Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2012 TL

Consumer Reviews

2012 Acura TL

$8,415 - $20,275  MSRP Range
2012 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

74 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

3.7L SH-AWD Advanced

by wrm140 from SE Michigan on Thu Mar 24 2016

I owned the 2009 TL base before getting a CPO 2012 SH-AWD Advanced. I love that you can mash the accelerator and the power goes down to all four tires, eliminating the spin that plagued the FWD version. Versus the FWD version, SH-AWD has neutral cornering. The torque vectoring corrects the understeer, but you do need to goose the pedal since the system isn't activated unless there's a wheel turn and some throttle input. The ventilated seats on the advance are great with the perforated leather and three fan speeds. The ride on the low-profile 19" wheels is firm, but seemingly no firmer than the base model with 17" wheels, probably due to superior seat construction. The sound system on the Advance (like the Tech) is a nice upgrade from the base system, with more amp power, especially in the subwoofer, which gives the low end the reach that was missing on the base model. On the audio system, gone is the 16-character limit on song titles (vs. the base TL), the audio system sharing the nav screen displays 30+ characters. The nav system itself good, giving you decent prior warning before turns, on par with the iPhone's Maps turn-by-turn navigation. (My maps are out of date, but that's a liability of the car.) There is a nice inset in the nav display where it tells you what lane you need to be in to exit at a highway interchange. It is hard to find things to complain about. I have no complaints about the ride, acceleration, handling braking, etc. It's a great driver's car. My only complains are related to the electronics: (1) My biggest complaint is that when you are ripping a CD to the built-in hard drive, it encodes at a fixed 128 bps. Fine for audio books but not good enough for music. I prefer to rip at 256 or higher. (2) My second complaint is when navigating music through the iPod interface. When you are playing a track, you can hit Cancel to get back to the list of tracks on an album, but when you hit Cancel again, you do not get to the list of albums. You have to reselect the artist from the top of the list and drill down into the albums. If you were listening to ZZTop's Afterburner and want to switch to Eliminator, this is a pain. (3) Phone control: Dial by voice tag is a pain in the neck. it's easier and faster to dial a stored number by hitting a couple of buttons, with the aid of the nav screen. (4) Displayed album art is too small and not far enough to the right side of the display.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Practical - and a bit refined

by middle aged married 2 kids from VA on Sat Oct 13 2012

This car does evertyhing we need it to do and I bought it mainly for reliability reasons as I had a former 99 TL which actually had better get up and go IMO than this new one, but this 2012 is still good. The cooled seats are the best, don't even think about not getting them. They really improve the overall comfort level. The new technology in the Advance is a dream and it will change the way you drive by reducing stress. Dealers are 'dealing' on this car as I picked up the Advance (not SHAWD) package for $35.5. Yes - that's the truth so go and 'deal'.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Refined

by Sporty Luxury from Ok on Sat Nov 23 2013

2012 Acura TL 3.5 Advance-is more car for your money compared to similar competitors. The exterior lines are smooth and pleasing Interior offers many features. Leather heated and cooled seats are comfortable. Cabin is spacious, and quiet even at high rpms. 6 speed AT has quick smooth shifting. Accelerations from standing start or to passing speeds are faster than expected. Handling is smooth and accurate. Steering is precise Fuel economy has been as predicted Trunk space an area of concern with other reviews- Is better than expected. Roomy and access easier than expected. Reasons for this purchase luxury vehicle, Long history of better than expected reliability. I find is important, I don't like spending money for unexpected repairs or having to purchase routine care or parts only from the auto maker dealerships only. The feature I appreciate more than expected is the blind spot indicator. Feature I don't like- Premium gas 91 octane or higher is recommended

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive overall package!

by NP from Seattle on Sat Apr 06 2013

Started my car search wanting to buy Mercedez C300 4Matic with Navigation and Premium Package. After looking at the Merc, BMW 3-series, and Lexus ES350, I bought 2012 Acura TL. I was going to buy the 2013 model, but got an amazing deal on the 2012 Certified Pre-Owned and I bought the car with 5K miles on it. Excellent interior, pick-up, ease-of-use of all the tech package amenities, and the list goes on and on. I have had the car for less than a month, but I am super happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value for a luxury AWD car

by former Lexus owner from Englewood, CO on Tue Dec 18 2012

I just purchased a 2012 Acura TL Technology AWD. Excellent price compared to other comparable models. Much better back seat legroom than Infiniti. Too early to know about reliability, but I like it every bit as much as my old Lexus ES350. More features for less money and All Wheel Drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura is probably one of the underrated automobile

by Drive it like it is your last day from Lake Mary, Florida on Sat Nov 23 2013

Best banged for your money, more features, more value within car segment, higher resale value, superior service at seat dealer level ( IMHO ), Acura does stand by their product existing armrest which surface started to wrinkled. Honda should support Acura R&D a lot more so we can enjoy variety, features and technology at a higher level. You can't go wrong with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TL's Keep Improving

by Jerry from Denver, Colorado on Mon Aug 05 2013

My first TL was a '97 that I had for 16 years. This new TL is fantastic in performance, comfort and style. With 80 more horstpower and 2 more gears I am getting more mpg than with the '97. I purchased one with the Technology Package and am enjoying all the bells and whistles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not nearly as reliable as expected

by motorbean from Cincinnati, OH on Wed Aug 15 2018

Generally solid running car but problems began to occur after ~40k up through 90k miles when sold so hope this review helps potential buyers or current owners. This is not why you buy a Honda! The repair issues were main reason for the sale. Torque converter failed (thankfully under warranty), alternator failed, lower AC hose developed leak @ 70k miles and had to be replaced (when it did, the hose on national back order so seems common), hand free module constantly drained battery resulting in numerous jumps and lots of charging system warnings (common issue, must replace module to cure or disconnect), front strut(s) failed and replaced at 85k, look up propeller shaft bearing issue on the AWD models ($1500 replacement)...oh and car began to burn oil at about 70k miles (threads say this isn't too abnormal or concerning but 1.5-2 quarts b/w oil changes seems like a lot to me). Other gripes - front seats support starting to get a little mushy and could feel some springs in seat. Also, the transmission always had a really slow start/hesitation in 1st (dealer acknowledges, said normal)... just made the car seem slower than similar cars and made it harder to justify the premium fuel (which this engine needs or it will knock). This engine/transmission set up with HP/Torque really only seemed to be in sync above 3500 rpm. At 3500+ rpm this car screams for more and can be really fun. Radio / tunes probably the thing I'll miss the most. Happy motoring. hope this helps.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car

by OraMc on Sat Aug 18 2018

The most comfortable and reliable car I?ve ever owned. It has great pick up and drives really smooth. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking for a safe sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great certified Acura TL

by Foxyboy 33 from Cincinnati OH on Sun Oct 06 2013

Never owned a import besides one time drove a Mazda 626 many years ago that was it. Went back to American brands for a while until had a 2006 Impala was a piece of junk and lemon out of a lemonade decided switched back again until stopped at a Acura dealer looked at some certified cars found a affordable 2012 TL SH AWD with 23k miles was brand new from a lease return. The TL drives like a car I've never drove or owned before it's got the high technology and love the nice looking body styling it has from a smooth 6 spd transmission so smooth with a more adequate ride. The controls and settings are a plus with a voice activation navi and bluetooth settings the dashboard is very impressive and got a amazing sound system with available six month XM Sirius radio and the Bose kicks butts with the incredible crystal clear bass has all over the car interior. It's a sports car and Acuras are the most high end cars with a better value it holds with excellent quality and the performance it has as the Acura TLs are the most cars ever with a resale value ever. The car is a dream to drive and it's a comfortable ride with a quiet interior from more roomier space the seats are built are like NASA with the buckets inside with cooled and heated positions got. I'm now a Acura fan from driving this TL with high performance and a deep ride has with aggressive engine power with AWD makes more a fun car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2012 Acura TL


Since Acura introduced the TL's shield grille with its 2009 redesign, this luxury sedan's looks have been polarizing to consumers. For 2012, Acura has softened the TL's grille, but this redesigned five-seater still means business with its sharp, sporty looks.

For parents who mean business, the 2012 Acura TL will fit the bill for expedient transportation and polished looks; it zipped me and my family from Point A to Point B in comfort and style.

While the grille may not look as aggressive, the TL's V-6 engines more than make up for it. The base TL with front-wheel drive has a 3.5-liter V-6, and there's a larger engine — 3.7-liter V-6 — in all-wheel-drive TL SH-AWD. Like delving into the... Read More