2001 CL

Consumer Reviews
2001 Acura CL

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

34 Reviews
2001 Acura CL
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car After 118,000 Miles

by Quality Engineer That Loves Reliable Cars from Bonny Doon, CA on June 13, 2008

My 8 year old red CL-S still looks sleek and fast. The styling has always been understated with no gimmicks, and will probably not look out-of-date 10 years from now. On the highway it cruises at 70 at 1900 rpm. I've twice measured 400+ miles on a tank (31 mpg). Its fast, a blast to drive in the mountains, and very comfortable - the seats are fantastic. Great Bose sound system too. The car has been absolutely trouble free - except for the well known transmission issues. Acura first doubled the transmission warranty to 100,000 miles, and did a recall to improve lubrication flow. When my car started to have mild transmission symptoms, Acura replaced the transmission at 105,000 miles with no argument, even though the warranty had expired. In 24 years my wife and I have had 2 Hondas and 2 Acuras. We kept each of them for at least 8 years and 110,000 miles. Prior to that I had a rapid succession of BMW, Porsche and Audis - none were kept for much over 3 years. Very likely we'll be buying a Honda Fit or Civic next.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura CL 3.2 Type S

by CL freak from Huntington beach, CA on November 10, 2011

One of the best cars Acura ever made and they are idiots for not making another one just cause they didn't know how to market it. dumb advertiserd. I could have sold 100,000 of them in the 3 years yet they could only sell 37K world wide. Best luxury 2 door coupe made for under 30K$ !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 CL-S

by F1FLagger from NE PA. on July 24, 2012

Owned my CL-S since new Now with 235,000 on the clock. Without question the MOST reliable Car I have ever owned. Oil change @5000mi. With Mobil 1 and standard maintainability is all that is needed. Fabulous seats! 29-30 mpg on the highway what more can you ask for!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All around great car

by Vetteman on January 19, 2018

This car has a lot of luxury options for the year and money. Very comfortable and reliable. When purchasing pay attention to the transmission which had issues. Engines are very strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing car for the money!

by estepper from Montana on June 29, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this car! Fun to drive, well built, gas mileage good for a v-6. I love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura CL Coupe S-type

by Jaye_black1 from Raleigh, NC on September 25, 2011

Great car for the money. The Acura CL has proven to be reliabilty and sporty at the sometime. I love the interior design, and the handling on my CL is awesome. I have had some manufacture defects, i.e. review mirror auto dimming fluid leakage The SRS light coming on for no reason. Other than this minor issues I have enjoy my car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Acura cl type s

by Acura cl type s from South Florida on March 5, 2015

This cars have the worst transmission in the world over all the car is great just get ready to buy anew tranny after 70k miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice driving and handling

by drive em like I stole em. from Cleveland ohio on May 10, 2014

Car runs like a fine tuned top. Bought mine, one owner 171,504 miles. Bought it for my son, wife and I are both hoping he doesnt like it. We both want it, drives better than our Audi S4, not as much horsepower, but drives nicer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CL Type S - Almost perfect

by Redtypes from Providence, RI on August 10, 2006

Pros: 260 hp, HID lights, dual power and heated leather seats (with driver memory) auto dimming mirror, Bose sound system, stability control, moonroof ect... No other vehicle comes close to giving you all those features anywhere near it's price. The reliabilty has been outstanding and people stare everywhere I go. The Type S is well worth the extra money. Cons: Well known transmission problems. I have had the recall done and will keep my fingers crossed. Also, the paint does seem to chip easily. Overall, it is an outstanding car. It's power, features, styling, and reliability are top notch and I am now an Acura customer for life.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent fun vehicle with great gas mileage

by first coupe from middleton, wi on March 7, 2010

Very smooth acceleration and overall performance. All interior instrument controls are high quality. Love black leather seating which is very comfortable. Surprising amount of luggage room in trunk for a coupe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2001 Acura CL