1998 CL

Consumer Reviews

1998 Acura CL

$1,913 - $6,353  MSRP Range
1998 Acura CL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Acura CL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

"Most Reliable Car I've Owned"

by Mannyfresh from Washington, D.C. on Tue Apr 29 2008

I have driven a 1998 Acura Cl 2.3 all over the east coast on a weekly basis for the past 3 years and never once has this car failed me. Other then regular maintenance the only thing i have changed is the battery and that was only because my amplifier draws to much power.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All is well with Acura CL

by M Brown from San Jose, California on Wed Aug 19 2009

We have a 3.0CL and liked it so much we bought a 2.3CL months later. Both are outstanding. Very different cars to drive, but either is a wonderful choice. The 2.3 is light, fun, super quick, and has a very smooth ride. The 3.0 is heavier, even more luxurious with BOSE & heated seats, is extra quiet, & rides like a limosine. WE love them both and couldn't be happier with them. Great high-end features, comfort,& performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent quallity car...

by thecarguy1956 from philladelphia, PA on Thu May 24 2007

i've owned my CL now for 8 years and besides having to replace the passenger seat i have yet to have any major problems. honda makes a very reliable engine and it shows in mine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Kept Secret

by K. C. from Phoneix, Ariz on Thu Jan 19 2012

This car is the best kept secret. It is fabulous car, it couldnt be more reliable. And its roomy and very nice to look at too. Great interior space, big trunk, great on gas, and always starts and gets us where we're going. Most reliable car ever. Best kept secret because it has reliability and low operating expense, yet it is comfortable, well equiped, and luxurious. Our milieage is getting close to 200k and the engine is quiet and smooth as can be. It just keeps running and everyone thinks the car is new because it looks so good..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car

by jhub145134 from sebring,fl on Tue Apr 04 2017

i just bought a 1998 cl 3.0 v6 ive always wanted a first gen cl but being from new England they are hard to find not rotted out but I just moved to fla and found a very clean one in tampa and got it ,it has 170k and u would never know it runs great and has now problems im in love with the car and plan on redoing it so its like brand new I highly recommend this car to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Reliable car I enjoyed driving.

by Bran from Atlanta, GA on Thu Jun 15 2017

This car is low maintenance and fun to drive. I recommend any 1st time drivers or budget friendly consumers to consider purchasing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car

by Slyfox from Tacoma on Mon May 01 2017

Reliable car. Despite its age, the car has alot of life left in it! I bought the car when I was in the military and stationed in Arizona. I purchased it from one of my superior officers. He was the original owner and it was in overall good shape when I purchased it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Acuraguy from on Mon Apr 10 2017

Love everything about it, eventually I will fix minor details. The body without the tail fin is better for me I love the cruise control & the bose stereo along with the leather seats & heated seats with sunroof.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ACURA CL.3.0. ONE OF THE BEST!

by LAUREN from BRONX on Wed Jun 10 2009

MY DAD GOT THIS FOR ME AFTER I GRADUATED HIGH SCHOOL 4 YEARS AGO. THE MILEAGE WAS WAY LOW AND THE CAR WAS NICE IT HAD A REFLECTING LOOK, METALIC GREEN. I CHANGE THE OIL AS EXPECTED AND WHEN ME AND MY FRIENDS GO OUT WE HAVE A GOOD TIME. NEVER FAILED ME ONCE. VERY RELIABLE AND SUPER COOL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No One Believes It Isn't New

by Mark from Clarksville, MD on Fri Aug 21 2009

I have had mine for 3 years now. It was very well taken care of and looked and ran like new. Had 78,000 on it when I bought it and now has 122,000 and the main issue is it is leaking tranny fluid. I think it is just a gasket. The driver window did fail, which I understand is a known issue with the car. For an 11 year old car, it is amazing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2