2004 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews
2004 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

31 Reviews
2004 Volkswagen New Beetle
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Top Replacement Cost

by roccormom from Biloxi, MS on June 14, 2010

If you're thinking about buying a new or used Beetle, one thing to consider would be the cost of the canopy replacement. VW will replace a canvas top for approximately 4,100 dollars (I didn't even ask for an estimate on a leather top!). Even an after-market canvas replaced by a shop other than VW can run about 2,600+. Be informed before you purchase. Hope this helps.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Starter Car!

by Concerned Mom from SoCal on January 6, 2010

We have had this car for 5 years & now have 64k miles (bought is with 18k.) It was our daughter's first car at 16. I love the crash test ratings, the reliability, and the affordability of owning it! I like to borrow it when running errands - I feel younger & 'cute' in it and use less gas than my truck. She has been the envy of her friends in her bug. I never worry about her having problems with her car even driving in the mountains. As for the negatives out there - there are problems in any model sometimes. I have had my own lemon car, but I hear very few negatives about the bug.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not a Single Problem

by Happy Bug Owner from on July 23, 2009

Our 2004 Beetle convertible has never been in the shop except for scheduled maintenance. It handles exceptionally well, due to being heavy, low, and wide. You can fit an AMAZING amount of cargo in it, since you can put the top down and load things in easily. I'm surprised at the negative reviews. Even Honda and BMW have some vehicles that are problematic; that doesn't mean they all are. We certainly can't complain!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Money Pit

by HeathAIR from Burnsville, MN on February 12, 2008

I have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. Talk about electrical headaches and annoying components that stop working. . .even the day after getting fixed. Burnt out dashboard lights, broken blinkers and flickering interior lights are just to name a few. Also has a very harsh transmission when shifting gears. This car consumes 4 quarts of oil in less than 3,000 miles. Unless that sounds appealing to you, DON'T BUY THIS VEHICLE!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this cute thing!

by Nattybaby from Costa Mesa, CA on October 31, 2011

Had my 2004 beetle gls turbo convertible for over 30,000 miles. It was so quick!!!!! I always got compliments. The leather interior was great, loved the seat warmers, great for summer to go top down! Never replaced anything on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by myvwrocks from Dallas on March 30, 2010

Owned car for 6 years. NEVER ever ever had a problem. Reliable, great gas mileage, comfortable, cute

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I feel most secure & comfortable in this tight car

by Help Desk Specialist and a Nana from Framingham, MA on June 19, 2007

This vehicle is the best car I have ever driver or owned. It is solid on the highway. Vehicle will stop on a dime without nosing down or swaying. Car corners beautifully, hugs the road. Handles very well on a windy highway and in the snow. Have never fishtailed in the snow or ice. This car has proven to be perfect in every aspect, in my opinion.... in addition to being cute and stylish

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WHAT A SURPRISING CONVERTIBLE!!

by Z MAN from Walnut Creek, CA on January 21, 2010

This car just surprised me at many levels. Easy to operate, easy to drive, easy to maintain, easy on the eyes. The convertible styling is beautiful and the ride was really good. For a tall guy like myself (6'2") the car was surpinsingly more confortable that Boxsters and Audi TTs, even the other three passengers were amazed about how much space there was for all. Never had a car that received so many looks and nods, even with the light yellow exterior, probably because it screams "I am fun, life is good, why so serious?" My only wish was a more powerful engine. So if you like to rev, get the Turbo, otherwise the 2.0 has plenty of power fun to drive you around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very versatile

by jujan from on August 31, 2009

It drives very smoothly and swiftly. When speeding you don't feel the speed eventhough is a small car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

by Hippie from Big city on January 9, 2016

I bought a 2002 in 2014. This car was take care of properly. It had a cassette player (no CD) but I did not mind. The turbo is amazing. When in slow traffic, I can get out of the traffic and detour quickly. People smile and wave at the color (I wave back) yellow. It has extras, like yellow and black leather seats, etc. They are really nice. Mainly, I enjoy the small size. I can park almost anywhere. Its amazing what I can get into the car plus a dog. If you can afford it, sure get a moon roof and a CD player. Be sure to get turbo. I am no speedy racer. It helps when living in a big city. I will get another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2004 Volkswagen New Beetle