Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 330

Consumer Reviews

2002 BMW 330

$13 - $12,405  MSRP Range
2002 BMW 330

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

31 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 BMW 330?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, responsive and reliable.

by Robert J from Tiffin, Ohio on Wed May 09 2018

This car was built when BMW really did build Ultimate Driving Machines. BMW lost its way, but may be returning to the truly enjoyable sport sedans of the past.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A true driver's car, but expensive to own/maint.

by Lucas2112 on Tue Aug 22 2017

Loved this car for the 6 years I had it, a lot of fun to drive and looks fantastic. But the cost of ownership is high unfortunately.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Drive just pure Fun to Drive

by RX1981 from Greencastle on Thu Jan 18 2018

owned for 6 Years and enjoyed all aspects of this vehicle a pleasure to drive very unique in its handling and performance

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Sports Car feeling in a casual car

by JoeFio, Pleasure Driver from Long Island, NY on Wed Nov 07 2018

I think this car looks good and handles great. It has a very tight sports car feel. It?s a fun car to drive especially when the convertible top is down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

average driving machine

by average joe from on Tue Nov 10 2009

I bought this car used w/ 60,XXX miles on it. I love driving the car but hate the fact that there are so many common problems (my biggest concern w/ this car). The car currently has 85,xxx miles after 2 years and I have had this car in the shop for repairs 5+ times. Below are common problems that have been repaired on my 2002 330xi. There have also been numerous complaints about these problems on forums and from other owners so make sure you do your homework before you buy this car. Problems + repairs: -Window regulators (all 4 have been replaced)... went to the shop 3 different times -Sunroof -CV axles -Oil filter housing gasket (was leaking) -electrical plastic cover melted in rear tail light and caused a short Problem I still have: Burning oil even though I drive this car very soft and use Mobil1 0W-40... Some say it's the CCV which is a $700+ job from BMW... took the car into the shop and compression seemed fine and head gasket was clean so this may be my next fix on this car. Overall, fun car to drive but shop bills will creep up on you. Probably my first and last BMW. If you don't get hit w/ these problems then you've dodged a bullet, but if you do...I feel for you -

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

50 out of 51 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by CarCollector from Houston, TX on Thu Jan 28 2010

My 330CI coupe is an awesome car. No wonder it is always rated as one of the ten best cars in the world at any price. Quality and workmanship is great and it rides like it is new, even after 7 years. You won't find a better car for the money. Usually I sell cars after a few years because of boredom with it or the poor workmanship begins to show, but not this car. It is joy to drive every time I get behind the wheel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best BMW 3 series ever made

by 330ci Convertible from Ashburn, Va on Mon Sep 10 2012

I have owned about a dozen BMWs in my lifetime but the 330ci convertible with the premium and sport packages is the best one I have ever owned. It is stylish, performs like a sports car should, is very quick and gets great mileage. If you care for it properly it will last a few hundred thousand miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 330xi

by sport sedan person from Columbus, OH on Sun May 21 2006

Very responsive, excellent handling. 3.0 liter engine, with automatic transmission, provides great "vrooom" in this 300 series vehicle. Gas mileage is just fair. 4-wheel drive does not seem to detract from performance, and provides excellent traction in snow and rain. Feels very solid with tight controlled steering.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

BMW 330i is a constant theadache

by Ivan from TX on Fri Oct 01 2010

I'd like to start saying that I love my BMW, it drives great, looks awesome on the road and love the interior and quality of components. The bad part of have a Bimmer is going back to the mechanic shop so many times and yes..it is not a cheap car. I bought this 330i at 87,000 miles 2 years ago, since then I've been in hte shop for almost 7 times, ingintion coils (4140 each), AC sensorrs, suspension problems had to replcae almost everysingle bushing(control arm) on 4 wheels,oil leaking, thermostate, window regulator from passenger sit....I think that is al....I'm tire of this beautiful Bimmer....It is for sale now, Iwill miss it but I won't miss spend so much money like never did before.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by IwillBuyBMWagain from San Francisco on Thu Dec 29 2011

I bought my 2002 BMW 330i two and a half years ago in my bank's auction. Cars where people couldn't afford to continue with their monthly payments for the auto loans, hence repossession by banks. I bought my 330i at only $9,900 at that time, in 2009, when market value was around $11,800-$13,000 depending on conditions. The mileage was 79,000 miles. Many people who buy used cars never look at CARFAX reports. I did. I ordered CARFAX for about $40 at that time. And the report showed that the cars had been regularly maintained by BMW dealer. The report also stated that there had been no accident, and with clean title. I bought the car, and have been enjoying it ever since with really trouble-free ownership up to today. So far, I have only spent $235 for the last two years in alignment of the front wheels after hitting portholes on some bad part of the freeway a while back on I-85, and part of the $235 was also for 3 times of oil changes. The car still drives flawlessly today, it actually drives like new according to my co-worker who owns a 2010 3-series. The acceleration is ....wow.... so powerful even in my automatic equipped 330i. The braking is very solid also and give lots of confidence in hard cornering. The auto-tranny shifts flawlessly and is very smooth, downshifts fast whenever I need it to. The steering response is probably the best in any cars I have driven so far, including a used S2000. I almost bought another S2000 before finding this BMW, which was cheaper in price at the time when I purchased it. I have no regret, and it was money very well spent. So far, my ownership experience has been trouble free. It has over 100,000 miles now, but it still drives smoothly, powerfully, and never complaints. The power is always there whenever you want, the throttle response is so fast, turn-in at corners is so accurate, right where you want it to go, and I always have to remind myself that I share the road with others and I do need to driver slower so that cops will not give me tickets. Well, what can I expect in driving a sport sedan, the tendency to drive fast is always there. I love this BMW, I will buy a newer one with the twin-turbo version in the 2009 335i next year. I am still waiting for that one to come down more in price. Wow, what an amazing car! Thanks BMW. Really. From someone who lives in San Francisco as a banker in a small Credit Union. Thank you again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 BMW 330

In our long, hot summer, I didn't want to even think about topless motoring, much less spend a week doing it. Yes, hot summer nights do have some charm when the air conditioner's blasting, but forget about UV-A and UV-B.

But now as fall looms, the charms of a car that's really two cars in one begin to be more seductive. And this week's scrutinizee is a real spoiler.

The 3 Series is the smallest of the BMW-labeled offerings in this country, though calling them "entry-level" rings false in a couple of ways. They're too sophisticated and too expensive to wear such a plebeian tag.

In some ways, I've always found the 3 Series to be the most enjoyable of all the horses in the BMW stable. Thanks to... Read More