1997 CL

Consumer Reviews

1997 Acura CL

$1,940 - $4,328  MSRP Range
1997 Acura CL

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Acura CL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

wonderful car

by 97 Acura 3.0 CL from Pebble Beach, California on Mon May 18 2009

We bought this new, loved it from the day we saw it and still do. Very Very comfortable & spacious interior for tall or large people. Wonderful seats, easy controls, and excellent all-around visibility make this car more outstanding than anything else out there. We have shopped for a new car several times over the past four years, and every time after looking at everything, we always decide to keep the 3.0CL. It is as good or better than any new car out there. Ours has been dealer serviced and we expect to keep it for at least another 10 problem-free years. If you find one for sale, you cant go wrong with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All around great car, very reliable, very powerful

by Dan the Acura man from West Monroe, LA on Tue Dec 20 2011

This car has 192xxx miles, stock motor and tranny and has been driven very hard and still holds up. Only problems with the whole car is door window motors are weak. Very recommended car! I'm a very satisfied customer of Acura/Honda.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still a Great Car!

by Happy CL Owner from Dallas, TX on Fri May 19 2006

Date: May 2006 I recently bought a very clean '97 CL 3.0 Premium last month with 101K miles for 22% off original list and it is a wounderful ride. Runs & shifts very smoothly. Comfortable, quiet, quick and it should be good for another 100K miles without any major expense. And I can get 2 sets of golf clubs in the trunk easily, which is more than I can say about the 2002 Volvo S60 this car is replacing. I'll never buy another new car again. Only quality used cars good for 80K-100K+ miles after the original owner has taken 70%-80% depreciation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Love My CL! from Dallas, TX on Sat Apr 06 2013

I bought my 5-speed Cl in 1998 when it had 24,000 miles. Love this car & don't ever plan on selling it. Just got 26 mpg of combined city & highway in Dallas, TX. Just be aware that the ABS regulator is probably not working, as the replacement is $1,400 just for the part. Other than that mine is fully maintained including leather repair on the driver's seat, & recovering the console cover with added padding (which I highly recommend). I used to think the exterior styling was plain, however, now I think it's beautiful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cant go wrong

by DJR from NC on Fri Feb 12 2010

We've always been big on Hondas for many reasons. One day I may be able to afford a new, off the showroom Acura but until then, I'll settle on my 1997 CL 3.0. I bought this Acura with around 70,000 miles on it...it currently has 160,000 miles now, and is just as strong as its ever been. I've seen many reports of 97 models still running great in the 300k+ range. Its been as trouble free as our 2002 Accord. Replaced window motor, and brakes once. Keep the oil changed in these CLs and they'll drive forever. It has the reliabilty of any typical Honda, the luxury of a Lexus, the comfort of a lazy-boy and plenty of power, which we all like. The seats are roomy, and 2 adults can sit in the back without being too cramped. The Bose sound system has a decent quality sound. The heated seats are a plus during the cold months. The 200 HP Vtech is considerably quick and always fun to drive although stepping on the pedal comes at a price. Unlike the Accords and Civics, it doesnt get the best MPG. Didnt take long to notice this difference. Cant think of alot of changes I'd make except of course a 5-speed transmission and a more sporty exterior design. I'm thankful mine came with a spoiler. Without one these, the body style is somewhat bland to look at.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability is an understatement.

by scorpion00021 from Augusta, GA on Fri Jan 06 2017

Oh, where to start? My experiences with this car may have you questioning why I would rate it 5 stars, and I'll explain in the end. Bear with me. So I bought this vehicle used about 8 years ago for around $3000, in good running condition, the tires had a bit of a flat spot on them from sitting in the lot, but nothing to worry about. Since then, I've replaced my fair share of hardware. The battery and alternator were among the first issues, followed by the EGR valve, computer, and at one point I thought I was going to need to do transmission work, but it sorted itself out... somehow.. more on that later. The little things constantly break. The false wood trim is cracked on the doors, the radio no longer functions, the clock doesnt work, the passenger door handle doesnt operate from the inside or outside, the rear windshield de-icing button does little more than occupy space in the center control panel, the shift handle dislodged itself from the stick and vomited its spring loaded components all over my interior, the cigarette lighter socket came apart while I was unplugging a GPS and actually lit my carpet on fire while I was going down the interstate. So why the positive rating? This car has not stranded me. The powertrain, you know, the expensive bits? Thats all fine and showing no signs of failing. I tore the oilpan and mistakenly drove it BONE DRY on oil and when the motor was acting sluggish, I discovered this and added 4 quarts of oil and it kept going like nothing was wrong. Look, if you're even looking at buying this car, you arent in the market for luxury and all the bells and whistles anymore. Its 20 years old. If you want to get from A to B every day, this is your vehicle. I've been looking at new cars recently, but I'm going to have a hard time giving up such a die-hard vehicle. Bravo Acura, bravo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

rich

by rich from philly on Mon May 15 2006

its a nice first car i guess. i had an integra for a few months, then upgraded to the 3.0CL because it is a little bigger. it is nice it hasn't given me any problems, except the door handle broke once, but was replaced for under $100. it is a good car ill keep it for about 4 years. i just 100k, no problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

250,000 miles

by my guy from clearwater florida on Sat Nov 22 2014

bought with 250,000 miles now it has 269,000 miles on it in 8 months. its runs great, little repairs. i love it very happy with my $700 purchase

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Black Beauty just keeps runnin

by Honda Lover from ny on Thu Apr 05 2012

It's a 97 2.2CL, which has 199,XXX miles on it as of today. Still on the original clutch, motor, and transmission. Just brakes, tires, tunes ups, fluid and oil changes for this car. The body's a little beat up but she still drives well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun & Reliable - Great Combo

by Driving Enthusiast from Nashville, TN on Sat Aug 29 2009

I bought my 1997 5-speed 2.2 CL with 50,000 miles on it in 2002. Still driving it today without an issue & I'm up to 175,000 miles and expect to keep it for at least to 200K. Very comfortable ride, good for both around town and long highway trips. Have even been a passenger in the back seat for a long trip or two, and it really does fit 2 adults comfortably. Gas mileage is terrific. On long trips it averages 30 mpg, around town it's 25 mpg. Takes regular gas - a treat when the prices start rising. With a big trunk & plenty of room for storing "stuff" in the doors, behind the seats, the center armrest, etc., if you spend a lot of time in your car - this is a great choice. This car replaced the 1991 Integra I'd bought new and had for 150,000 miles. Acura/Honda makes a great product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Acura CL

Coupes are just not the preferred flavor of car right now.

Most of us want something with four doors, or something with four-wheel-drive, preferably a sport-utility vehicle or a pickup truck. Coupes, though sexy, just don't fit in with kid-laden lives, and they for darn sure won't haul your boat.

But suppose for a second that you did want a coupe.

Consider the Acura CL, the car that gets my nomination for the most-overlooked vehicle in America.

Introduced last year after the Legend coupe -- in fact, the entire Legend lineup -- was discontinued, the CL is worth a look on several points:

It doesn't look like it came from the same set of cookie cutters that seem to stamp out a lot of the cars with... Read More