2008 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews
2008 Volkswagen New Beetle

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

23 Reviews
2008 Volkswagen New Beetle
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Fun Fun

by BelAirCarGuy from Bel Air, Maryland on May 16, 2009

Purchased an 08 Beetle Convertible SE model June 08. Car has about 12,000 miles now. Great ride - comfortable seats, great seat heaters, satellite radio, ESP, and more. This car was purchased for my teenagers, but Dad likes to drive it also. Peppy 5 cylinder motor, but not too much to get teens into trouble. Took this car on a trip of about 800 miles (2 people). Ride was great and front seats are very comfortable. This car is a hoot with the top down and the wind blowing in your hair. Satellite radio is wonderful and the 8 speaker system sounds very good. Had one minor problem with the drivers window (goes down and back up just an inch or so, due to the convertible top, when you open and close the door), but was corrected promptly at the dealer under warranty. Good gas mileage, but this is not a lightweight economy car. It has some weight and stability to it, so low 20's gas mileage around town is the best you will do. Highway shows high 20's. Overall, very pleased with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My ultimate car

by KD Bug from Belleville Illinois on August 17, 2008

Funny to most people, but this is my dream car. It is fun to drive, and it makes me smile every time I get in the drivers seat. My Beetle is everything I hoped it would be. This car handles well, is good on gas, especially on the highway and is very responsive. It is the best vehicle I have owned to date, and I have had at least 20 + cars in my driving history!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first new car!

by Cheryl in VT from Putney, VT on June 27, 2009

Mine's a convertable. A bit pricier than the regular new beetle but worth it. It's an incredably fun car to drive. I've got 27k miles on it so far & except for regular maintainence & a new set of tires it's been completly trouble-free. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CUTEST CAR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Sports Car Enthusiast from CT on October 3, 2011

this is such a cute car! got it for my 16 year old teen ager! amazing! great first car for the teens! AWSOME CAR!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

V W SUNFLOWER CONVERTABLE

by FUN CAR from MADISON,INDIANA on October 12, 2013

I bought this car Friday and have had it all over town today.So many compliments.Of course I had the top down. Chris Huber and his wife were so honest and helpful and even stayed open to take care of me.Thank you and I will think of you both often.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car for the Money

by Beetle Girl from Philadelphia PA on June 9, 2008

Great price, super gas mileage, roomy front and passenger seat as well as decent size trunk. My next new car in 20 years will be another with sun roof or convertible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!!

by Kim K from Miami, Fl on January 8, 2014

Wow! I was surprised... Great acceleration, incredible comfort for four adults and superb sound was what I needed to move me out of my Mini into a car that could comfortably accommodate my family. My day starts with a big smile getting into my car. Having driven many different convertibles I can say their are none at this price point that offer the level of performance and space found in the new Turbo Beetle. My entire family loves this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned.

by Young At 70 from Ripley, Tn. on August 28, 2007

Good on gas and extra fitures only draw back is small area in back seat. I have owned a new Beetle since 1998 when they first came into the USA. This is my second one and I love it. With gas prices as they are it can realy save you on trips across the country and the front lage roon is realy good. Would recomend one to all....Ken...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money!

by DaveMc from Gainesville, VA on July 5, 2018

the performance of the manual transmission is fantastic. Rare find!! I would highly recommend this car to anyone , particularly at the price. A true collectors item

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my New Beetle!

by KDBug from Belleville,IL on June 4, 2009

I have owned my New Beetle for a year and a half and it has exceeded my expectations. It has the cute factor, but it handles seriously well. I have some issues with my back and seats are so comfortable; I never ache from a long drive. I will likely own this car until it no longer runs!! It is that much fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3