2001 CL

Consumer Reviews

2001 Acura CL

$1,299 - $6,471  MSRP Range
2001 Acura CL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

34 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Acura CL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car After 118,000 Miles

by Quality Engineer That Loves Reliable Cars from Bonny Doon, CA on Fri Jun 13 2008

My 8 year old red CL-S still looks sleek and fast. The styling has always been understated with no gimmicks, and will probably not look out-of-date 10 years from now. On the highway it cruises at 70 at 1900 rpm. I've twice measured 400+ miles on a tank (31 mpg). Its fast, a blast to drive in the mountains, and very comfortable - the seats are fantastic. Great Bose sound system too. The car has been absolutely trouble free - except for the well known transmission issues. Acura first doubled the transmission warranty to 100,000 miles, and did a recall to improve lubrication flow. When my car started to have mild transmission symptoms, Acura replaced the transmission at 105,000 miles with no argument, even though the warranty had expired. In 24 years my wife and I have had 2 Hondas and 2 Acuras. We kept each of them for at least 8 years and 110,000 miles. Prior to that I had a rapid succession of BMW, Porsche and Audis - none were kept for much over 3 years. Very likely we'll be buying a Honda Fit or Civic next.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura CL 3.2 Type S

by CL freak from Huntington beach, CA on Thu Nov 10 2011

One of the best cars Acura ever made and they are idiots for not making another one just cause they didn't know how to market it. dumb advertiserd. I could have sold 100,000 of them in the 3 years yet they could only sell 37K world wide. Best luxury 2 door coupe made for under 30K$ !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 CL-S

by F1FLagger from NE PA. on Tue Jul 24 2012

Owned my CL-S since new Now with 235,000 on the clock. Without question the MOST reliable Car I have ever owned. Oil change @5000mi. With Mobil 1 and standard maintainability is all that is needed. Fabulous seats! 29-30 mpg on the highway what more can you ask for!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All around great car

by Vetteman on Fri Jan 19 2018

This car has a lot of luxury options for the year and money. Very comfortable and reliable. When purchasing pay attention to the transmission which had issues. Engines are very strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing car for the money!

by estepper from Montana on Mon Jun 29 2009

I can't say enough good things about this car! Fun to drive, well built, gas mileage good for a v-6. I love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura CL Coupe S-type

by Jaye_black1 from Raleigh, NC on Sun Sep 25 2011

Great car for the money. The Acura CL has proven to be reliabilty and sporty at the sometime. I love the interior design, and the handling on my CL is awesome. I have had some manufacture defects, i.e. review mirror auto dimming fluid leakage The SRS light coming on for no reason. Other than this minor issues I have enjoy my car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura cl type s

by Acura cl type s from South Florida on Thu Mar 05 2015

This cars have the worst transmission in the world over all the car is great just get ready to buy anew tranny after 70k miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice driving and handling

by drive em like I stole em. from Cleveland ohio on Sat May 10 2014

Car runs like a fine tuned top. Bought mine, one owner 171,504 miles. Bought it for my son, wife and I are both hoping he doesnt like it. We both want it, drives better than our Audi S4, not as much horsepower, but drives nicer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CL Type S - Almost perfect

by Redtypes from Providence, RI on Thu Aug 10 2006

Pros: 260 hp, HID lights, dual power and heated leather seats (with driver memory) auto dimming mirror, Bose sound system, stability control, moonroof ect... No other vehicle comes close to giving you all those features anywhere near it's price. The reliabilty has been outstanding and people stare everywhere I go. The Type S is well worth the extra money. Cons: Well known transmission problems. I have had the recall done and will keep my fingers crossed. Also, the paint does seem to chip easily. Overall, it is an outstanding car. It's power, features, styling, and reliability are top notch and I am now an Acura customer for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent fun vehicle with great gas mileage

by first coupe from middleton, wi on Sun Mar 07 2010

Very smooth acceleration and overall performance. All interior instrument controls are high quality. Love black leather seating which is very comfortable. Surprising amount of luggage room in trunk for a coupe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2001 Acura CL

Acura-style luxury, rock-solid engineering, pin-me-to-the-seat performance.

What do you think? Maybe $40,000.

Nah, probably more like $45,000, right?

OK, many of us can remember buying houses for what we pay today for cars. But the sticker on the tested 2001 Acura 3.2CL Type S coupe jumped out at me -- an entirely easy-to-swallow $30,785 (the only addition to the manufacturer's suggested retail price being a $455 destination charge).

I did a triple-take. Surely that's a mistake. This is an Acura luxury performance couple for crying out loud!

No mistake. The all-new-for-2001 3.2CL Type S coupe actually puts luxury, serious technology and road-worthy muscle within financial reach... Read More