia, the New Beetle Turbo S, unwrapped for '02, is meant for speed.

It's small, yet incredibly safe. It's attractive, yet deceptively devilish under the hood. It's a Beetle, but now it's really turbocharged.

Turbo? Beetle?

Isn't that kind of like saying powerful Pinto? Or, growling Gremlin?

Anyone who drove an original Beetle will tell you it must be an oxymoron. But don't tell that to the folks at Volkswagen. In the New Beetle... Read More