2008 New Beetle

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volkswagen New Beetle

$3,185 - $9,845  MSRP Range
2008 Volkswagen New Beetle

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

23 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Volkswagen New Beetle?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Fun Fun

by BelAirCarGuy from Bel Air, Maryland on Sat May 16 2009

Purchased an 08 Beetle Convertible SE model June 08. Car has about 12,000 miles now. Great ride - comfortable seats, great seat heaters, satellite radio, ESP, and more. This car was purchased for my teenagers, but Dad likes to drive it also. Peppy 5 cylinder motor, but not too much to get teens into trouble. Took this car on a trip of about 800 miles (2 people). Ride was great and front seats are very comfortable. This car is a hoot with the top down and the wind blowing in your hair. Satellite radio is wonderful and the 8 speaker system sounds very good. Had one minor problem with the drivers window (goes down and back up just an inch or so, due to the convertible top, when you open and close the door), but was corrected promptly at the dealer under warranty. Good gas mileage, but this is not a lightweight economy car. It has some weight and stability to it, so low 20's gas mileage around town is the best you will do. Highway shows high 20's. Overall, very pleased with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My ultimate car

by KD Bug from Belleville Illinois on Sun Aug 17 2008

Funny to most people, but this is my dream car. It is fun to drive, and it makes me smile every time I get in the drivers seat. My Beetle is everything I hoped it would be. This car handles well, is good on gas, especially on the highway and is very responsive. It is the best vehicle I have owned to date, and I have had at least 20 + cars in my driving history!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first new car!

by Cheryl in VT from Putney, VT on Sat Jun 27 2009

Mine's a convertable. A bit pricier than the regular new beetle but worth it. It's an incredably fun car to drive. I've got 27k miles on it so far & except for regular maintainence & a new set of tires it's been completly trouble-free. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CUTEST CAR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Sports Car Enthusiast from CT on Mon Oct 03 2011

this is such a cute car! got it for my 16 year old teen ager! amazing! great first car for the teens! AWSOME CAR!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car for the Money

by Beetle Girl from Philadelphia PA on Mon Jun 09 2008

Great price, super gas mileage, roomy front and passenger seat as well as decent size trunk. My next new car in 20 years will be another with sun roof or convertible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

V W SUNFLOWER CONVERTABLE

by FUN CAR from MADISON,INDIANA on Sat Oct 12 2013

I bought this car Friday and have had it all over town today.So many compliments.Of course I had the top down. Chris Huber and his wife were so honest and helpful and even stayed open to take care of me.Thank you and I will think of you both often.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!!

by Kim K from Miami, Fl on Wed Jan 08 2014

Wow! I was surprised... Great acceleration, incredible comfort for four adults and superb sound was what I needed to move me out of my Mini into a car that could comfortably accommodate my family. My day starts with a big smile getting into my car. Having driven many different convertibles I can say their are none at this price point that offer the level of performance and space found in the new Turbo Beetle. My entire family loves this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money!

by DaveMc from Gainesville, VA on Thu Jul 05 2018

the performance of the manual transmission is fantastic. Rare find!! I would highly recommend this car to anyone , particularly at the price. A true collectors item

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned.

by Young At 70 from Ripley, Tn. on Tue Aug 28 2007

Good on gas and extra fitures only draw back is small area in back seat. I have owned a new Beetle since 1998 when they first came into the USA. This is my second one and I love it. With gas prices as they are it can realy save you on trips across the country and the front lage roon is realy good. Would recomend one to all....Ken...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

IT JUST DON'T ANY BETTER

by Living Life at 66 from Destin Fla on Wed Jun 14 2017

I just Retired from the Corp World on Wall St. and sold every thing even my Benz SL500, Headed for the Sunshine State, Got here this week Bought me a Condo on the Beach, then next stop VW Dealer for my New VW Conv SE, then to get me a New Set of Golf Clubs, , wow the waves are rolling in. and now cruise the beach to the course for 18, my Pot Stocks are doing great, wow only in America,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3