2004 R32

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volkswagen R32

$6,570 - $18,862  MSRP Range
2004 Volkswagen R32

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Volkswagen R32?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

R32 -- loads of fun

by DC from central Texas on Sun Sep 13 2009

I wanted something with good acceleration and excellent handling that wouldn't punish me when commuting. I find it easy to commute in this car because it is compact and has good low-end torque, so I am not constantly shifting to keep the engine in the power band. In typical traffic I skip a few gears when upshifting the six-speed gearbox. I'm getting about 24.5 mpg in my 25 mile commute from a rural area to downtown Austin. No doubt the AWD reduces economy a bit -- the car noticeably loses momentum when coasting compared to my last car, a 2000 BMW M5. While this doesn't have near the power to weight ratio of the M5 I find it lots more fun to drive and easier to live with, able to put power to pavement on greasy roads and less worries about sending going off in the weeds with the AWD and lighter car. It is very capable on a track, easily pointed using throttle along while cornering at the limit of tire adhesion, although the stock tire width seems challenged by the extra weight contributed by the AWD. Carrying capacity is good for a 2-door hatch (rear seats fold) and the Koenig seats in front are very comfortable. Pros -- plenty of power, very good brakes, and excellent handling. Reliable up to 80,000 mile so far with only an electric window motor needing replacement and a brake light switch recall. Excellent fit and finish. Very good paint and interior materials. Cons -- economy could be better, premium fuel requirement adds to cost of ownership, final drive ratio is a bit "short", so engine runs at a higher cruise rpm than some other V6 cars. Match between gearbox and engine is good but not perfect. Minor occasional rattles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

More Than Just a Step Up from a GTI

by Moose from Washington, DC on Wed Feb 23 2011

As a former GTI owner, I expected the R32 to be better, but not by this much. The car is absolutely flat through curves. The four wheel drive system eliminates torque steer. The tuned V6 accelerates as advertised. And when the vacuum operated exhaust valve opens up around 3500 RPM, the sound is a reminder that this car is different. It's very comfortable, too, although it takes some contortion to get in and out of. Overall, it's great fun to drive, and stealthy, too--no hood scoops or wings or flashy wheels.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW .:R32

by Race car from Wobur MA on Thu Dec 18 2008

This car is great it has always been my dream car. I love it it has alot of power and alot of syling its handling is like a race car. Just love it. If you need a car you shoude buy an VW .:R32.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOOOOD

by Jose from Puerto Rico on Fri May 06 2011

The car is very nice, Run very fast. The interior black semi-racing is fun. I like so much the car. The car has 240 Hp and feel good. The color tornado redis very inpresionant. Only in Puerto Rico 15 cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by tonedeaf from Chester, NY on Thu Jul 22 2010

This is my 4th car, 2nd VW and this is the best I've had thus far. As soon as I got back from the test drive, I simply knew I can not leave this place without this car. The exhaust note is unbelievable and you feed off of it. The acceleration is pretty good and you definitely get pinned to the seat when taking off. A little more HP would be nice due to the weight, but its still a very quick car nonetheless. The interior is simply amazing. Heated leather bucket seats that hug you around every turn and corner. These seats are very comfortable as well, I could take long trips in them and always be comfortable. The climate control is an awesome feature and the stock audio system is very good. If you ever get your hands on an R32, dont ever let it out of your possession. This car is definitely a keeper and will hold its value for a very long time. I know I'm not never letting it go. Its just a simply amazing car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best VW ever made

by R32 owner from OKC, OK on Fri Aug 07 2009

This is the 3rd VW I've owned. After over 3 years of ownership, I have never had any maintenance issues with it. The car is quick and the AWD keeps it planted on the road. Extremely difficult to break traction on normal roads. The seats cup your butt so you don't slide. This is a drivers car, for sure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 Volkswagen R32

by R32owner from Santa Rosa, Ca on Thu Dec 30 2010

I have owned and built over 25 gti, jetta's and rabbits, and none have come close to a stock R32. The factory built, balanced and blueprinted, punched, and stroked, VR6, is unmatched, in the world of performance vehicles. Handling is superp, and greatly improved with a set of bilstein coil overs. Braking equal to or better than most high end sports cars. And neck snapping acceleration, enhanced with and upgraded Revo flash. All this in a beautifully packaged factory upgrade GTI. 18 inch wheel fit perfectly in the wheel well, to round out the looks, handling, braking, and acceleration. The AWD system is excellent in snow, rain, or warm pavement. With 0-60 times in the high 5 second range, and a 14 second 1/4 mile, the R32 offers unmatched performance in a world of performance cars. Even with the performance numbers the R32 is quite a joy to drive. Once inside you are greeted with and interior that makes you want to drive the car for the simple joy of it. The seats are those typically found in an autocross car, matched with an inviting steering wheel, wrapped in leather. The Moonson sound system is a welcome addition to an already well designed car. Interior lighting and driver friendly controls, allow you to enjoy the ride, in a comfortable cockpit. The very reliable 3.2 liter VR6 runs flawlessly, matched with the AWD, 6 speed, to provide comfortable acceleration, from a dig, or to simply make a pass on the expressway. The exhaust note is that of a fire breathing dragon, with a feel that makes you want to give it more. Added with the enormous amount of factory feature, one of the best cars to own. One of the best cars to drive. And being that they only makes 5,000 if you can get a hold of one, I would highly recommend purchasing it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

too fast

by wrx sti, evo Killing R32 from rockville,maryland on Fri Jul 14 2006

this car is a beast it is a smal car with alot of hustle to i got mine with a twin turbo kit and im pullin out 450 WHP!! v8 eater 0-60=3.1 seconds, but realy this car is a very nice car even to drive dayliy it will get you there and back and even have fun. if you have it tip take it out in about 1-2 inches of snow too much fun!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great example of German Engineering

by Browsing from Richmond, VA on Fri Nov 12 2010

The VW R32 is a great touring car. While not as blistering as the Subaru Impreza STi or the Mitsubishi Evo, it will keep you comfortable during longer trips. I use mine for commuting and weekend fun and it is a great car. Tires make all the difference in the snow and inclement weather. Truly a joy to own, this is my second R32.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

groovy assed car

by marco1 from ireland on Fri Sep 29 2006

lovely to drive, very quick and sounds amazing. very comfortable and handles like a dream. when accelerating stays planted firmly and you feel a sense of confidence in the cars abilities. very happy with my r32....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2