2006 Phaeton

Consumer Reviews

2006 Volkswagen Phaeton

2006 Volkswagen Phaeton

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

9 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Volkswagen Phaeton?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

the best luxury car ever

by Dave from Connecticut CT on Fri Oct 20 2006

This is the best luxury car ever more solid than a mercedes s and more fun than a BMW 7 take my word for it the only reason why it is not selling because it has a VW badge on it. If you are looking for something gorgeous and amazing to drive the Phaeton is your best bet so go and test drive one today and then you will see what I say is true

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What to look for

by Ph8ton from San Diego, CA on Sun Jan 09 2011

The V8 has transmission issues and should be avoided unless you like the headaches. The W12 is bulletproof but only gets about 14 mpg around town. You want to get some kind of warranty with any of these cars If you can find a W12 with the four seat configuration...BUY IT; one of the best cars in the world without question.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Phaeton

by Quality car enthusiest from New York on Fri Dec 21 2012

I read many reviews before buying that were consistantly 5 stars saying it was by far the best car they had ever owned, superior to Cadillac, Lexus, BMW etc. I wholeheartedly agree, it is superior to anything I have ever owned or driven. Cadillac STS would rate 3 stars in comparison and before this thought that was a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury Car

by Rfan from Dallas, Texas on Tue Aug 30 2011

I have only owned my pre-owned Phaeton for three months. It has a better ride and feel than the BMW, Mercedes, and Chrysler products I have owned. I like the fact that you don't see yourself every day on the road like the other cars I have owned. Unless someone is a VW owner, the car is un-noticed by most people. A comparable luxury car would have cost me double what I paid for the Phaeton.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most understated and overlooked car!

by VW Fan from Louisville, KY on Thu Jul 27 2017

I purchased a 2006 VW Phaeton in 2016 and have owned for one year. I drooled over this car for years even after VW stopped sales in the USA after the 2006 model. I finally was able to get a low mileage Phaeton in great shape. All I can say is WOW! VW really nailed this one. It's a shame that Americans are so label oriented that we cant enjoy the best car that has ever been made. Because of the VW badge no one really notices-unless they are an avid car person and know what this vehicle is capable of. I only wish I had purchased a new one. Fingers crossed that VW will bring back to the USA. Rumor has it that it is coming back but delayed....stand by. All I can say is if you are thinking about buying one, just do it. You will be happy every time sitting behind the wheel or as a passenger in the hotel room sized back seat. This car and its abilities is truly an amazing piece of machinery. Go get one and don't be afraid. Yes the maintenance cost can be a little much but this car will be good to you for years to come. Did I say "go get one"? Enjoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Lux Sedan Ever had

by Qi from CLifton Park, NY on Thu Jun 15 2017

I just bought a 2006 Phaeton from north NJ, which has only 38000 miles. I have put 6000 miles on it now & just schedule the next service. Overall it is the best lux sedan i have ever had. It is quite, fast & versatile. 1) Quite: It has double glass, soft material, thick blacket, powerful engine that keep low RPM. 2) Fast: 4.2 V8 makes it 0~60MPH in 6.5 sec. It is not the super car numbers but much faster than my audi Q7. 3) Versatile: its air suspension could adjust the ridge level. The result is that, phaeton could as comfortable as MB S550 or as sporty as BMW 5 series. It could also raise the body high by 10cm, which is helpful in offroad mud or in winter snow. (have never planned that)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car nobody ever knew about!

by Phaeton Dreamer from on Fri May 08 2009

Hands Down the Phaeton beats all competitors. It is hand made in it's own factory in Germany. It is unique blend of power and luxury! All wheel drive is standard not an option. If you are looking to drive a machine and not a car then you have to consider this car. Trust me. People don't know what it is and when they see you they stop and stare! People who own a phaeton are wheel informed and not looking for a badge like BMW, LEXUS OR Mercedes. See for your self.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Another German Car

by No VW from NY on Sat Feb 11 2012

To much money. To heavy. Not reliable. Expensive repairs. Overpriced. There are better cars for the money. There is a reason why it did not sell well in the states. In Europe you can get a V10 Turbo Diesel and the V6 Turbo Diesel. At the price range new, the Lexus LS 460 is a superior car. If you own on do not look at getting any money out of it when you sell it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Should be called VW "Phatal"

by Not a Sucker from Providence on Sat Oct 30 2010

The Phaeton is just another example of a VW failed scheme. I'll admit that the interior is nice, but for nearly 100k everything about this car is inferior. My company briefly leased one of these Phaetons and the first thing that went wrong were the automatic vents which were stuck closed. Imagine telling your friends that you paid 100k and can't even get air circulation in the car! EMBARRASSING! Here's a car that looks like a Buick with the usual refined ureliability that has made VW famous, and people wonder why it failed. VW has obviously found a couple of suckers to buy this car. They give it 5 stars of course. I give it 1 star. "Hasta La Vista Phaeton" or should I say Phatal.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2006 Volkswagen Phaeton

THE sun-scrubbed desert between Los Angeles and Las Vegas scrolls by with an empty whisper, a high-def silent movie panning past double-thick acoustic windows. East of Barstow, the Volkswagen Phaeton W12 is running at speeds best reserved for those with diplomatic immunity, and yet the big dreadnaught - with a 12-cylinder, 444-hp butter churn under the hood - is eerily unstrained, purring along in top gear, levitated on the four-corner air suspension. Scheherazade only wishes she knew such flying carpets.

What a machine. Born of a fever dream in 2002, the Phaeton was meant to be, in the words of then-VW Chairman Ferdinand Piech, "the best car in the world." And four years later, the Phaeton still commends... Read More