1997 RL

Consumer Reviews
1997 Acura RL

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

7 Reviews
1997 Acura RL
4.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

215,000 miles and still rolling strong

by Acura fan from Fort Worth, TX on October 12, 2010

I have owned my 1997 Acura RL for about 5 years now and it is at about 215,000 miles and driving great. It has been very reliable especially considering the mileage, except for a known reoccuring issue with the car's EGR emission system. This issue haunts this year's model vehicle but is about the car's only real problem. It is somewhat easy to do self maintanence on and has a lot of features for an older , now, inexpensive car. Features like power windows, locks, leather seats, sunroof, keyless entry, and good power.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable but something may need attention

by RL fan from Los Angeles, Ca on April 23, 2012

All my cars are acura, starting from the my Sterling, then legend and RL. I have had 3 RLs, my opinions toward this car is : reliable on engine and trans. Let me remind you where the problems are easily from (1)rear coil springs (2)transmission (many idiots don't know they should use HONDA/ACURA trans fluid ONLY) (3)passenger sides window regulators (strangely, not driver side). I frequently helped friends' buying/selling cars, I really recommend this car, 1996~2002, almost same, parts not expensive. I am still driving it nowadays.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by Multiple Acura Owner from Central, VA on May 16, 2011

The '97 Acura 3.5 RL had 154,000 miles when I bought it and 168,000 when I sold it. I only had to change a couple of fan belts that were old and dried/cracking, and some type of exhaust sensor ($150). I got around 24-27 mpg on highway, and it rode smooth as can be, just like a two year old car. Some knobs and pieces in the interior were falling off/cracked/faded, etc. but ALL functions worked. It was a 14 year old car! Great reliability and performance for that year car. Great Car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not worth buying new.

by College Man from Virginia Beach, VA on June 23, 2006

Don't get me wrong, the car is fabulous, but those who spent $41,000 for it brand new is crazy. The car is just as nice, luxurious and dependable used (like i bought it) as it is new. This is my second car. I bought it 7 months ago when my 1991 Ford Probe decided to quit. This is definately a step up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a sweet ride

by Anon from Seattle on May 23, 2007

I bought the RL premium used in 2003, already 6 years old and not a problem since.. it is now 2007! Clean quiet ride with supurb handling and performance is there when I need it! Excellent comfortable drive for long distances and through the mountains. I would definately recommend this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable but...

by SeahawksWA from Washington on April 26, 2017

It handles like a boat, gets 14 mpg combined, and transmission is lacking on the performance side and has long term problems (like most)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and easy to drive

by Zex from Fresno, ca on April 27, 2018

Bought car used at over 280k miles and still runs like new. The engine is very smooth and very balanced car for front drive. One of my favorite cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 1997 Acura RL