2004 X5

Consumer Reviews
2004 BMW X5

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

24 Reviews
2004 BMW X5
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Substantial SUV

by Sjones from Chicago, IL on October 19, 2006

I've been driving an X5 for a few weeks now and the first thing that struck me about it was how substantial it is. Heavy doors. high-effort and purposful controls. Accurate but deliberate handling. Gutsy and lovely-sounding V-6. There's a subsystem or adjustment for everything. This car makes my Acura feel like an economy car. When they say German engineering, I get it now. It has less to do with build quaility (like a Toyota) and more to do with servicability, material quality and durability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 BMW X5 4.4i

by Nick from los angeles on June 26, 2010

had this car for 3 years, and all those years prblem free, hands down the best car I have ever owned

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT Sport Utility!

by Aunt Kimmy! from Roswell, GA. on July 7, 2011

This car is like ia like a TANK! No wiggling or wobbling just pure ultimate driving machine like the commercials say! If you want GREAT performaning, solid & BEAUTIFUL car-look no more!!! It's all wrapped up in 1 package in the BMW-X5! I sold my 1st BMW X-5 almost 3 years ago & am SOOOOOO GLAD that I bought another one! Best decision I could have made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty performance with decent MPG

by Power driver from La Jolla, CA on May 11, 2011

This is my first X5 and I like so far. Much better than my ML 320. Power is excellent , MPG is fair at about 20 overall. Interior is nice and roomy with comfortable seats. I will probably keep this one for awhile if it continues to be dependable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast, fun, but skip the sport suspension

by X5 fan from San Francisco, CA on September 22, 2008

Really a very nice car, but it rides exceedingly stiff with the sport suspension on 19" rims. So skip the sport suspension! Note that I love tighter cars, and have had an M5 and 740 sport..but the X5 is over the top on stiffness with the sport suspension. Also, the panoramic sunroof (the BIG sunroof!) can leak very slightly(ours fixed under warranty) and there is a software upgrade avail. from BMW for a "clunking" transmission (we have a 2004 w/6-spd auto). Aside from that, it's great...fast, great brakes, good sound system, we love the sport seats, the nav is much better than earlier BMW nav systems, the finish is fantastic, etc. Ours has 40K miles on it with very few issues.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 x5 4.4i

by var from los angeles on June 10, 2010

owned the vehicle for almost 2 years w/o any major issues, drives like a sports car, I loved every single thing about it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Do the maintenance - you'll have a real jewel

by BigSteve from Dallas,Texas on October 13, 2017

One heck of an automobile - keep up the maintenance and you will have no problems - the safety of this car is as good as it gets - I would highly recommend to anyone who wants a German made vehicle - it will last for many of miles head...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the X5

by CarJunkie from on August 6, 2012

Best car I've ever owned...best of both worlds, utiliitly and performance. Went from Lexus, to Acura, but must say the X5 is the best. Happy owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW GOOOOOOD!

by Automan from Laguna Beach on December 15, 2010

I have owned two consecutive X5's. The best mix between an SUV and a Car combining versatility, performance, luxury, comfort, style, etc...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a sports car not a suv

by sportscar lover from houston on August 5, 2011

great cars, handle like a go cart round corners, solid as a rock at speed, effortless performance and that famous bmw v8 sound.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2004 BMW X5