2007 Q7

Consumer Reviews

2007 Audi Q7

$6,365 - $14,509  MSRP Range
2007 Audi Q7

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

36 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Audi Q7?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love it despite reliability

by Experience Owner from Vancouver, B.C. on Thu Oct 01 2009

I've owned all sorts of SUV's. I bought this 8 cylinder for my wife because I thought it was the nicest 7 passenger AWD on the market. I still think it is but I'm definitely buying the extended warranty. I've had a leaking sunroof and driver's door. The language on the Multi Media changes occasionally on it's own. All interior lights suddenly stop working then start again after a week or so. Arm rest broke. Could use more power. Is a gas guzzler. I'm a patient owner. I've owned 4 Range Rovers so I'm used to reliability issues. I can live with the Q7's problems because of comfort and features. Love the MMI, panoramic roof and rear dual climate control. Drives like a truck as expected due to its size. If you want better performance, get a smaller SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi Q7-S Line

by 1st SUV from Raleigh, NC on Tue Apr 13 2010

I love this vehicle! Power on demand, corners well, technology is amazing. Only shortfall is no iPod attachment in the '07. I'd buy this ten time over and will be looking at Audi's for my (wife) next car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive!

by Car guy. from Texas on Tue Jan 02 2007

Driving my 4.2 up to 120 mph was really smooth and quiet. The engine felt like it would do 150 mph no problem. However, I know that it is speed controlled at 130. Everywhere I go I get questioned about this Audi. If you are into cars this is a car person's car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another great Audi that SUVs/SAVs should fear

by Auto Steve from Phoenix, AZ on Sat Jan 20 2007

As with all Audi's (we had an A6 first), the Q7 provides overall solid cornering, acceleration, and road manners without too rough of a ride; a perfect top-of-the-line driving blend. This is a particularly true of the Q7 equipped w/the (more attractive) optional double-spoke 20? wheels matched to all-seasons; all-season rubber so that the Quattro AWD functionality is not diminished (summer, sport rubber will negatively impact any AWD and will wear out quickly). The drivers seat position allows near 360 degree visibility which further enhances a spirited driving experience. Sport or manual shift mode shift will rid any mild, initial acceleration lag from zero or at low RPMs, which frankly has been over exaggerated in other 'professional' reviews. Slightly sad :-( the Audi DRG wheel-mounted shifter paddles are only available on the "S"-line, which (in my opinion) comes is less desirable cosmetic interior/exterior selections. (DRG paddles are not necessary, but they are fun.) The rear back-up camera is quite helpful given the 'full-size', but the Audi audible sensor assist should be included at the front bumper (they are in the rear) to allow for tighter maneuverability w/o any fear of collision. The technology package (in-dash 6-disc CD, nav, MMI, Bluetooth, active safety/lighting, the list goes on and on) is quite complete, especially the keyless entry and start (Acura still beats everyone in the Nav department with their real-time satellite based system; but...MDX doesn't even offer a keyless option or the refined German driving experience). The open sky-roof window is fantastic, and makes the interior airy and bright (a must-have option). Optional wireless rear-seat headset entertainment system is attractive and perfect for kids (adult male kids or real kids). The rear captain chairs w/adjustable center console is pure first-class luxury (but a bit less functional). The non-powered, third-row seating is slightly difficult to access and provides only average leg and headroom (keep this in mind only IF you will use these seats regularly, which few ever do).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Beautiful but breaking down

by Bap from Columbus, OH on Sun Feb 18 2018

I love the looks and performance of this car. But it’s expensive to fix. Just needed a new hose because the power steering fluid is leaking. And it cost $650 for parts and labor ($400 just for the part). The tires wear out quickly. The Nav and interior electronics are clumsy to use. But it is smooth to drive even being 10 years old.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Style, Comfort, Performance vs. Cost to Own

by Todd from Nashville on Thu Aug 05 2010

This is, quite simply, a beautiful wrought piece of machinery. The attention to detail, fit and finish, choice of materials, etc. are second to none. This is an understated luxury vehicle without the gaudiness of a Mercedes, or the obvious aesthetic nods to performance that you find in the Cayenne. We're not big on "flashiness," so being able to sneak by under the radar was important to us, but we simply didn't want to compromise creature comforts, performance and media features, etc. Regarding performance, we have the 4.2, and while it's not going to snap your neck back, it moves very quickly for a 6000lb. beast. The Quatro AWD system is the best in the market, full stop. This car is stable, nimble, and grips the road ferociously. It handles more like a BMW 3 series than an SUV. Volvo may tout the "safety" of their vehicles in an incident involving barrel rolls and endo's, but owning a vehicle like this can keep you out of the situations that would lead to such a crash. I never feel at the mercy of others when driving my Q7. If I need to accelerate to 90 mph. to get out of a group of psychotic drivers on the interstate, I can do that with no problem. If I need to merge into 80 mph. traffic off of a short entrance ramp, again the Q7 does not disappoint. If I need to bring this behemoth to a stop immediately, I can do it. This car performs, and does so in style. With all that said, do not buy an Audi if "cost of ownership" needs to be a budgetary consideration for you. When it's out of warranty everything costs a thousand dollars to repair. We've owned a couple high end Audi's, and they're all the same. If you can buy this vehicle without any significant money concerns, by all means do it. You will not be disappointed. If you can't, then go out and get a Mazda CX 9. It's a great value for the money with many very good features, and some very nice lines as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still cutting edge

by Caporider from Burlington, Vermont on Fri Oct 25 2013

I bought a low miles seven year old Q7 loaded s-line and the design, style, and technology still rivals that of many NEW competitor SUVs. The differences between the 2007 and 2014s are subtle but there is a huge price differential (30k plus). We love the ride, fit/finish, and solidity. I bought from Audi South Austin in Texas and was able to get a factory warranty since they had serviced the car. Parts and Service will no doubt be expensive but this is a lot of car for the price I paid. So far we could not be happier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

$7500.00 in 2 months

by no more Audi's from Dallas, TX on Wed Mar 09 2011

let me start by saying I love my '07 Q7, but this thing has been a nightmare, rattling sunroof, water gushing down from behind the dash onto the floor boards which dealer fixes tells me it was a blocked drain tube (ya know leaves can sometimes plug those up) and two months later it happens all over again, and the kicker my MIL light came on a month a go and its going to cost $5k to get it fixed which was a montha after I spent $2k for new brakes and miscellaneous other stuff, have probably spent $10-12K in maintenance in the last 2 years...I'd own another ....BUT NEVER OUT OF WARRANTY!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

too much effort

by too much! from lake forest, il on Thu Aug 11 2011

bought a "certified" audi Q7 last year. the car has been in the shop bi monthly since purchase date. It has been the trunk retaining water, the passnger door having an interior piece become loose, the electric panel, the timing belt. for a certified car I feel it has more problems than not. they always give me a loaner but dont hesisitate to charge $85 per service visit for warranty work. as a mom, this is too much effort, for comfort. i am on a firtst name basis with dealership. skip the Audi Q&7

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First, but not last, Audi

by Car Lover from Riverside, CA on Thu May 31 2007

The Q7 3.6 Premium is a wonderful car with excellent features and details. It is a beautiful car that got many compliments everywhere I went. The gray 20 inch rims look great on this car. I saw many, many, many people check out my car and look through the windows to see the interior. My favorite feature is the panaramic sunroof and turning bi-xenon headlamps. The key has a special feature of memorizing seat settings, temperature settings, mirror setting, and tells you if you remembered to lock your car. Another good thing about the Q7 is that it has a lot of cup holders. The 3rd row seat is not the easiest to get into, but is not bad for short trips. The MMI system is very easy to use. The navigation system was easy to program and follow. It had 2 displays of direction. I highly recommend getting the parking assist system. This car is very comfortable for a family of 4 with lots of luggage, going on a road trip. The Audi dealers are very nice with helpful people and nice facilities. I think this car is much better than the Volvo XC90 in look, prescence, comfort, space, power, and dealerships. I recommend this car to anyone consiering a luxury, European SUV that has 3 rows of seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2007 Audi Q7

It may seem odd, but Audi, which is partially responsible for popularizing all-wheel drive in passenger cars, only recently joined the SUV crowd with the Q7. The company's devotion to all-wheel drive has been more about onroad performance than offroad acumen, and that focus purportedly carries on in the Q7, which seats up to seven.

Overall, though, the Q7 misses its mark; the driver-machine connection associated with performance vehicles just isn't there. It has plenty of advanced features, like a sophisticated adaptive air suspension, but technology alone can't create this connection, and the Q7 shows how cutting-edge technology can actually hurt the driving experience when advanced control systems reign.

Exterior... Read More