2012 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2012 Acura MDX

$11,832 - $24,788  MSRP Range
2012 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

50 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Another great car...

by MDX Man from West Chester, PA on Wed Apr 11 2012

This is the 3rd MDX we've owned and the 2012 is, by far, the best yet. The biggest improvement is the 6 speed transmission which was my biggest dislike from our 2009 MDX. While the exterior has only changed slightly, the interior refinements are really nice like the LED interior lighting, hard drive for your personal music and other light things. While the MDX Tech / Entertainment package we have isn't cheap, we know what we're getting. In the 10 years we've owned the MDX's, we've never had a single mechanical or electrical issue. Can't ask for anything more!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Engine eats oil.

by DaveM1949 from Atlanta, GA on Tue Apr 25 2017

I recently bought a used 2012 Acura MDX to replace a 2007 MDX. Had high expectations for the car until the first 2000 miles passed. - THEN the Check Oil at dealer warning came on. Very long story short. Thought at first the prior owner had not serviced the oil and engine properly - but NO - the engine is well-known by owners and Acura to have a defect in the ring/cylinder design that causes a VERY high oil consumption. Like a quart every 1000 miles. Acura issued a Technical Service Bulletin in July 2016 about dealers providing "goodwill consideration" in trying to appease irate owners. Long story short: They changed the engine design to have a certain aluminum coating in the cylinders - and the rings wear out from abrasion with the finished cylinder. There are attempts at getting a class-action lawsuit by a legal firm - and not sure where that will end up - but I've already registered with the law firm. The J37A engine is the consistent problem - in other Acura models as well. Solution: trade the car or replace the engine. Not a pretty picture. So I am trading ASAP. Heavier oil than the recommended 5W-20 could cause far greater issues in the engine. Statistics are showing that over 11% of the J37A engines have SEVERE oil consumption issues - rumor has it that rings were installed incorrectly at the factory. My 2007 MDX had a different version of the engine and never used oil. They changed to the J37A in 2008 and continued with it through at least 2014. I have no idea how reviewers have missed this - especially Consumer Reports. Acura is claiming it is normal to add a quart of oil at 1000 miles. Right...!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great value

by dray from chicago,IL on Mon Mar 19 2012

My wife and I love our new mdx. Very sporty and very luxurious inside. Handles great. Space is what we were looking for than going to a bigger suv. Every acura seems to be loaded and you don't have to puchase an upgrade which we liked. So happy car shopping.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better gas mileage than expected

by Globalnr from Cincinnati Oh on Sat Jul 28 2012

I have had the MDX for a month now, and took mt first road test from Cincinnati to Niagara Falls. Surprise! We got 24 mpg on the hwy, averaging 70 mph. Was not expecting this. I wonder if Acura/Honda tweaked the engine mid year to achieve this? Compared this to the Pilot and was worried about the gas mileage. Price was the same (acura base vs Pilot touring). Handles exceptionally well and can't believe the performance. Tough choice vs the two. Strengths: Performance, handling. comfort. Weakness: Very little room in 3rd seat, but workable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by New Acura MDX Owner from Philadelphia suburbs on Mon Jan 23 2012

We've only owned it for a month, but so far we really like our new MDX. We got the Advance package, which is loaded with all the bells and whistles, and it really is quite a step up from our (beloved but old) 2004 Honda Pilot. We are still learning how to use all the electronic voice command features, etc, but the driving experience is great. More car-like in its handling than most SUVs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Does everything well

by Chip from San francisco on Sat Aug 04 2012

It's not the biggest, fastest, best looking or most luxurious 7 pass SUV, but it's good at all these things. Our decision came down to the GMC Acadia or the MDX. The Acadia just feels too big to drive. The MDX is much sportier. While the MDX's 3rd row is less useful, we seldom use the 3rd row.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just love it!

by koolken from MONTREAL CANADA on Sat Dec 22 2012

Just wish the technology package would include mexico in their teck pack. It s to bad that the dealers in canada are so greedy. I saved 10,000$ by purchasing this car practically brand new in the USA.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our new MDX

by Happy MDX Owner from Springfeild, MO on Wed Oct 17 2012

We drove the RDL and liked it a lot and considered a purchase and just for kicks we drove the MDX and guess what we drove home in our new MDX the same day. Great vehicle and Great working with the staff at the local ACURA dealership. We are into day our fourth day of ownership and still loving the great ride from the MDX. Thanks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love love love this car!!

by JP from Gainesville, FL on Sat Mar 16 2013

This is the most stylish, luxurious, high-performance, amazing car I have ever owned. It has exceeded my expectations and I cannot imagine owning any vehicle other than an Acura MDX in the future. It drives like a sports car but rides like a luxury car and has the safety and space of a mid-size SUV. AMAZING!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money. balanced package

by Suburban dad from Ridgewood, NJ on Sat Aug 17 2013

Wife and I shopped around a lot of different cars in class including Lexus RX, BMWX5, Infiniti JX. Each had their pros and cons, but looking at all, the Acura had the best balance of attributes. It was sporty enough (though cant compare to the X5's V8), spacious enough having an actually functional third row and the price was right cons include the crazy amount of buttons, the fuel economy and the blind spots.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2012 Acura MDX

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2010 about the 2010 Acura MDX. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the three model years.

For 2010, Acura's best-selling crossover — and one of the first-ever luxury crossovers — gets a bit better in terms of interior features and a whole lot better when it comes to technology. It also receives a slightly new front end that's less jarring than those on other Acuras. But the company couldn't make the MDX any bigger, and it's a snug fit for families — three rows of seats notwithstanding.

Even so, the MDX's driver comfort, fun-to-drive nature... Read More