Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2003 X5

Consumer Reviews

2003 BMW X5

$2,315 - $8,431  MSRP Range
2003 BMW X5

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

33 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Love it....but!!

by BMWFanatoc from on Tue Feb 07 2017

I really do love my 2003 X5, I really do. I've had it for almost a year. I've already spent $6000 in maintenance. It's also the 4.4i. When I first bought it, I voluntarily did a couple of recommended maintenance items. Besides two oil changes, the dealer has ripped me off twice for unnecessary repairs... the others were necessary and all common issues. CCV, valley pan leak, water pump, faulty key fob, and most recently the key lock cylinder broke so I couldn't get into it. I'm ready to drive it for a good few months without something going wrong. I don't feel that I have a lemon, because it drives great! I recommend doing major research before purchasing a BMW of any kind. Find out what the common problems are so you won't be blindsided by the silly things that can go wrong with older models. Find a good Indy mechanic to save yourself some dough on big $$$ repairs. With all that being said, I love the truck and also own a 4 series as well. The drive and handle on a BMW is incomparable. I own Mercedes and Lexus, yet always drive my BMW due to the driving experience. I've spent a good amount on maintenance for the X5, but I would do it all over again. Love this brand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by Hector espinal from Elizabeth on Tue Jun 19 2018

I own this car for 5years I never had a problem then really really good on snow if your t take care the way supposed to be you never had a problem I give 5 start

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive and own!

by Love cars from Westport, CT on Sat Jul 15 2017

This is a comfortable, well equiped car that looks great. Fits 5 people and loads of cargp space. Drives smooth, safe, reliable. Handles well in the winter. BMW is a reliable car company and their cars last.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive and own!

by Love cars from Westport, CT on Sat Jul 15 2017

This is a comfortable, well equiped car that looks great. Fits 5 people and loads of cargp space. Drives smooth, safe, reliable. Handles well in the winter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car to drive and own!

by Love cars from Westport, CT on Sat Jul 15 2017

This is a comfortable, well equiped car that looks great. Fits 5 people and loads of cargp space. Drives smooth, safe, reliable. Handles well in the winter. BMW is a reliable car company and their cars last.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great suv

by mateo from on Mon May 22 2017

wonderful car to own. performance is comparable to nothing else on the road. interior features and styling are amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Feels good & safe behind this wheel

by Marilinn from Colorado Springs Colorado on Sun Oct 01 2017

Car meets all of my needs. Awesome traction, safe, very sturdy steering wheel handling, cool or warm, roomy but not too big & my first BMW. I live in very nice weather winter or summer, dogs are my family & we go everywhere, asphalt to rocky off roading no problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

38 BMW owner

by X5 fan from stone harbor, nj on Thu Nov 22 2018

2003 BMW X5 Bought new w/specs I chose. Absolutely love the X5. No unanticipated expenses until a flatbed driver improperly tied down the X5, damaging both, ie right&left front axels, cv boots, and joints. Live at the beach yet NO body rust anywhere. Underbody rusted, but expected aft/16y at the beach. Meticulously maintained car w/oil/filter, brake, coolant, brake pad changes and 3 sets of tires over 106k miles. Vehicle needs new front brake lines. Previously had a used 1980 320i that lasted 10y, used 1988 535i, bot 1990 that lasted till 2003. BMW makes reliable cars if maintained per their schedule.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by George from Burbank, Illinois on Sun May 14 2017

Very nice SUV and looks great! Great cargo space and sporty. Nice convenient options. Sunroof automatic leather seats, heated seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car For The Money All Around

by New Family Guy from Chicago, Illinois on Fri Jun 13 2014

Since I had to make the switch from sports cars to a more family vehicle this SUV made the transition much more bearable. The all around performance & handling is impressive for what feels like a heavy/sturdy vehicle. Surprisingly the gas mileage isn't terrible, but it's a luxury SUV not a Civic. It's loaded with user friendly options, I only wish it had navigation. Aside from the it has everything going for it from safety, styling, comfort & performance. Since they can not be bought under $10,000 it makes them a value too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2003 BMW X5

Even in its mildest six-cylinder form, the BMW X5 is a cut above and a solid departure from the crowded field of sport utility vehicles.

Although the very idea of BMW, the maker of "ultimate driving machines," marketing an SUV may seem like a sellout, at least the X5 is a tight, crisp-driving truck that combines the versatility of an SUV with BMW's usual sporty road manners.

BMW doesn't even call it an SUV but an SAV for "sport activity vehicle." All well and good, but I'd rather call a spade a spade and an SUV an SUV.

What you could call the X5 is an SUV for people who still like to drive. Although most SUVs are tuned for comfort with soft suspensions and modest handling, X5 is stiff and... Read More