2008 135

Consumer Reviews

2008 BMW 135

$7,333 - $17,277  MSRP Range
2008 BMW 135

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 BMW 135?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The True "Ultimate Driving machine"

by BMW enthusiast from Lake Sherwood, Calif. on Tue Jul 29 2008

Took delivery in Munich. Drove 2,100 miles though six countries, including exhilerating 140 mph cruise along the autobahn. Great car! Precise handling, powerful engine with smooth transmission and comfortable ride. This is my 4th BMW and the most satisfying of them all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best, other than the M

by bbmw from La Quinta on Wed Jan 15 2014

This is a good one. The best handling and fastest BMW without going to the M series. As much room as the 3 series for the driver and front passenger I'm 6'5". Back seat very small but will hold a child or childs car seat just fine. I have a lexus 350 IS which is also fast but not as fast as the 135i and there is no comparislon in the handling. Excellent brakes. Stiff and very tight, you know you're driving a car made for someone who enjoys handling and performance.. The only thing that concerns me about all BMW's is the matainance cost at the BMW dealer. Example: They want $30 to re-set the oil light after an oil change. They want the owner to change the plugs after every second oil change at a cost of $500. I would buy it again, but stay away from the dealer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Year One of the One

by One Time from Springfield, IL on Wed Aug 06 2008

This car is going to be a big winner. The only thing not to like about this car is the feeling you get when you have to step out of it. You will want to keep driving. This car is that much fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i've owned

by Curt from Syracuse, NY on Mon Dec 19 2011

I love this car. I've owned 2 Nissan 350z's and 2 Audi tt's and this is by far the best car I've owned. Incredibly fast and smooth. Better performance than my other cars and I can fit 2 golf bags and 2 carts with the back seats folded Down. Couldn't come close to that in the other cars. Getting around 23 MPG driving aggressively most of the time. Just make sure you get the sports package because the cheap seats without the sport pack are awful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A blast to drive

by Manzoola from Chicago,IL on Sun Oct 13 2013

Just bought the car last month after months of research and I came up with one sentence to best describe the experience: Like riding a rocket in the nude. Just an absolute blast to drive, but here in Chicago the streets aren't too good and if you are running run-flat tyres like I am you might end up with a bulging disc or two. Other than surfing an earthquake when going over rough pavement or having to deal with people who drive 3 series thinking you were too poor to buy a 335 ( little do they know my lil 135 when new was $52,000 and will smack the 335 dirty off the line even with the same engine). One thing I will note is that I do wish it came with quad exhaust ( like the 1 m ) and that the auto manual was more aggressive in shifting ( even in sport mode). HPFP and fuel injectors replaced as expected, otherwise the only problem so far is the steering angle sensor died...and now I have no traction control...BUT IT'S SO MUCH BETTER THAT WAY!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Little rocket

by woody from on Fri May 20 2011

Absolutely a super car to drive. Could not be more pleased. It is not as powerful as my ZO6 off the line and it does not corner like the Ferrari, but for the price it is excellent if you like a drivers car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car to drive

by Florida Car from Florida on Mon Feb 23 2009

Went to test drive th 5 series, as I walked past the car, I asked the sales rep was this car was, he told me what it was, and once I drove it, I had to have it even though it was totally different than the car I went to see, it was by far the most exciting car that I have driven in a long time

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best bang fo the buck

by dlawr from West Palm Beach, FL on Sat Nov 28 2009

I had to find a a two door sedan that was not going to be a huge step down from driving a Cayman S. This car is the best performer for the money. Its a spunky little car. My biggest gripe is the small gas tank (14 gallons). If you drive it like it wants to be driven you'll be stopping alot. The Cayman S took 17 gallons and the 350Z 20. Mileage isn't that different. I drove all the "comparable" rice burners and would say that if you don't need a back seat the "Z" would've been my choice. The rest such as the subaru don't touch a german car. And man their ugly. Plus if you're tall this is the car for you. Hey its not as pretty as a 3 but its cheaper and it corners better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a fun car to drive

by New BMW Owner from Missouri on Thu May 10 2012

My 135i conv is more fun than I've had in a car in a long time. Hard to hold it back on the daily commute.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rocket...on Rails

by BimmerHead from ATX on Tue Jan 13 2015

Spent 4 months looking nationwide for the right 135i Coupe, 6MT. Purchased an '08, 57K on the clock. 1 owner, all maintenance early or at interval. Having an absolute BLAST! I've owned an E39 M5 and (I know it's going to read like blasphemy) I'm enjoying the 135 even more. Get one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 BMW 135

A new BMW model is a big deal. Since the turn of the millennium, we've been treated to the Z4 roadster and coupe, the small X3 SUV, and the 6 Series full-size coupe. For 2008, BMW is bringing two new lines to the family: the X6 SUV and the small 1 Series. That brings the number of BMW models to nine.

What makes the 1 Series different? Is it the fact that it's the least expensive BMW on the market? No, because it only wins that title by a few thousand dollars versus comparable 3 Series models. Is it its small size? Nope; it fits between the pedestrian Volkswagen GTI and Honda Civic coupe in the size department, and it's a full 2 feet longer than the Mini Cooper.

The attribute that sets the 1 Series apart... Read More