2003 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2003 Volkswagen New Beetle

$2,163 - $7,291  MSRP Range
2003 Volkswagen New Beetle

Review Score

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

34 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Volkswagen New Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Turbo "S"

by SG from Utah on Sun Dec 27 2009

In one month I'll have owned this car for seven years, and it has been super. Runs great in all seasons, climbs mountain highways with ease, handles and rides very nice for a smaller car. And it still averages about 30 mpg (mostly city driving) with the original factory performance upgrades.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliability,good driving,safety and saves gas

by Value for money,car good quality and taste. from texas on Thu Dec 22 2011

great good car.reliability and to gas efficiency.Whatelse,you just needs to driving this sleek beauty,easy sharp turns as to safety,comfortabilty as to interior and exterior,absolutely gorgeous.Drives real good.I bought mine used,2003,having currently 97k n stills drives great without any problems.Only issues is headlights may needs changing since is periodically on and in auto.Switch it off,should yous comes with that and when you day driving because you absolutely don`t needs headlights to day driving,makes sense.?Yeah!Would recommeds to friends.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I Have 3 and LOVE THEM

by Planet Solar from CA on Fri Jan 21 2011

My company Planet Solar has 3 TDI Beetles and I love them. Bought them ranging from 40k miles to 120k miles. Sure the fit and finish gets a bit worn, a few rattles while driving, over 120k miles, but so does my Mercedes. But that diesel motor is bullet-proof and will go forever! Bottom line, I'll probably buy 3 more this year.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So much fun to drive!

by Punchbuggy Mom from North Reading, MA on Tue Sep 03 2013

We are the third owners of this 10-year old car and it's in great condition, we bought it with fewer than 36 K miles on it; it still has its plastic flower! My daughter has always wanted a Beetle and after reading the reviews about expensive maintenance, I tried to steer her in another direction, but we saw this car and it was in such great shape and the previous owners had put a fair amount of money into it, so hopefully we'll be lucky. We've only had it about 10 weeks and had the rear brakes done after having it checked over as soon as we bought it . They were grabbing and are fine now. There is a slow leak in the wiper fluid reservoir that will need attention at some point, but it'll wait until something more major needs work as the engine compartment is so tight that it will require professional expertise. We all want to drive the car, it's a blast with the Turbo, super-peppy and handles well and very comfortable seats. The ventilation system is powerful and efficient, cools us down within seconds of turning on the A/C. The blind spot is a big one, so one has to look carefully. Head room in front is wonderful, better than our Subarus, not so in the rear seats. The front seats move forward very easily, so it's not hard to get in and out unless you're very tall. The cup holder in front is not in the best place, as has been mentioned, but we just found out that the base swivels towards the passenger side so at least one taller cup can fit into it. There's not a lot of ground clearance, so you have to be careful with steep driveways and tall speed bumps or you can scrape the plastic shield under the engine. Other than that, it's a great, solid little car, and we hope to enjoy driving it for years to come!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love my beetle

by BeetleBae from on Tue Jul 28 2015

i own a 2003 vw new beetle gls turbo, automatic and i love it !!!!!!!!!!! air conditioner is awesome!! i love leather seats and it's a convertible. its an easy fun car to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive, has it's quirks

by Bugg from Fort Wayne, IN on Tue May 05 2009

I have the 2003 GLX. The turbo is a blast to drive, and the matching leather interior is great. The car has it's quirks, mostly dealing with the lights on the car. One of the rear brake lights keeps going out, even after replacing the needed brake switch with the improved one. I've replaced a headlight and turn signal as well. As far as problems go, these are minor to deal with. The traction control does well in ice and snow, and the sound system is good too.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Over all Car I ve ever owned

by Very Impressed with this Bug from Dallas, TX on Mon Feb 26 2007

This is gotta be one of my favorite cars. Its not a sports car but it has great get up and go, its fits anywhere and its very uinque. It gets great gas mileage and when the seats folded flat I fit an entire sears shop box in the car!!!! The salesman though i was kidding but it fit all four levels of it in the car. Maintainance is cheap to. My old ford cost more to maintain and repair then my beetle. Go figure? Anyways best investment I ever made!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the look and the performance

by George from Nashville, TN on Fri Mar 13 2015

I have loved everything about this car, from the heated leather seats to the gorgeous style. I have not had one issue with the car. It has made me want to also purchase a classic bug from the past to see which I love more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car, and TDi gets fantastic mileage.

by M Darookie from Madison, WI on Sat Dec 03 2016

This car has been fantastic. Have put 100K on it, without any issues other than normal maintenance. One of the better cars I have owned in my life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

260,000 miles and still looks great, and runs well

by Patikaat from Fairfield on Fri May 12 2017

Great little car, super cute, reliable, sturdy and zippy. Easy to teach someone how to drive a manual transmission on too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2003 Volkswagen New Beetle

When Volkswagen debuted the new convertible version of its popular Beetle last fall, it touted the "spiritual connections" of this latest model of the mythical "people's car." That's not just hype.

The Beetle Convertible manages to strike the perfect emotional chord, especially for baby boomers who fondly remember the old robin's-egg blue or beige original Beetle convertibles. Best of all, the new Beetle Convertible manages to be both authentic and affordable -- the best of all possible scenarios for a retro ride.

We tested a "Sundown Orange" GLS 2.0 model with a semi-automatic power top priced at $25,440.

She: For the past several months, I've been keeping up a running e-mail correspondence... Read More