2004 X5

Consumer Reviews

2004 BMW X5

$2,228 - $10,116  MSRP Range
2004 BMW X5

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Substantial SUV

by Sjones from Chicago, IL on Thu Oct 19 2006

I've been driving an X5 for a few weeks now and the first thing that struck me about it was how substantial it is. Heavy doors. high-effort and purposful controls. Accurate but deliberate handling. Gutsy and lovely-sounding V-6. There's a subsystem or adjustment for everything. This car makes my Acura feel like an economy car. When they say German engineering, I get it now. It has less to do with build quaility (like a Toyota) and more to do with servicability, material quality and durability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 BMW X5 4.4i

by Nick from los angeles on Sat Jun 26 2010

had this car for 3 years, and all those years prblem free, hands down the best car I have ever owned

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sporty performance with decent MPG

by Power driver from La Jolla, CA on Wed May 11 2011

This is my first X5 and I like so far. Much better than my ML 320. Power is excellent , MPG is fair at about 20 overall. Interior is nice and roomy with comfortable seats. I will probably keep this one for awhile if it continues to be dependable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT Sport Utility!

by Aunt Kimmy! from Roswell, GA. on Thu Jul 07 2011

This car is like ia like a TANK! No wiggling or wobbling just pure ultimate driving machine like the commercials say! If you want GREAT performaning, solid & BEAUTIFUL car-look no more!!! It's all wrapped up in 1 package in the BMW-X5! I sold my 1st BMW X-5 almost 3 years ago & am SOOOOOO GLAD that I bought another one! Best decision I could have made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast, fun, but skip the sport suspension

by X5 fan from San Francisco, CA on Mon Sep 22 2008

Really a very nice car, but it rides exceedingly stiff with the sport suspension on 19" rims. So skip the sport suspension! Note that I love tighter cars, and have had an M5 and 740 sport..but the X5 is over the top on stiffness with the sport suspension. Also, the panoramic sunroof (the BIG sunroof!) can leak very slightly(ours fixed under warranty) and there is a software upgrade avail. from BMW for a "clunking" transmission (we have a 2004 w/6-spd auto). Aside from that, it's great...fast, great brakes, good sound system, we love the sport seats, the nav is much better than earlier BMW nav systems, the finish is fantastic, etc. Ours has 40K miles on it with very few issues.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 x5 4.4i

by var from los angeles on Thu Jun 10 2010

owned the vehicle for almost 2 years w/o any major issues, drives like a sports car, I loved every single thing about it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW GOOOOOOD!

by Automan from Laguna Beach on Wed Dec 15 2010

I have owned two consecutive X5's. The best mix between an SUV and a Car combining versatility, performance, luxury, comfort, style, etc...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a sports car not a suv

by sportscar lover from houston on Fri Aug 05 2011

great cars, handle like a go cart round corners, solid as a rock at speed, effortless performance and that famous bmw v8 sound.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Exactly What I Would Expect From A Beemer

by Car Guy from Albuquerque, NM on Mon Jun 11 2012

We bought our 2004 BMW X5 just as a place holder until we got our Lexus. We took it on a 2,000 mile trip right after we bought it and it did very good! The AWD performed well in the mountains of Colorodo. We love having the panoramic roof to let in more air and sunlight. The xenon headlights and LED halos are a trademark of BMW's and we get a lot of looks when driving at night with them on. It now has 135,000 miles on it and still runs well. The only things we wish it had are a nav system and power lift gate like our Lexus has. We put 19" rims on it and they make it look a lot more sporty than the rims it came with. Overall we are happy with it and it is everything that we hoped it would be- minus some.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Get your wallet ready

by AbsGB from Gettysburg on Fri Jan 27 2017

Ive had my car for about 3 years and there hasn't been a single year that I haven't had more than one problem with my car. Some things are smaller, but still always expensive. 4 of my windows have broken (failed to roll up) and now I have 2 leaks that'll be another $1000. BMWs are great cars in their first 10 years, but then it all goes downhill! Interior is nice and has nice luxury features, but then there are other features (like cheap plastic buttons for air and heat that fall off) that BMW probably could've put more money into or used better material.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2004 BMW X5

Quality, times five
BMW X5 a substantial SUV choice

First warning on the 2004 BMW X5 4.4i: Don't listen to the hype. BMW has insisted on calling its X5 a "Sports Activity Vehicle" - either a silly attempt to create a new automotive segment or an effort to force a change in the language by continually repeating jargon.

It's a little like "embedded," which no self-respecting journalist dreamed of five years ago. Now, in Iraq, you would think they invented the word.

The tested X5 4.4i is a sport-utility vehicle - four doors, five seats, rear cargo area, rear seats that fold to make the cargo area bigger. Basic SUV stuff.

Oh, and one other thing: It's an exceptional SUV.

That's a good thing... Read More