2011 Routan

Consumer Reviews

2011 Volkswagen Routan

$3,366 - $15,882  MSRP Range
2011 Volkswagen Routan

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Volkswagen Routan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

volkswagen routan

by fats from sunrise volkswagen on Tue Apr 26 2011

good looking van and it drives really good olso comfortable the quality inside it looks good and drives really smoth to fancy for me but i like the it drives on turns

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A lot for the money

by trbochrg from boston, ma on Tue Nov 22 2011

We have had our 2011 Routan with RSE for just over 3 months. So far so good, comfortable for a long drive and the kids love the dual DVD screens where they can each watch their separate movies. My only concern so far is the interior rattles. Otherwise the powertrain feels strong and is fun to drive for a minivan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool for a van

by MB guy from Washington DC area on Fri May 20 2011

Drives and handles like a VW, looks a lot better than most vans. Very good fit and finish. Overall great value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST ONE YET

by VANSVEGO from WI on Sun Jul 03 2011

tHE ROUTAN IS A SMOOTH RIDE AND HANDLEING VAN. lOTS OF POWER IN THE 2011. gOOD GAS MILEAGE,GOT 23MPG ON LAST TANKFUL OF ALLAROUND TYPE DRIVEING. iNTERIOR IS VERY COMFORTABLE, EXCEPT FOR REAR FOLD DOWN SEATS. EXTERIOR HAS NICE LINES THAT MAKES IT STAND OUT FROM THE OTHERS.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall great car

by Rick from NC from Wilmington, NC on Sat Oct 05 2013

Have owned a 2011 SE for a little less than two years. The more I drive the more I like it. It's no secret that the Routan was built by Chrysler. Got about 26 MPG to Va and back - not bad for a vehicle this size. It's got plenty of power and handles very well. To me it's a great looking van. I like the looks of it a little better than the Town and Country and Caravan. However, I'm not crazy about the vinyl seats in the SE. VW Passat - type fabric would have been a lot more attractive. The big disappointment is the fact that VW discontinued the Routan in 2012. It just never caught on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by jenwatson32 on Wed Aug 16 2017

Very happy with my purchase. The whole family loves it and it's a very family friendly van. Lots of space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Value van

by Juniper17 on Mon Nov 20 2017

Great value van, reliable and comfortable. I purchased the care used in 2014 and it has been a great van. The only work needed is brake work and normal service.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Awesome price

by Jcortes812 from Dunwoody ga on Sat Sep 30 2017

Love it! Is a great awesome car i recommended to everyone!! It was a easy purchase and runs reat and smooth i think VW routan is a great van!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family van

by Ken from New Hampshire on Tue May 29 2018

Great family van that has met our expectations. Lots of space for our family of 7. Reliable and good to drive. Front wheels work well during the winter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

new to me car

by Dee from on Sat Apr 15 2017

just got car on road today, hoping for years of reliability. first time owner of this make and model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2011 Volkswagen Routan


In full disclosure, I didn't expect much from the 2011 Volkswagen Routan. My mindset going into this test drive was VW excels at making affordable sporty cars like the GTI and that cute Eos, not family cars. Furthermore, the Routan is a Volkswagen-ized version of the Dodge Grand Caravan and Chrysler Town & Country, two minivans that are often overshadowed in features and performance by their Japanese competitors like the Toyota Sienna and the Honda Odyssey.

After a week with the Routan, however, my mindset changed. The Routan has some natural cache to give it buoyancy in the market thanks to the incomparable Volkswagen branding strategy over the years. It also stands out because it has a particularly spacious... Read More