2009 750

Consumer Reviews

2009 BMW 750

$11,319 - $18,487  MSRP Range
2009 BMW 750

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
72% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 BMW 750?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

poor engine reliability

by BigBob on Sat Aug 25 2018

The BMW 750i was a great car to drive and was very comfortable but spent more time in the shop than on the road. From inferior fuel injectors to leaking turbo coolers and an unreliable electrical system, even though I miss the ride I don't miss the maintenance bill. Do you ever wonder why you see these cars turned in as used cars with only 50,000 miles on them? Also, why doesn't BMW have a warranty that goes out to 100,000 miles instead of 50,000? If BMW would focus on a limited number of models instead of 20 different models, maybe they would be more competitive with Infinity and Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2009 750Li

by WhipsAnonymous from Indianapolis on Mon Mar 11 2013

I have had 3 previous 7 series, all Li's. 2002, 2003, and 2008. The power of the 2009 is very addictive. My 2008 I felt like the interior was a bit better on the interior quality. In the newer model, there seems to be more plastic which is kind of shocking of a car whose sticker can easily reach 6 figures. Like the updated I-Drive. It is much easier to use than previous generations. Love the looks of the exterior, just wish there were some nicer touches on the inside, specifically the door panels, and the dash. All and all, happy with my upgrade. Gas mileage is averaging 15mpg. I drive probably 70/30 highway/city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car but bad at retaining its value

by ceorich from Chicago, IL on Mon May 15 2017

Overall great car when everything is working fine but when something goes wrong its a pain to get it fixed. Have been taking my car back to the dealership for drivetrain malfunction error for the past 3 years and never seems to get fixed. Always a short term fix but problem always comes back. The vehicle is terrible at retaining its value, once a $101k car now only worth about 12k. Overall its a great and luxurious car to drive but not really a smart financial choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by Bob Bauer from Charlotte, NC on Sat Apr 04 2009

I replaced my 2007 MB S550 with this 2009 750LI and couldn't be happier. I did find the I Control a "little" confusing to operate and I'm ashamed to say that being I've had a 745, (2) other 750's, a MB S550 and also currently have a CL 550 all with similar controls - but this one is a bit different. I guess it's time to read the manual.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Tech dysfunction meets ergonomic torture

by Bummed - But no one to blame but myself from California on Wed May 11 2011

Worse car I have ever owned. The list is too long to go into. Take some time while test driving and execute all the stuff before you purchase. This vehicle is the equivelent of 10 nagging ex- wives. Save yourself and do not purchase this or subsequent models. This is my 4th and last 7. The ergonomics are a disaster. Nothing works the first time. How about 38 consecutive tone warnings when you don't fasten your seat belt. You should wear a belt, but he point is the car will nag you to an early grave. Arm rests that dont fit, electronic stuff that doesnt quite work right the first time, cup holders blocking A/C and other dash functions, little to no storage, funky seat placement, F1 sized mirrors, noisy trany, jerky power band, 12 step program to engage the radio, I could go on for an hour. That effectively describes the rest of the services-design of the car. This car will torture you to the point you will leave it running with the key in it with the hope some poor soul will steal it. Pretty cool look, but the car is truly a dysfunctional mess.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

34 out of 45 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Rick from TX on Sun Sep 15 2013

Of course it's a great car, that is why people pay six figures to buy one. The complaints related to interior features in another pose seem silly. You did not notice the cup holders, armrest and radio functions until after you bought the car? Did you test drive it? I suspect there are other issues here outside the quality of this car. You can argue that no care is worth $100k, but if you've got it, this is awfully nice!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car to own

by Mj from Pacoima on Tue Apr 17 2018

Best car on the market. I really enjoy riding in it and it is the best car I own. I would really recommend it to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives like brand new

by OverDC from Washington DC on Tue Apr 18 2017

7 series just like a jet on ground, nice experience, cool car, powerful has so much that you can imagine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comforting ride I've owned

by BimmerNation from Detroit, Michigan on Mon Apr 09 2018

This car met my overall needs, I drive it everyday. Ive never owned a foreign Vehicle before and coming from driving a 99'' F-150 all my life to a 09 750 i, I got to say this is was the best choice I've made, not only did it boost my ego, my girlfriend loves this car as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bmw forever

by car nut from Queens NY on Sat Apr 20 2013

I own a 2004 BMW 645ci love that now I in a 2009 BMW750i can't think of any other car I would be in love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 BMW 750

When a redesigned 7 Series debuted for the 2002 model year, it was one of the most controversial cars in recent history. Not only did it signal a new design direction for BMW that rubbed many people the wrong way, it had a new technology feature — iDrive — that had many detractors. Despite all the criticism, a funny thing happened: BMW went on to sell more of the new 7 Series than of its predecessor.

Now it's time for another new 7 Series. The 2009 redesign doesn't make as sharp a break from its predecessor as the 2002 model did; rather, it's a refinement of it, with styling that's less about being different than the '02's was. There's also a new version of iDrive that's much easier to... Read More