2008 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura MDX

$6,985 - $16,461  MSRP Range
2008 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

54 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2008 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Aucra MDX

by SPECEL ED from Potomac Falls, VA on May 10, 2010

I have a 2008 and I love this SUV. I've owned a Highlander, Explorer and a Redeo and this truck is by far the best. Granted it is a better quality to begin with. Handling for a SUV is great. Fast, comfortable and gets 21MPG combined city/highway around Tysons Corner VA.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wife's Car

by Shade Tree Mechanic from Denver on May 15, 2011

Purchased an 08 MDX, with 45K on it, drives like a dream, has Nav., DVD in the rear, and the power tail gate. Seats are very comfortable, the heated seats are wonderful, not too hot, just right! My wife loves being seated higher than the 4 door Infiniti that we had. The controls are placed in very good positions, and the suv has no rattles or noises at all. Going down the highway, the car is very quiet, all in all a very nice suv, just wish it got a little better gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far Perfect

by Nikki from Denver on December 27, 2009

I had my MDX for 2 years now, and so Far Love it. Love all the Features the easy Navigation, Stereo System, the Remote Control Left gate, I am also starting to use many of the Voice commands(very Cool. I had no issues with my MDX at all. the Super handling 4 wheel drive system is GREAT and sure footed on Colorado Snow and Icee roads. I learned to trust this SUV in adverse weather conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!!!!

by Acura Acura from Mount Laurel, New Jersey on November 30, 2007

I have owned a 2000 Lexus RX 300, 2004 Acura MDX, 2006 Toyota 4 Runner and now the 2008 Acura MDX for a month and I love the car since I first had it as a loaner. It is a vast improvement over the previous MDX models (prior to 2007). The handling, speed and interior design are awesome. Love the manual/automatic transmission. The sound system, navigation system and HFL are also extraordinary. Would buy this car again in a heartbeat and would recommend this vehicle to anyone who loves driving and wants an awesome (did I use this word yet?) experience!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MDX - I'm loving it

by Jumpman22 from West Palm Beach, FL on December 27, 2011

Purchased a 2008 MDX a little over a month ago but have been putting it through its paces and love it! The body style has changed slightly since 2008, have added a roof rack and will be adding running boards soon. Needed a vehicle with 3rd row seating, luxury feel and good resale without being to big or truck like for my wife to feel comfortable driving. This is a perfect fit! Handles great, quick, love the AWD. We took it on a road trip 3 weeks in and it was so comfortable and nice for a 1,000 mile drive. The MDX looks great, drives great, handles, and comes equpeed. After MUCH searching it was a no-brainer. I also considered BMW X5 and Audi Q5 and Q7.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate driving machine !

by the hard to please driver ! from KY on October 9, 2007

I am very hard to please driver , I did drive Mercdes M, BMW X5, and other SUV , By far this is the best driving machine ! It combined easy handling (when driven by my wife)and will satisfy the aggresive driver as well . The sound system is superior, I actually enjoy it more than my Bose surround system at home , It is packed with so many advanced tech features that is not even advertised by Acura !! I feel lucky having taken that test drive , I ended up in getting the 2008 MDX with sport/techn/ rear DVD , my only take on Acura is that the parking sensors are not standard ..but even after spending $600 on these sensors , Its an excellen deal . even compared with other SUVs in the $$75,000 range ...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Roadtrip Car

by LP Family from Opelika, AL on March 28, 2012

I went from a 05 Infiniti G35 to the 08 MDX to accomodate my 3 kids when we travel. The kids love it. It's comfortable with lots of leg room. My 5yr old love the 3rd row seat. I highly recommend this car for family with small children. The only bad thing I would say about this car is the gas mileage on it when I'm driving in the city. Other than that it's wonderful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Auto Enthusiast from Mcallen, TX on March 21, 2011

MDX is a phenomenal vehicle. Luxurious, great performance for an SUV, reliable, and about the best resale value you can find. Third seat is not very accessible when 2 carseats are in 2nd row.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stylish, reliable, modern, comfortable.

by Mb on November 4, 2017

Exceeded expectations. The MDX is an incredibly reliable car from a trusted brand. For a 2008 it is loaded with fun and useful features not standard in many other cars of the same age. It is tremendously roomy. The trunk offers ample space for groceries even with the 3rd row of seats up. The back seats are comfortable, with plenty of head and leg room. Despite being a large SUV it offers great visibility and maneuverability. The backup camera is a useful addition! The nav. screen is easy to read and the controls are intuitive to use. The sound system with Dolby Sorround Sound is incredible. Can’t say enough good things about this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money, high miles don't matter.

by John Des Moines from Des Moines on December 11, 2017

I've owned 2 volvos, 2 benz, and some basic US cars. All got really expensive as they got over 100,000 miles. Not my Acura MDX. Not a single rattle and everything works just like the day it was new, even at 140,000 + miles. I'm selling mine to buy a newer one with all the new safety equipment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2008 Acura MDX

Editor's note: This review was written in September 2006 about the 2007 Acura MDX. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The MDX, Acura's seven-seat luxury SUV, has been completely re-engineered and redesigned for the first time since its 2001 debut. A Cars.com Best Bet for as long as we've awarded the honor, the MDX was ahead of the curve in this category, offering seven seats as standard equipment and luring buyers away from the Lexus RX (which still has only five). My one-day drive of the 2007 model revealed that the MDX retains all the positive attributes for which Acuras are... Read More