Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2015 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2015 Volkswagen Passat

$10,061 - $19,297  MSRP Range
2015 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

142 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 142 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Passat TDI

by TouringFordor from Cincinnati, OH on Tue Jun 02 2015

My wife bought a 2015 Passat SE TDI in March 2015. She is 5'3'' and I am 6'3", and we both love it. It is spacious, and the low end torque of the diesel is amazing. We have 3700 miles on it, and the calculated MPG is 40, with mixed city and highway driving. The DSG transmission takes some getting used to after driving fluid coupled automatics, but it is great when you get the hang of it. Some people may not like the low shift points, so there is the "Sport" setting on the transmission to raise the shift points.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car....

by Bob from Lumberton, NC on Fri Oct 23 2015

I traded a 2006 BMW 550I for this car and have never looked back. The BMW was a great ride but the VW is everything as good if not better. I love the styling, rear seat room, styling, and overall ride. I have the TDI and the milage is between 38 and 40 on each fill-up. Would recommend this car to anyone even my Mom if she was still here.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Family Car

by Pappu from Vernon Hills on Sat Nov 07 2015

I had this car almost a year from now, So far no issue. Great gas mileage, Good for Family with a lots of room. Nicer audio, Good Looking, Huge fuel tank for long drives + German Engineering!! So far so good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Winner For The Retired

by Grandpa Gippy from King of Prussia, PA on Sun Sep 06 2015

Well I have now had my Passat for slightly over 4 weeks and must say I am very satisfied with the vehicle. and pleased with its performance. There are still many things I need to learn because I am an "elderly" old goat but still know what's going on in the world. The sales representative - T. Cook in this case was super, if there was anything he did't explain it was because I missed it. Seriously he addressed all of the major points about the car and to some extent pointed out where it differed from "luxury" cars. In addition, he was not the "typical" car salesperson, that is sell up $$$ to get a larger sale So I can honestly say he did a superb job with me. Finally, the car itself is great and I am enjoying it very much and when it is time for a new lease, I will say that I will go VW again T. Cook you did a great job thanks

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Terrible transmission and turbo

by Hunter from Mesa, Arizona on Thu Aug 04 2016

Love the diesel engine - would buy that engine, after emissions fix, again any time. Terribly cheap transmission and turbo systems. We have owned other turbo charged cars and have never had a full one second or more delay before power kicks in. Transmission is better suited for a very small, cheap compact car. Would never buy that again. Sadly, I will give it back to VW when they begin their buybacks in October.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great value for the money

by An average Joe from Germantown, MD on Sun May 17 2015

I just bought my first 2015 Passat TSI and I am very pleased with it. I passed over great cars but the Passat was hard to pass by: value, quality and reliability is a wining combination. The driving is pleasant and the car handles excellently even though it is not a sports car. The drive on a highway, especially at high speed (I-70) at 75 mph is very smooth and comfortable for the back passengers who can really appreciate better the quietness of the ride. The engine performs flawless and the gears shift smoothly. The interior of the car is well appointed with the instruments well placed and easy accessibility The handle of the car is excellent and brakes with confidence. .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It is what it is

by aubs11 from Memphis, TN on Tue Jul 05 2016

The scandal may be happening, but i have loved every minute of having my passat. Heater core recall just came out, so you may need to get that fixed, but it handles well. gas can be touchy, but it's been awesome. I have a TDI model, and i love the gas bill.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passat TDI was a REALLY smart choice!

by DuaneS from St George, UT on Wed Feb 21 2018

Fantastic car! TDI w/ manual transmission. 44 mpg over 97,000 miles. Very easy to work on. Fuel filter can be changed in 60 seconds flat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Went back to the Volkswagen side

by LoveMyPassat from Grafton, Wisconsin on Thu Jul 19 2018

Had to give up my Jetta last year due to "diesl-gate". Bought a different car of different make. Never really liked it. Plus it took over a year just to get a second key fob. Went in for 2nd fob when I was approached about trading in my car for a VW. Ended up with my Passat and absolutely love it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best made car I have ever owned.

by MU Tiger Fan from Liberty,Mo on Sat Jun 02 2018

Comfortable, fun to drive and fuel fuel efficient. It has al the options and comfort needed to have a fun filled relaxing drive, and also get 44 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15

Our Take on the 2015 Volkswagen Passat

Three model years after winning Cars.com's Best of 2012 Award, the 2015 Volkswagen Passat remains a compelling family sedan, offering above-average space, mileage, drivability and quality.

In Cars.com's recent test of 10 family sedans, the $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge, a Passat 1.8T SE took third place, an impressive showing behind two models redesigned for 2015: the first-place Hyundai Sonata Sport and the Subaru Legacy 2.5i Premium. The remaining seven contestants — which the VW dominated — have likewise been redesigned since 2012.

The Passat comes with a choice of three engines: a turbocharged, 1.8-liter four-cylinder in 1.8T models; a 3.6-liter V-6 in 3.6L models... Read More