2005 Phaeton

Consumer Reviews

2005 Volkswagen Phaeton

$1,662 - $14,478  MSRP Range
2005 Volkswagen Phaeton

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Volkswagen Phaeton?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Buy the Phaeton

by Phaeton Driver from Irvine, CA on Sun Jan 16 2011

The W12 Phaeton is a great car; impossible to upgrade and amazing to drive. Few, if any cars sold for under $100,000 today can come near this car in comfort or performance. If you have the choice between a Mercedes, BMW, or Phaeton.............purchase the Phaeton. You won't be disappointed. The W12 has an aura or mystique that is undeniable. You're in a special car, and everyone knows it; especially the BMW and Mercedes owners!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not for the average crowd

by Car Nut from Santa Barbara, CA on Tue Oct 25 2011

The Phaeton is the best value for the money in the used luxury car market today. Few, if any, cars can give you that exclusivity and performance. The W12 is an amazing motor with a turbine-like smoothness that cannot be matched by anything with 8 cylinders. Drive one and you will purchase it on the spot. I've owned mine for four years w/o any major problems. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for that "special" car and likes to fly under the radar.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stealth Bentley for 1/5 the cost.

by Ohio 2005 Phaeton from Boardman, Ohio on Wed Apr 11 2012

I've had our 2005 Phaeton for 6 months with zero problems. Amazing engineering. Interior matched by none, even Rolls and Bentley. The navigation might need an upgrade but it's a minor complaint for an extremely loaded vehicle. Massage and heat/ac in every seat with true 4 zone climate. It measures the humidity in all 4 zones and the chestnut covers on front vents open and close silently as required. Bentley frame, Audi A8 engine and over the top luxury that makes people take a second look. Especially the car folks who "know their vehicles" are fooled by the Phaeton.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the right person

by JB from Chicago, IL on Wed Mar 20 2013

This car is big, luxurious, well designed and built. It has a quiet smooth ride and is equiped with most everything I want. It is expensive to operate. I would not buy one if I was putting lots of miles on a car or wanted to spend as little as possible on a car. I live in Chicago and it is perfect for bumpy city roads and blocking out noise. It is a beautiful, comfortable cocoon to travel through town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing, Luxurious, Unique and Stealthy

by Tennis Nut from Fair Oaks, CA on Sun Jan 31 2016

Over the past 50 years, I've owned dozens of vehicles, from sports cars to RVs, including some luxury brands. The VW Phaeton stands out as the most comfortable and all-round capable car I know. In town it's like a limo. On the Interstate, it's a super cruiser. With the air suspension at max height, it even handles unimproved logging roads. The plus for me is, it's not a showboat. Everybody ignores it, like they would an old Passat. I don't even bother to lock it most of the time. The only drawback is operating costs. It's complex and gas hungry. Repairs are expensive. Buy an extended warranty along with the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Anonymous Luxury

by bc from Plano, Texas on Wed Dec 06 2017

Pride and joy. Usually unknown in North America, it was to be VW luxury model. It is built on a Bentley Continental chassis and suspension, has an Audi A8 drive train, aluminum and carbon fibre body and all the experimental VW gadgets. Some of features, soft close doors, insulated glass, selectable sport driving and suspension, TPMS, motor operated huge trunk, GPS, Heated and massaging leather seats front and back, fully motor adjustable, heated steering wheel, selectable dash display, HVAC individual for each passanger, Wood trim throughout, Memory seating also moves outside and rear view mirror, best radio/CD I have heard. Best advise is to google the Phaeton and see what is said.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Anonymous Luxury

by bc from Plano, Texas on Wed Dec 06 2017

Pride and joy. Usually unknown in North America, it was to be VW luxury model. It is built on a Bentley Continental chassis and suspension, has an Audi A8 drive train, aluminum and carbon fibre body and all the experimental VW gadgets. Some of features, soft close doors, insulated glass, selectable sport driving and suspension, TPMS, motor operated huge trunk, GPS, Heated and massaging leather seats front and back, fully motor adjustable, heated steering wheel, selectable dash display, HVAC individual for each passanger, Wood trim throughout, Memory seating also moves outside and rear view mirror, best radio/CD I have heard. Best advise is to google the Phaeton and see what is said.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

State of Art VW Pheaton

by PJ Ramirez from Houston, TX on Thu Feb 08 2018

This car surpassed my expectation. All the standard options are incredible. VW was ahead if its time when the car came out. I would recommend it for all the right reasons, and comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great new addition to may garage

by BostonSports fan from Boston , MA on Sun Apr 01 2018

Best luxury vehicle I have ever owned. I recently purchased this car and drove it from the dealer I bought it from in KY to Boston. The V8 performed wonderfully and I loved the stereo. I will be upgrading the stereo to handle my iPhone 6+ and this upgrade easily integrates into the existing screen so I can use my iPhone Nav & stereo. The back seat is a pleasure and I spent a few hours back there and am looking forward to being there with my wonderful wife. The rear view side mirrors and rear visibility are a bit limited without turning around but I bought convex mirrors and they helped tremendously. A true Bentley in a VW body . No bumper parking sensors on the one I bought and that I do miss and I will be putting in a rear view camera that also integrated into the Nav when car is placed in R. A hidden gem and a fine addition into my garage. Glad I got rid of my 2008 Range Rover for this automobile. Worth the flight and the 14 hour trip. Now I want the 4 seater. Make sure the timing belt has been done recently and these require transmission flush and radiator flush when you purchase car. Make sure this has been done in the last 70K miles. It's an expensive fix but you will love how long the car will last with this done. Also make sure you find a certified Phaeton Repairman, not too many around at VW or Audi dealers. I have found 3 dealers w/I 20 miles of me that service this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1