2012 TL

Consumer Reviews
2012 Acura TL

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

71 Reviews
2012 Acura TL
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

3.7L SH-AWD Advanced

by wrm140 from SE Michigan on March 24, 2016

I owned the 2009 TL base before getting a CPO 2012 SH-AWD Advanced. I love that you can mash the accelerator and the power goes down to all four tires, eliminating the spin that plagued the FWD version. Versus the FWD version, SH-AWD has neutral cornering. The torque vectoring corrects the understeer, but you do need to goose the pedal since the system isn't activated unless there's a wheel turn and some throttle input. The ventilated seats on the advance are great with the perforated leather and three fan speeds. The ride on the low-profile 19" wheels is firm, but seemingly no firmer than the base model with 17" wheels, probably due to superior seat construction. The sound system on the Advance (like the Tech) is a nice upgrade from the base system, with more amp power, especially in the subwoofer, which gives the low end the reach that was missing on the base model. On the audio system, gone is the 16-character limit on song titles (vs. the base TL), the audio system sharing the nav screen displays 30+ characters. The nav system itself good, giving you decent prior warning before turns, on par with the iPhone's Maps turn-by-turn navigation. (My maps are out of date, but that's a liability of the car.) There is a nice inset in the nav display where it tells you what lane you need to be in to exit at a highway interchange. It is hard to find things to complain about. I have no complaints about the ride, acceleration, handling braking, etc. It's a great driver's car. My only complains are related to the electronics: (1) My biggest complaint is that when you are ripping a CD to the built-in hard drive, it encodes at a fixed 128 bps. Fine for audio books but not good enough for music. I prefer to rip at 256 or higher. (2) My second complaint is when navigating music through the iPod interface. When you are playing a track, you can hit Cancel to get back to the list of tracks on an album, but when you hit Cancel again, you do not get to the list of albums. You have to reselect the artist from the top of the list and drill down into the albums. If you were listening to ZZTop's Afterburner and want to switch to Eliminator, this is a pain. (3) Phone control: Dial by voice tag is a pain in the neck. it's easier and faster to dial a stored number by hitting a couple of buttons, with the aid of the nav screen. (4) Displayed album art is too small and not far enough to the right side of the display.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Practical - and a bit refined

by middle aged married 2 kids from VA on October 13, 2012

This car does evertyhing we need it to do and I bought it mainly for reliability reasons as I had a former 99 TL which actually had better get up and go IMO than this new one, but this 2012 is still good. The cooled seats are the best, don't even think about not getting them. They really improve the overall comfort level. The new technology in the Advance is a dream and it will change the way you drive by reducing stress. Dealers are 'dealing' on this car as I picked up the Advance (not SHAWD) package for $35.5. Yes - that's the truth so go and 'deal'.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive overall package!

by NP from Seattle on April 6, 2013

Started my car search wanting to buy Mercedez C300 4Matic with Navigation and Premium Package. After looking at the Merc, BMW 3-series, and Lexus ES350, I bought 2012 Acura TL. I was going to buy the 2013 model, but got an amazing deal on the 2012 Certified Pre-Owned and I bought the car with 5K miles on it. Excellent interior, pick-up, ease-of-use of all the tech package amenities, and the list goes on and on. I have had the car for less than a month, but I am super happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Refined

by Sporty Luxury from Ok on November 23, 2013

2012 Acura TL 3.5 Advance-is more car for your money compared to similar competitors. The exterior lines are smooth and pleasing Interior offers many features. Leather heated and cooled seats are comfortable. Cabin is spacious, and quiet even at high rpms. 6 speed AT has quick smooth shifting. Accelerations from standing start or to passing speeds are faster than expected. Handling is smooth and accurate. Steering is precise Fuel economy has been as predicted Trunk space an area of concern with other reviews- Is better than expected. Roomy and access easier than expected. Reasons for this purchase luxury vehicle, Long history of better than expected reliability. I find is important, I don't like spending money for unexpected repairs or having to purchase routine care or parts only from the auto maker dealerships only. The feature I appreciate more than expected is the blind spot indicator. Feature I don't like- Premium gas 91 octane or higher is recommended

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value for a luxury AWD car

by former Lexus owner from Englewood, CO on December 18, 2012

I just purchased a 2012 Acura TL Technology AWD. Excellent price compared to other comparable models. Much better back seat legroom than Infiniti. Too early to know about reliability, but I like it every bit as much as my old Lexus ES350. More features for less money and All Wheel Drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TL's Keep Improving

by Jerry from Denver, Colorado on August 5, 2013

My first TL was a '97 that I had for 16 years. This new TL is fantastic in performance, comfort and style. With 80 more horstpower and 2 more gears I am getting more mpg than with the '97. I purchased one with the Technology Package and am enjoying all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura is probably one of the underrated automobile

by Drive it like it is your last day from Lake Mary, Florida on November 23, 2013

Best banged for your money, more features, more value within car segment, higher resale value, superior service at seat dealer level ( IMHO ), Acura does stand by their product existing armrest which surface started to wrinkled. Honda should support Acura R&D a lot more so we can enjoy variety, features and technology at a higher level. You can't go wrong with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great certified Acura TL

by Foxyboy 33 from Cincinnati OH on October 6, 2013

Never owned a import besides one time drove a Mazda 626 many years ago that was it. Went back to American brands for a while until had a 2006 Impala was a piece of junk and lemon out of a lemonade decided switched back again until stopped at a Acura dealer looked at some certified cars found a affordable 2012 TL SH AWD with 23k miles was brand new from a lease return. The TL drives like a car I've never drove or owned before it's got the high technology and love the nice looking body styling it has from a smooth 6 spd transmission so smooth with a more adequate ride. The controls and settings are a plus with a voice activation navi and bluetooth settings the dashboard is very impressive and got a amazing sound system with available six month XM Sirius radio and the Bose kicks butts with the incredible crystal clear bass has all over the car interior. It's a sports car and Acuras are the most high end cars with a better value it holds with excellent quality and the performance it has as the Acura TLs are the most cars ever with a resale value ever. The car is a dream to drive and it's a comfortable ride with a quiet interior from more roomier space the seats are built are like NASA with the buckets inside with cooled and heated positions got. I'm now a Acura fan from driving this TL with high performance and a deep ride has with aggressive engine power with AWD makes more a fun car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura's, Are the best cars

by Just me from Fruita Co on December 6, 2015

This is our third Acura, the first a 2000TL we had little sluggish in the trans. 60.000 mls called the dealer they had us bring it in found ,that the tranny wasn't working properly and said we would need to have it replaced :/,... Good news they covered it ,Yeah,second 2008 TSX great car had it 5 years no problems,traded it for the third, 2012 TL Tech, Certified,in 2013, have had it 2 years now absolutely Love the Style, power, comfort, great cars all of them gas mileage has been very good, sometimes the service end is a little slow but all in all they are very good to work with,we did just have to take it to Denver from Fruita, to have the battery replaced it went bad ,covered under warranty . but the car told us,,, It's shame Honda snubs their nose at these cars, our local honda dealer, doesn't acknoldege them as part of them... THEIR LOSS...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Jeff from Baltimore, Maryland on December 14, 2014

Got a great deal when the original owner traded it with 30,000 miles. I have been very happy with the first month. Great performance, fair mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Our Expert Review: 2012 Acura TL