Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 650

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW 650

$5,901 - $20,385  MSRP Range
2006 BMW 650

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 BMW 650?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 650i Convertible

by drlmg from Savannah, GA on Mon Jul 16 2012

This is by far the best car I have owned. I have had many high end cars...(Mercedes, Lexus, BMW, etc.) and this one surpasses all by far even though it is a 2006 whereas the others I purchased new. The ride is great, handling and performance are phenomenal. It is a convertible but very quiet even at high speeds. I recently test drove a 2009 Jaguar XKR and it was a BIG disappointment compared to the BMW 650. Only problem, and technically not the car .... the run flat tires are absolutely worthless and dangerous. I got stuck 130 miles away from home with a flat on a Sunday night. No one around had tires that would fit. Supposedly you can drive on the flat at low speed.... I drove only 5 - 10 miles at a speed of appx. 40 - 45 and the tire flew apart damaging the rear quarter panel. Had to tow the car home and the first thing I did was have all the tires removed and replaced with good tires. Now it rides and handles much better. I have talked to many about the run flat tires and NO ONE liked them. On average the sidewall would blow out of them before they were even half worn. One guy told me even IF the tires would last until tread was low he estimated he would get about 15000 miles out of them, some say even less.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleek, Sexy and Sophisticated

by BKUZ from Buffalo, New York on Fri Jun 06 2014

Although I recently purchased this as a used vehicle and have put but a few hundred miles on since being purchased, I can only say thus far the car will put a smile on your face. Handles and performs well beyond my expectations. This is a convertible and definitely enjoy the top down and the open road. I have owned BMW's in the past and this exemplifies the BMW motto of "The Ultimate Driving Machine", thus far I LOVE IT! Find a gently used one here on Cars.com and reap the benefits!!! Would recommend this car... YES!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 6

by On the sixes from Atlanta, ga on Sat Mar 19 2011

Beautiful car. Extremely nimble. Strong acceleration. Nicely appointed interior. Can be expensive to maintain outside of warranty. Body style consistent with other years. Minimal differences (wheels & gear shifters) vs. 2008 & 2009 models. Virtually no change from 2007. Keeps it's value. Great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 650 = Best Car Ever

by Freelance Assassin from Chicago IL on Thu May 18 2006

I love this car!! Its like the old 840s and the 325 mashed into one. Great handling and super fast. It makes commuting anywhere from the city or the suburbs even more enjoyable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car gave me my Groove Back at 52 years young

by Loismc25 from Jeanerette, La. on Wed Apr 12 2017

Love my white convertible , ivory interior . Handles like a new car . It's the best of my drum. I wanted this car for a long time when opportunity presented itself it was mine .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 650i Convertible: Most Fun on 4 Wheels

by CJGlynn from San Francisco, CA on Mon Aug 07 2017

The BMW 650i is a ragtop rocket ship. Plenty of power and corners like it's on rails. Excellent summer car and so fun to drive. Back seats are a bit small, but that's a tiny price to pay for such a great ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Charka from New Zealand on Mon Oct 15 2018

I have owned several euros and not so euro cars newer and older, and still own a 650 i gran coupe. Though the e63 is now 12 years old, it is still a feel good car, just love driving it, great on long trips

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It Will Rock Your Boat!!!

by Tommy V from Hyattsville, MD on Sat Jul 30 2016

I've been itching to buy a 650i Convertible for a very very long time... Finally, last month I did it. Black with Tan leather dual tip exhaust pipes and the sound is mind blowing. Hey it is not the fastest car in the world but 0 to 60 in 4.9 is amazing considering this is a 4 passenger almost 5000 pound vehicle. it handles like a dream and it will rock your boat like no other car in the world. I wake up in the middle of the night and go outside to look at her... I'm 62 and I feel 21 again... Worth every penny, you just can't find a better vehicle for the money.... Enjoy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like driving a nuclear bomb!

by Car freak from Chicago, IL on Tue Feb 19 2008

Unbeatable value for the money...the best combination of luxury and sports car ever. I have driven and owned many Mercedes, other BMW's including several M3s, Lexuses even Nissans, Toyotas, etc. etc.-the 650 convertible is an example of why BMW is for the driver, the King of the Road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mine is a lemon

by Unlucky car buyer from Phoenix, AZ on Thu May 17 2007

Vehicle drives well. A lot of fun. There is a problem with the computer system and things will frequently malfunction. Among the problems; the top will not always go down. The sound system cuts out. Warning lights will flash randomly. BMW has had the car multiple times and will only load new software. They are not fixing it. For the price it should work, and BMW will not fix it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2