1998 A4

Consumer Reviews
1998 Audi A4

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

13 Reviews
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Oldie but goodie

by A4 from West Bloomfield, MI on June 16, 2010

Great car for the age and money. Bought car used and it has been a great transportation value. Good mileage as well as comfortable ride with good handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AUDI MAN

by Mills from Pa on August 10, 2007

Overall a GREAT CAR, I will never buy any other car other than an Audi, truly an amazing car. The quattro is great, never had any problems going through snow

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No. 1 Car to own, So useful and reliable

by Audiman from New England on May 27, 2011

This car is great! i bought mine used in 2008 and it's been a great time ever since. the heated leather seats are so comfortable and the bose sound system sounded brand new: crisp and clean, not to mention loud if i wanted! The 2.8 v6 produces the perfect amount of power to have great torque without killing the mpg. and the Quattro all-wheel-drive system is so great. It feels like a perfects dry road even in the worst of rainstorms! It can take snow like a champ and when the rear seats fold down, it has so much cargo space, you can't go wrong with this car. It may be classified as a wagon, but it's such a classy car, it looks so nice

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car

by audiphile from Easton PA on June 12, 2010

This car is great! I love the look and so do all of my friends. It is very comfortable especially on long rides. even though it is twelve years old i would take it over many of the new cars on the road. It has many features and is so much fun to drive. It is great for people like me who ski too because of the quattro and ski sack. I hope to hold on to this one for a while. The thing that bothers me about the car is its reliability. I am lucky it is under warranty, but it is a fair trade off if you ask me to the incredible comfort, handling, and style.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and exciting to drive car I've owned

by Car Enthusiast from TX on December 23, 2006

This car won driver of the year car 2 years in a row and is without a doubt a pleasure to drive. The car sticks to the road cornering beautifully. A real treat to any car driver enthusiast. This car is a drivers car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not too shabby

by audi maniac from Wauconda, IL on March 18, 2010

Overall its a great car to have. Its well on gas and if you like to floor it once in a while you got that too. Ive had no problems so far with it except when ever I turn the heater on it makes a weird noise under the hood.Handling is good it kinda slides once in a while when the snow comes in. But i still would recommend an audi to everybody!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, solid, reliable

by RPriest from Los Angeles, CA on August 21, 2006

I bought my A4 Quattro automatic brand new in 1997, and have about 115k miles on it so far. I've had no major repairs. The only things I've had to fix have been: (1) the cd changer - obviously not Audi's fault - had to be replaced twice because it skipped, (2) the motor for the driver's seat went around 80k, and (3) many many brake rotors :c) I'm definitely NOT going OEM with the next rotors. I love this car, and I look forward to driving it for the next 100k miles. It's aging very gracefully and showing no outward signs of wear or tear. I've been good about the maintenance, but not fanatic. If you can find a good deal on one, take it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice little car for girls

by Ideaman from Granville, OH on May 26, 2012

We have this car for the last nine years. It require usual regular maintenance. It is very good runner. Our daughter love this car. It gives between 28 and 30 mpg on highway and approximately 24 mpg in town. Delinquent has started steeling the side strips. We got the dealer to fix the strips and again someone stole both side strips. It happend in Youngstown, OH.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bonded with, but..

by MidLife Crisis from South Carolina on March 31, 2007

Bought used in 2000. Never enjoyed driving a vehicle so much. Handling is its greatest asset. It has the 2.8 L engine with Quattro, which exudes power and control. That said, at 91K, it needs tie rods. Biggest weakness is display unit for trip computer, etc. It fades fast with time. Been replaced twice, and becomes unreadable after a year or so.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

audi 98 reliability terrible great driving

by wife's car unreliable from chicago on December 28, 2009

we bought the car 2004 with 46000 was great for 5 years. We have spent 2200 this year on sensor engine lights and now need to spend another er1500 on a leaky rack and pinion and it needs brakes for the second time probably another 600. If you can afford the repairs, like the $75 dollar oil filter. Its a great driver. and heated seats are awesome. but its too expensive to fix.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1998 Audi A4