2004 TSX

Consumer Reviews
2004 Acura TSX

Change Vehicle
4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

33 Reviews
2004 Acura TSX
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best New Car I Ever Had

by qacman from Arlington MA on January 7, 2011

This is my second new vehicle ever. The first was Mitsubishi that was HUGE mistake. Later I had a 1988 Saab 900 I bought with 90K on it for $6000 in 1991 and drove it 177,000 MORE miles before I sold it to a guy who drove it for another 100,000; I tell you this because this Acura is every bit as durable and requires even less maintenance. I bought my 04 new and have driven it 170,000 miles with nothing more than brakes and 4 sets of tires and a 110K mile tuneup. Car has 200 HP, 30 MPG, and lots of bells and whistles while costing you nothing but insurance and gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Driving Car

by TSX Owner for 2 years from Bedford, TX on May 25, 2010

I have had a 2004 TSX for two years. Bought one coming off a lease. It's just a terrific driving car. The 2.4 L, 200 horsepower engine has plenty of pep to get you moving quickly. I recently drove a 2010 loaner TSX from the dealership, and the handling is very close to the same. I imagine that most other cars that are six years old don't drive like a new one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sports Sedan in class for the money!!!

by Mickey H. from Green Bay, Wisconsin on February 26, 2014

Bought the 6 speed manual. Slick shifting transmission, very easy clutch travel and engagement points. Honda makes the best Manual transmissions hands down! Quick rev happy engine! Bullet proof K24A1 tuned for mid range torque and high output at top end! It is a blast to drive. VTEC kicks in hard when you down shift, and the car takes off like a bat! This car is simply a pleasure to drive, and handles like a RWD with practically no under-steer. The chassis is stiff, and the suspension is tuned greatly, makes the car feel planted at all times. Steering feel and response is right on! Everything about the car speaks of precision, and if you're obsessive compulsive and very detail oriented, you will be more than satisfied! The Cons: Year specific for this model, the engine does burn oil. HOWEVER, previous owner switched to AMSOIL signature 5W30, and it burns not a single drop! So it's more or less the quality of the oil that is the factor! Front Control Arms was going bad, and had to replace them. As well as the rear sway bar links. However, that's to be expected for a car of this age. It still handles like it's on rails, and drives like a new car after 175k miles! I honestly don't think you can find a better car for the money any where else! Those Japanese know what they're doing! Which by the way everything on the car is made and assembled in JAPAN! Quality control is >100% over there! The RPM stays at a lofty 3k RPM in 6th gear on the highway but that's to be expected of a close ratio transmission on a 4 banger. Gas mileage is still the best in class at 24 MPG city/ 30 HWY, and as a matter of fact, 3-4k RPM is the sweet spot on this car for balance of speed and power as well as efficiency. The engine is very well balanced, and silky smooth throughout the rev range, you can keep the engine revs high and you won't even notice it. This engine loves high revs! Torque is great and more than sufficient for this car, you can feel the butt dyno still register as high up as 5th gear! Whereas on other cars would require a downshift! Recommendations: Switch the OEM tires for a more stickier tires, and get a lighter set of wheels. You can thank me later when the car feels even quicker/better! Hondata/KPRO ECU reflash will make the car's VTEC engagement lower at a more usable 5k RPM. Nope that's not the sound of a turbo spooling under the hood. It's the sound of air being rapidly compressed and sucked in through the intake as it opens up to max capacity at that point, all the way to 7.3K RPM! KPRO will keep the power band in VTEC after an upshift, dramatically improving acceleration. Mind you, the car was quick enough already before, so hold on to your seats! Sounds really nice on the highway too! For the money, performance, handling, luxury amenities, reliability, and overall build quality of parts and craftsmanship/design. This is the best car anyone can buy for the money! Overall really happy with purchase! No regrets!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 2-cents

by Toicat from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on July 5, 2010

TSX has quite a pep for a 4-cylinder engine. The car is designed as a sedan, and sits driver & passengers higher than other sports sedans such as a BMW 320. 17" wheels, 205 hp, NAV system (optional) and a sun/moon roof. Oh yeah, Honda reliability! We have had ours around 5-years and other and maintaining the vehicle, nothing unforeseen. Although it handles well, its turning radius is awful. You would need a football field to drive in a circle! Aside from that, you get an adequately responsive car, that looks sporty. If you need more room and horsepower, try out the Acura TL. Either way, you will have a decent vehicle resale when you're ready. 200K miles is certainly within reach and we're halfway there! Best to all !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid car on the road

by Older driver from Western Canada on June 17, 2007

This car is solid, dependable and stylish. Gas mileage is good. Ride is very firm, bordering on harsh. Controls are easy to see except upper part of display when steering wheel is in lowered position. The automatic climate system is very convenient; consistent temperatures are problematic. The car is fun to drive. Uses premium gas.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Fabu-Liz from San Diego, CA on August 8, 2007

I have had this car now since it came out in 2004! Been driving it for 3 years now and it's the first car I did not get sick of within the first 2 years of driving it. I love it and will be buying the new model when it comes out. The car is fast, comfortable, reliable, small enough to fit in the California small parking spaces and gets great gas mileage. Not to mention it's comfort and style. I have never loved a car like I do this one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR!

by Jim from Nashville, TN on December 13, 2010

It's great. The car is a lot better than what I was expecting, specifically performance, fuel efficiency, and comfort. Drives great, no problems what so ever, I think I'm an Acura TSX fan for life!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best kept secret

by max from boston, ma on March 26, 2011

for the money, nothing touches it in terms of performance, luxury, fuel economy, and styling. amazing car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great commuter

by Randyp63 from South Carolina on June 11, 2012

I purchased the TSX used, I drive over 1000 miles a week a I did not want to wear out a new car. Anyway, the tsx has been averaging around 37 mpg on the highway, it is definitely nicely equipped and handles well. My only gripe about a Honda/Acura product is the lack of torque, somewhat lethargic acceleration, but to be fair, I have owned some fairly powerful performance cars. Overall, a great buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've Owned

by Luxuriously Fast from Dallas, TX on January 31, 2014

I'm not sure what happened to the guy with issues after 50k, but I guess not even Honda can make every car perfect. I however, have had no problems. We did have the lock actuator issue, but that was covered under warranty, and then we had a seat belt sensor issue, covered by manufacturer. Other than that, no issues, and best car I've owned. I have had several brands: Cadillac, Chevy, BMW, Audi, VW, and Honda/Acura. Of all the vehicles I've owned, my honds/acuras have been my favorite and most reliable. The only ones to come close is the Audi and BMW. This TSX, however, tops them all. I would recommend this car to anyone. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4