1999 540

Consumer Reviews

1999 BMW 540

$2,362 - $7,422  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1999 BMW 540?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Fun!

by Ex Rocketman from Kokomo, Indiana on Wed Jun 09 2010

I own a 1999 BMW 540I and previously owned a 2000 model as well. They are great fun to drive and if you are mechanically inclined, great fun to work on. The older models of the 5 series have great styling and still have great performance. Bothe my 540i's had abut 100,000 miles on them and still held their looks and funstionality. Everything still works. I like the rear window sun screen and the rain sensor wipers (on my 2000). The 6-speed manual transmissions were in good shape and felt better aftr a lube job. The 4.4 liter v-8 in these cars is notorious for oil leaks. Both of mine needed head cover and timing cover gasket work. I have done all the engine work on my 1999 myself (with the help of a good brother-inlaw and good service manuals). These cars are a good value for the performance you get.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great performance but too costly to maintain

by Hiker from Nashville on Mon Apr 25 2011

I bought my 540 "port package" sedan new in 1999. I've driven it only 65,000 miles and have maintained it by the book or better. The car is powerful and handles well but is quite expensive to drive. Three water pumps, two radiators, $1800 A/C compressor repair, water leaks, power steering leaks, oil leaks, chews up expensive tires, etc. Oh, and 17 MPG. My ewife had a 328 BMW. It cost a fortune to maintain also. I also have a 2001 Ford Explorer. I've spent less on it for the entire time I've owned it than I've spent on the 540 each year. This is my last BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PHENOMINAL AUTOMOBILE

by JROCK from Indianapolis on Thu Jan 18 2007

One of the best designed cars I've ever owned/driven. Incredible power curve will never allow you to ask "where's the beef". Handles like a dream.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not your typical mama wagon

by 1999 540i Wagon Owner from Indianapolis, IN on Wed Jan 26 2011

This car has power. I've had many mustangs and other sport car enthusiast try to race me. I'm happy to report I beat some of these race fanatics. The best part is belonging to the BMW fan club; the other day an M3 past me on the highway and politely waved as to say "nice car." I proudly nodded and exited the freeway with a grin. You'll love the performance of this wagon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beauty and the Beast

by Kesto Presto from San Anselmo, CA on Mon Aug 07 2017

The 1999 540i is A comfortable well designed 4 door Sedan with leather and power everything. But inside this Beauty is one Beast of a V8 engine. Our model had the Performance package with BMW certified aftermarket Dinan anti sway bar for optimum handling on the Autobahn. You get the picture. Our family of drivers also prefer the extra control of the 6 speed Manuel. Still Mechanically sound at 180k miles and with TLC could certainly see another 100k. As true with most luxury sports cars of this vintage There are minor electrical problems popping up with the stereo radio and a back window. Sunroof is closed but needs to be realigned on its track for full functioning. Otherwise at $4500 to $6500 used this is a great value for a car that can serve as both a reliable family car and one serious sports sedan !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Diablo on Wed Jun 06 2018

Decent car but WAY over priced. The 540i with a manual trans is awesome but asking 9k for a vehicle with paint, interior and body issues is ludicrous. That car in mint condition is only worth 6 grand.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice car but....

by Robert from Jacksonville, FL on Sun Jan 01 2017

Pretty car. Drives great. Very, very expensive to maintain. An alternator and battery $1600 and that's not even at the dealer. My car has 113K miles on it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great and very stylish vehicle. Fun to drive.

by A Napoles from Ontario on Wed Apr 19 2017

A nice vehicle to own and very stylish. Fun to drive and also very pleasantly comfortable. Very strong and solid transport. A must have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1999 BMW 540

Let's make the point by word association: station wagon.

Webster's--barely able to cork its enthusiasm--says it's an automobile with more cargo space than a comparable sedan, plus a rear seat that folds flat and a rear door hinged at any of four sides.

Let's get serious. Station wagon:

* Yards of tin stamped and painted to look like hickory ribs riveted to mahogany paneling. Given enough acid rain, the look matures to shelf paper around an Altoids box. After two seasons, your Young Woodie looks like Old Ironsides.

* Twenty-seven children practicing handstands, two dogs and Mom, all waiting in line at Taco Bell. The woman is weeping, and one of the Labs is chewing on her cell phone.

*... Read More