2014 X5

Consumer Reviews

2014 BMW X5

$22,093 - $39,505  MSRP Range
2014 BMW X5

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

49 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nice, but lacks traditional BMW goodness

by Nopcbs from Midland, MI on Fri Oct 27 2017

My previous BMWs are a 2003 330i zhp sedan and a current 2006 M3. As for SUVs, there was a 2000 GMC Yukon XL , a 2003 Lexus RX330, and a current 2008 Lexus RX400h. We bought a 12000 mile BMW X5 35d two weeks ago and have a 1000 miles on it. First impressions are: Excellent mileage. We are getting just under 30 mpg with about 80% highway 20% city. At 80 mph I get 32 mpg. Very mediocre handling. This is no BMW handling-wise. About on par with my wife's RX400h. Adequate and not a bit better. Very disappointing. Would be very comfortable if not for the run flat tires which absolutely ruin the ride. I look forward to the day they wear out and I can replace them with non-run flats. Also, BMW will let you buy a space-saver spare kit for $150 on a new X5. There is a well for it in no-third-row X5's. They will sell you the same kit for about $250 from a BMW parts counter in Europe. Not in the US, though. If you want one you have to order from an EU dealer and pay $200 shipping. How is that for regard for your customer? My car gas the optional running boards. A really stupid design that is useless as a step and excellent at soiling the back of your pants leg when you get in or out. I-Drive has become OK after initially be a disaster. The large LCD screen is nice. The lower dash panel controls are too small and hard to locate. For example, the front and rear defogger buttons are a distraction to locate. The sun-roof is REALLY big, if that matters to you. Steering feel is essentially nil. Really dead. Buried deep, too. BMW should be ashamed. Wipers and headlights work well. The behind the second row cargo area is smaller on the X5 than on our RX400h, which is weird as the X5 is much larger. Excellent second row leg room. You can completely turn off the "engine off at stops" feature. Praised be BMW for that one. The Dakota leather on the seats is unimpressive. The wood dash trim is gorgeous. The keyless start is nice, but takes a little getting used to. You sometimes forget to take the key fob with you when you get out. BMW used to give you two years of warranty extension with a Certified car purchase. Now they give you one year. Mercedes still gives you two years and a Certified Mercedes has to pass a long inspection list and flaws must be repaired. You basically get a new Merc with miles on it. BMW Certified just means an extra year of warranty and there is $50 deductible per issue. No deductible with MB. Guess who values their certified car customers more. (I would have bought an equivalent Merc if I could have found a low miles 2014 ML diesel. They went to a gutless 4 cylinder in 2015 from the fine 6-cylinder diesel of 2014.) The 2014 X5 35d is a bit of a disappointment if you are used to the excellent handling BMW sedans of the past...or even the previous generation X5. If you think of it as a BMW minivan, you will be very satisfied, however.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and comfortable

by BMW fan from Westchester, NY on Sun May 11 2014

I have a long commute every day and find this car to be extremely comfortable but still lots of fun to drive. I never wanted an SUV but this car handles great like all BMWs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV with Perfect Balance

by bmwmaster from New York on Wed May 27 2015

This X5 has smooth ride over bumps, rock solid transmission, and monstrous V8 turbo power. You will beat most sports cars on the road effortlessly. Transmission seem to know what gear you should be in all the time and suspension is smooth yet nimble for fast cornering. Perfect daily SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice and fun car to drive!

by Doc Cal from Los Angeles on Wed Jan 29 2014

Traded in our 2010 Lexus RX,. What a upgrade! Performance and handling are way better. Interior feels lush and luxurious thanks to 2014 redesign. Surprisingly gas mileage so far is better than Lexus. Wish BMW took bolder steps for exterior design. Also a touch screen would be better for main display.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not sure I'll ever buy a different car/SAV again.

by Cindy R from Highland Village, TX on Tue Dec 20 2016

Traded in a Honda Pilot for the X5. Ordered it in 2013. Got everything I wanted and more. Great ride, comfort, handling, luxury, sportiness, dual controls, interior color, etc. Only negative is that there isn't enough leg room for people in 3rd row. If you have little kids it's fine but not for anyone else. Other than that I LOVE LOVE LOVE everything about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable and fun vehicle ever!

by Arios82 from San Diego,CA on Fri Aug 10 2018

My wife and I absolutely love the X5! It is very stylish and practical! It is our family car that she mainly drives. She is 4' 11" but still is able to adjust the seat and feels very comfortable and safe driving it with our 18 month old son. Very roomy both front and back seats and still has plenty of room in the back for our baby stroller, groceries and whatever else! The gas mileage is not bad considering the size and power and comes with the optional Eco mode! My only pet con is the controls for the music on the steering wheel! It is placed on the right hand side only foot away from the dashboard controls! Maybe it's silly but my Kia Optima has it the music controls on the left hand side which I find way more logical! But all the around the X5 is my favorite car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best BMW SUV by far

by Shaunman from So California on Tue Sep 12 2017

This BMW X5 is a bit more than a transportation vehicle from A-B - it really transports me in style and luxury which is a true comfort that has to be experienced to be known. Before owning this X5, I did have another BMW 750LI with Turbo V8 engine- which at first sounds great, but WAY too many mechanical issues plagued my time with the 750LI - seemed that I was always coming from or to the dealership and never fully resolved. But without the BMW 750LI, I wouldnt have known exactly what I was looking for in the X5 features. Not the case with the X5 and the 3.5 liter V6 engine - enough power to get me where I want to go, All wheel drive to hug the road and fast enough to notice and still provide some good fuel economy. Luxury and Convenience, the reverse camera, parking assistance, lane departure, Heads Up Display is GREAT - showing speed and NAV right on the windshield in front of my eyes really makes a difference. The entertainment system options are great, internal HDD to store my digital music collection its really a world apart when I drive that X5 around. Super sporty M-Sport package, Leather all around, including a Leather Dashboard option. Saftey systems galore, the back up cameras - side, front rear airbags - really add to the whole confidence of driving this BMW knowing we are safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

luxury and power

by nice things from new jersey on Fri Apr 04 2014

Very nice car with power and style a lot of standard features which other companies will consider luxury. a lot of power and a very smooth ride, handling is like driving a caw

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Quite a well built vehicle

by Bmwpk from Texas on Mon Feb 12 2018

It’s really efficient in every way possible the main one being itself turned off at a red light to save gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by X5 enthusiast from Fort Valley, GA on Sun Jan 05 2014

I love this vehicle. I traded in a 2012 X5 and am very pleased with the upgrades, especially the improved gas mileage, the comfortable ride and the performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2014 BMW X5

The redesigned 2014 BMW X5 carries on its winning formula of being a stylish, expensive, luxurious SUV for secret station-wagon fans who prefer to sit up high.

Americans don't like station wagons anymore — or so automakers keep telling us — which is why we have the BMW X5 xDrive35i, a tall, car-based SUV that has replaced the 5 Series wagon for BMW-loving U.S. buyers of family luxury cars. It may not look like a new vehicle, but the X5 is a complete redesign for 2014, with some new standard equipment, like the latest iDrive multimedia system with a touchpad and BMW Apps, plus automatic stop-start for the engine, a 40/20/40-split folding backseat and speed-sensitive power steering... Read More