2002 745

Consumer Reviews
2002 BMW 745

Change Vehicle
4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

20 Reviews
2002 BMW 745
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

best handling car!!

by 007 from Pasadena on May 14, 2010

I bought a used 745 from an individual seller. Have it for 4 years. It has over 10 thousand miles already but it still runs like new. It has some minor problem but nothing more than my other cars. It cost much less to keep up with the maint. than i expected. I don't think there's any other car that could perform like this model. I had a 5 series before years ago and it's not even close to this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance and luxury

by Pete from L.A. on April 23, 2010

I had a 5 series before the 7 series and I love the 7 even more. The performance and speed is incredible but I could enjoy the comfort and smoothness of the driving at the same time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most impressive luxury sedan I've owned!

by Allan from Outer Banks, NC on June 21, 2007

Fantastic features and incomparable innovation make this euro-luxury sedan an incredible vehicle. The list of standard features is truly impressive and when you add other items like cooled front seats, park assist, soft close door operation, thoughtful entryway lighting, two part key system, and the voice command system you have the car of the future. BMW has not overlooked performance and handling either. This car has the softest ride and most quiet interior cabin of any car I've driven. I'm a fan for life!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 BMW 745LI

by SAMMY from VAN NUYS CA on April 30, 2011

THE VEHICLE OVER ALL IS THE BEST YOU CAN OWN, HOWEVER IT WILL BE COSTLY TO MAINTAIN, AND TO DRIVE WITH NO PROBLEMS YOU SHOULD MAINTAIN REGULARLY.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

class, speed and luxuy

by kenqc from ontario, ny on July 15, 2007

what more can I say, a powerful comfortable classy machine built to last forever. BMW hit a homerun with the 745i. 2002 was the first for this owerful V8. With the optional 19inch tires and wheels, rear wheel drive and appropriate gearing, the car has get up and go. The suspension is properly tuned and the ride smooth. The car handles as it should and has a classy look that the whole family can ride in and enjoy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worse experience with a Car

by NeverAgain from Sacramento, CA on September 4, 2013

I purchased this car used at 50,000 miles. The 1st four months were great but i've had nothing but problems ever since. At 93,185 miles the car is pretty much inoperable. Oil, power steering, coolant, transmission leaks. Head light unit replaced, parking brake malfunction, water pump replaced. All these problems after i purchased it. Now i can't sell it because of all the problems. NEVER again. Lexus here I come.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bmw 4 ever 745i or li

by aj from davie fl on January 13, 2012

love my car runs really good fast car for a big body you feel really good on the car inside i love it nice looking car ... what more can i said i love my car and i will never trade it for no benz

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

overall great vehicle, high cost of ownership

by life long bmw owner from braintree, ma on August 9, 2010

the 745 is exactly what a BMW should be. an expensive german vehicle with features, performance, and handling . the 745 like all BMW's requires a good deal of up keep. suspension and cooling system are BMW trademark issues. Car is fantastic just be ready to foot the bill. remember your buying a vehicle that was in excess of 80k when new. this car is not going to be repaired at gas station. if you try to have it repaired in a cheap way it will cost you in the end...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Think twice before buying 2002

by too many cars from Seattle WA. on April 6, 2007

In December 06, I bought a 2002 745 Li with a little over 70K, still within warranty. Since then the car has spent a total of two weeks in the shop. First, the Tire pressure monitor failed-needed major software downloads. Then a service engine soon light came on. Two days before I was scheduled to bring it in, the auto-level module, the EDC module and the braking module all showed failures. Per BMWNA, of the 57 months this specific car has been in service, 20 of those months show it has been in for service for the same type of failures. 2002 was a problem year per the BMW dealer

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

most repairs out of pocket of any car

by cntrycarl from seal beach ca on August 10, 2010

bought 2002 745i ran great till about 40k i have had to replace the tranny 49lk ,then the alt the water pump ,raditor cooling fan.headlight module never buy new genration wait cple of years till the bugs are worked out but i still love the car and plan on buying another real soon just not a 2002 745 i haved owned 3 mbz in the past ,but still prefer the 745 for sheer driving fun

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2002 BMW 745