1999 CL

Consumer Reviews

1999 Acura CL

$1,207 - $4,783  MSRP Range
1999 Acura CL

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 1999 Acura CL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

VERY comfortable inside and so WONDERFUL to drive!

by doctor4u from Los Angeles, CA on June 12, 2007

This car offers the best combination fo everything in one car. The seats are very very large and are very confortable. The leather is super soft and smooth, and the padding is just perfect. Everything works well and is easy to operate. The car is one of the most attractive cars on the road. (Right up there with Mercedes CL.) It is classic and formal, yet sporty looking. The ride is like a cloud, yet controlled. The car is very quiet. We would buy this car again in a heartbeat. The 3.0 models in 1999 have beautiful wheels with at least 10 spokes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well balanced in all areas,

by Andy from Beverly Hills, CA on December 26, 2006

Beautiful and unique styling that looks like a prototype of a car of the future. Detailed elegant lines, super comfortable interior both ride and seats. One of, if not the most favorite, vehicle we have ever had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our favorite out of ALL makes. Acura CL

by R. Cohen from Monterey, California on February 26, 2009

Exceptionally comfortable. Exceptional ride. Extremely smooth and quiet. Beautiful styling. Roomy backseat and trunk. 2-door coupe styling. All the convenient features you could want. Excetional visibility all-around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by Acura Lover from New Jersey on December 13, 2008

I have had this car now for five years, and would still hold on to it, but beginning to have problems with it. I have test driven a few other cars, but after driving this car, it has spoiled me to get another Acura. It still drives like a dream on the highway, so fast, so smooth, so comfortable. I would certainly recommend it to all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A lot of bang for your buck

by Cawb1617 from Southern New Jersey on August 28, 2006

Very decent gas mileage considering how quick it was. Very comfortable on long trips. Could of used a little bit of updated styling in the interior but guess you can't get everything.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.

by Personal Trainer from Pleasanton, California on January 19, 2012

We 're the second owner of this CL and we just love it. It is the best car and is so reliable. Never has it given us any kind of trouble. '99 for certain is definitly a good year for this car. We have never had a better car. This car is very comfortable, it has great visibility while driving, super strong Air Conditioning, great factory radio. Everything is top quality and design on this car. Drives and handles wonderfully. We are spoiled with it and are still not selling it. Have put on 150k miles and it still runs strong and like new. A real gem of a car and top-notch refinement and quality.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast, smooth, great bang for the buck!

by Speedy Gonzales from Seattle , WA on February 2, 2011

Love this car, purrs at 120 like your going 75 and yet decent mileage. Has all the bells and whistles that most new cars still lack.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car So Far

by Fast Luxury Coupe Luver from Youngstown oh on November 16, 2015

Fast, Precise, Comfy, Luxurious. Great gas mileage. Easy to maintain. Never had to repair any engine or electrical issues. Love Love Love this car forever. I highly recommend

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Sporty, Trusty 2.3CL

by fstrdr from Toronto, ON on January 6, 2013

I owned my 5 spd Black 2.3CL since 2006, when it had 68,000 km. Now, with 213,000 km on it, it keeps on going. Except for the odd issue, like starter, alternator, brakes, it hasn't given me any issues. I have done some custom suspension work on it as well as a cold air intake and chip to improve performance, and it hasn't disappointed. Honda was smart enough to introduce VTEC (variable valve timing) much earlier, in 1993 or '97 I believe, before any other manufacturers, like the Domestics, thus the fuel economy has been there and still is from the beginning. I average, 32 mpg or better any day, on a 14 yo car. I dare anyone to compare. Honda also didn't try to trick us, like the Domestics, into buying cars that don't actually get what they say, or misusing the highway mileage as the average. I am happy, I have to part with it because I would like something newer, otherwise it has been a great, fun car, with the little luxuries that Acura affords.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Ride

by Corpo from Arizona on May 4, 2013

Best used car I have driven. Performs excellent and is a lot of fun. Quick and precise. Love it. WIll keep it until it dying days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Acura CL

With its new '99 3.2 TL, Acura regains the momentum it had all those years ago with the debut of the legendary Legend.

Since then Acura has:

Bought a sport-utility from Isuzu rather than create its own.

Switched a perfectly decent name like Legend and its other cars to alphanumeric monikers such as RL, TL and CL. That's what BMW and Lexus do and Acura wanted to make sure it was a follower and not a leader.

Produced an odd-looking, under-powered car like the CL coupe and failed to quickly update its entry-level model, the Integra.

The new TL helps erase those past mistakes. It's a fabulous car that's priced to make a deep stab into the territory where BMW 328s, Lexus ES 300s and Mercedes C280s... Read More