Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 S5

Consumer Reviews

2011 Audi S5

$13,434 - $27,138  MSRP Range
2011 Audi S5

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

22 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Audi S5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing technology

by 11SSSSS from Arlington, VA on Sat Mar 19 2011

This car is pretty amazing, just about everything about it is positive, so here are the negatives: 1) power to fuel economy ratio is horrible. This gets worse gas mileage than just about any sports car out there. 15 gallons will get you about 180 miles in mixed highway/stoplight traffic. 2) power - the vehicle looks so fast and feels ok, but it's not as quick as it should be. about 350 hp and awd keeps it somewhat close to a BMW 335i. M3s walk it. The exhaust note is gorgeous, never never get the turbo 6 cylinder because you lose that beautiful exhaust sound. 3) headlight washers - are you kidding me, who thought this one up??? if your lights are on this will cover your (hopefully not freshly washed) car in windshield wiper fluid. turn the lights off before you even go near the wiper button. even if you just barely tap it to get a little bit of water on the windshield you'll hear the dreaded pump turn on and see the spray of an hour's lost time washing your car. 4) sunroof - it doesnt slide open, just barely lifts a bit. pretty disappointing coming from an M3 where it slides all the way back. that said, not a huge deal. It also holds some water after you wash the car, depositing it on your driver or passenger side window on the next right or left turn. 5) electronic parking brake - afraid for the day this fails. 6) back seat - the trunk has a ton of room at the expense of your passengers. Unless they have no legs they will be very uncomfortable. . . now the positives... 1) all of the tech in the car, the 3D building in navigation, easy bluetooth phone setup, well done ipod integration, minimal buttons with maximum functionality on the steering wheel, easy to learn MMI. 2) style - the car is just amazing in person and draws looks and comments everywhere. 3) resale value - look it up, won't find a better return on 1-3 year ownership and get as much enjoyment out of it. 4) sound system - the bang and olufson upgraded system is amazing. not for the radio which isn't bad, but the SD cards can hold many GB of your music and copy it to the juke box which appears to be a hard drive somewhere in the car. songs played off the SD card or jukebox sound amazing, so loud, clear, and exactly as they should sound. Does not sound like I'm listening in a car. 4) everything else about the car, the alcantara inserts, heated seats that warm up fast, tons of trunk space, all wheel drive, keyless entry and touch the handle to lock, buttery smooth leather on the steering wheel etc. why did I give it 4 stars? It comes down to the lack of power for the money and the gas mileage. if they gave it more like 420-450 hp and bumped the gas mileage up to maybe 17-18mpg it would be perfect. All it needs is a turbo. I would pay another $5k for a turbo (with the warranty)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AUDI S5 4.2 V8

by DTM GUY from Denver on Wed Jul 15 2015

This is the best car i have ever owned. I have owned from Porsche's, BMW's and Mercedes and nothing comes close. The s5 design is the most beautiful i have ever seen. The interior is excellent. Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all around car in segment.

by Slim from Los gatos CA on Mon Apr 30 2012

The car has cat like qualities. Silky transmission Variable suspension and steering. Plenty of leg Room in the front. I'm 6'3". A true GT feeling with incredible bed side manners. I can't stop staring at its gorgeous lines. Love the Prestige package. Saved a bundle buying a slightly used model and will hold its resale nicely from what Ive seen. If you can find one at a discount pull te trigger. Audi will sell you a full maintenance 4year-50k miles or $850. A no brainer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nobody called back

by Ryergti from Canandaigua on Tue Feb 12 2013

Went to several sites for info on the M3 through Cars.com but nobody called or emailed us back. Bought a 2011 S5 couldn't be happier. What an awsome auto. Maybe you can't toss it around as much as the M3 but try to run with me in the snow! This IS our new ski mobile!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi S5 2011

by Audi Lover from Tyler, TX on Sun Jan 23 2011

I love the car overall. The amount of comments I get about the car is amazing. I do not like the fuel economy, but it is a V8. There is slight lag with gear changes at lower RPM. Otherwise, the care is like liquid paint when it rolls down the street.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all around athlete I've ever owned (tops GTR)

by vndrbk09 from Boise, ID on Tue Nov 21 2017

I have owned 13 cars. The most notable 4 being this Audi S5, a 2010 Nissan GTR, a 2013 Porsche 981S (Boxster/Cayman S), and a 2013 BMW Z4 sDrive35i. The S5 has a JHM tune for 375hp, the GTR was tuned for 700hp, the Porsche was stock at 315hp, and the BMW tuned for 425hp. Needless to say, all 4 of these cars were smoking fast. However, I must say that the S5 is the best all around athlete. It is not the fastest (GTR and BMW faster), but it is plenty quick enough. It doesn't handle like the Porsche, but it handles VERY well (I've got upgraded sway bar and end links plus the Sports Differential package). It gets more looks and complements than any of the other cars. It's exhaust is invigorating. And the interior is extremely classy. I like this car more than any car I've owned. You can't beat it's all around performance, looks, reliability, and luxury.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My S5 makes me SMILE!

by AudiSmiles from Fort called Worth on Mon Jul 02 2012

Purchased used with 5620 on the clock, it looks and acts brand new. Gorgeous car, I am often stopped in parking lots or addressed by folks at lights, who comment on how beautiful this car is: one young lady said "You look SO GREAT in that forever young sport's car!" While in "Comfort" setting, getting 24-26 on my commute (no fwy miles here) and smiling all the way to work and back. But I can select "dynamic" and presto-chango, I'm rocking a performance car that can handle more than I can throw its way and I am grinning happily as I romp thru the curves and power out with the quattro and sports differential keeping me tracking like it was on rails! Top down, the rear wind deflector actually works, and my long red haired beautiful spouse has no issues with hair whipping or split ends. Operates below 30mph and takes 15 seconds. QUIET with the top up! Rear seats are comfortable for persons under 6 feet and the trunk holds 3 rolling bags - great for trips. Sound system is a treat! 2 SD card slots, and an I-pod cable, plus CD and AM/FM/Sirius radio.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just the car i wanted

by Varun from Rochester Hills MI on Fri Jun 23 2017

The Car is fun to drive, ample power and when you need it. Excellent exterior styling, throaty V8 with an amazing sound. fabulous interiors with comfortable and gripping sports seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect combination of luxury, style & performance

by Bulldawg from Memphis on Wed Jul 11 2018

I have driven a lot of nice luxury sports cars and this Audi S5 is the best combination of all of the aspects style, performance and luxury within my reach. I love this car and the way it looks, handles and accelerates!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Audi made a nearly perfect car!

by Cfraulo from MIDDLETOWN, CT on Wed Sep 06 2017

The 2011 Audi S5 is not only one of the best looking cars on the road, it is an absolutely amazing machine. Aside from the looks of jealousy I get as I drive by, this car is everything you could ask for. It's available with an available V8 or V6 Turbocharged engine. I opted fpr the V8 for that smooth, even power and of course...the sound! The transmission is a 6 speed automatic or 6 speed manual in the coupe. The convertible comes with a 7 speed dual clutch transmission(which is the best of the options, unfortunately for the coupe). The interior is well crafted, sturdy, and beautiful. Audi pays attention to even the smallest details with matching the interior seats to the stitching on the steering wheel. The carbon fiber interior panels add a nice touch. The prestige package comes with titanium side view mirrors and a front and rear titanium lip. Reliability seems to be good considering it is a performance vehicle, but be prepared to spend money on the car if anything does come up. The stock 19" wheels means bigger tires and more money as well. The Bang and Olufsen sound system is a must and adds to the feature packed car. The stock bluetooth only supports phone calls, however. You have to purchase a separate ~$100 dongle to stream bluetooth music to your car...but thats a minor price to pay to complete your experience. I do think Audi should have included this considering much lesser cars at the time supported A2DP(bluetooth music streaming protocol). Dont forget about the quattro AWD system too. Winters are no match with a set of snowtires and Audi's superior AWD Quattro system! Overall, this car provides a beautiful, fun, exciting, and comfortable ride! If you can find one at the right price and in the right condition; dont hesitate! Just buy it!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3