NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2002 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2002 Acura MDX

$1,760 - $6,232  MSRP Range
2002 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

27 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by JM from Vancouver, WA on Tue Aug 01 2017

I love my Acura MDX. It runs like a champ. Hasn't had any issues...just regular maintenance. It is now almost at 200,000 miles and I fully plan to keep it going. Will need to change the timing belt again and I am sure it can run for another 100K. Just make sure you keep up on oil changes and other recommended maintenance and this car will treat you well. In my opinion, you can't go wrong with Hondas and Acuras and my MDX is no exception. The AWD is underrated and way better than I expected. Doesn't get stuck anywhere. It got me out of a foot of snow with no problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun family sport utility

by 2002Z28owner from fort worth, TX on Mon Jun 26 2017

My daughter has owned this car for about 13 years. It's in fantastic condition with a flawless interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MDX is the best

by B&B on Sun Aug 26 2018

The MDX is a great vehicle; very reliable and inexpensive to maintain, even at nearly 17 years old. The AWD handles heavy rain so well, almost no hydroplaning. We only sold it because we were ready for some modern features that were not available in 2002.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by dkladklsakld from Springfield, MO on Sun Nov 25 2018

Owned for 12 years, only had to repair AC though transmission issues came up around 150k. Touring edition full leather seats rival current $80,000 luxury SUV seats especially if you kept them conditioned all these years =)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The MDX is 100% a highway car for long distances

by Acurasforever from NYC NYS on Mon Jul 29 2019

Reliable withstands car crashes parts are expensive gas mileage is fair but she flies the highways very comfortable high up car is solid Always reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable

by Brian from RI on Sat Jul 06 2019

No mechanical issues. Nice ride. 17 years old. Use it to pull a small trailer camping and as a 2nd vehicle. AWD has no trouble in snow, mud, sand, wet grass.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very durable car

by Shakes from Mineola, new york on Mon Jul 23 2018

Very durable, spacious, comfotrable, good on gas and miles. I would recommend this SUV to anybody looking for something reliable, steady, and very roomie. Great on highway miles

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great car

by dDuck from Lexington Ky on Thu Aug 17 2017

Very good room for big family and nice room to haul thing around in it enjoyed owning this car has new tires goes very good in snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Budget SUV on the Canadian Market

by PMA2296 from Markham,ON on Wed Apr 19 2017

This car is phenomenal! I have owned it since 2006 and still drive it as my daily driver in 2017. it has a couple of rust spot near the rear wheel arches, but still goes strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Tranny problems

by lemon anyone? from NY on Wed Jun 11 2008

I shopped for a Toyota and ended up with the MDX. Although I loved the car for the biggest part up until now, I have to say that I am extremely disappointed to find that I need a new transmission at 100,000 miles. That would be expectable if this was a Ford, but I expected to see this car go at least 150,000 before I had to change the tranny. After reading up on the Acura "blogs", I now find out that Acura had increased the size of the engine, thereby cutting back on the size of the tranny. The '02 & '03 Acura's are apparently known for this problem. Unfortunately, Acura doesn't want to hear about the problem. I am now shopping for that Toyota I should have purchased 4 years ago.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

42 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3