2020 X5

Consumer Reviews

2020 BMW X5

$58,900 - $82,150  MSRP Range
2020 BMW X5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

41 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great except for depreciation

by Frequest Travelor from Columbus Ohio on Mon May 04 2020

Second X-5 and like all BMWs likely will not hold its value. Picked up at the factory which was well worth it. BMW goes overboard with factory delivery (highly recommend this method). Cruising at 70-75 in Econ. mode delivered 27+. Has every option but off road package (have to be crazy to take a 85,000 care off road). Ride is comfortable and technology takes a little time to get use too. Self driving and massage features are great. Much more car than the 5 series. Great car if you can absorb the depreciation. Expect 50% lose in three years. 3 stars for reliability only because it only hs 1200 miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The X5M50i is a grownup hotrod

by Warwagon from Ammon, Idaho on Thu Jun 18 2020

Impeccable ride and ACCELERATION! Nicely appointed interior. Beautiful exterior and build quality. BMW hit it out of the park on this one. Long time BMW purchaser.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest SUV purchased

by Maestro from Hanover, MD on Sun May 31 2020

This SUV meets all of my needs, Great comfort and a really great ride. All the space I will ever need. I am really enjoying my new X5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my suv!

by Lana D. Texas girl from Colleyville, Tx. on Tue Aug 11 2020

This suv has more power then any of my my past three Lexus. The get up and go does exactly that. It’s an awesome suv! We love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just the right size!

by Byrdman from Fancy Gap, VA on Tue Jun 09 2020

We got rid of a Tahoe that was just too big for my wife..after two weeks in the new x5, and 50 years in bmw’s, this was just like coming home. It’s comfortable, quiet, has decent power, handles well and brakes like a BMW should. With all the tech involved it’s been fun to get used to it. All in all, a nice automotive move for our family.......

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by bobf645 from LEWES, Delaware on Fri Sep 04 2020

The X5 met and exceeded all my expectations, but I now find I need a vehicle with adult-useable third row seats. My X5 does not have a third- row seat

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful and functional vehicle I have ever

by MarkZ from Boardman Oh. on Tue Aug 25 2020

It’s awesome!! Every year Bmw gets better and better!! It’s always a thrill to get the new vehicle! The car is comfortable with great seats and leg room and being that I am 6 ft. 3 I love the back split hatch – I have never hit my head while loading the back due to that!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Gina D from Marlton, NJ on Mon Sep 30 2019

This is my first BMW and this X5 is an awesome car so many options that come with this car not many extras needed. I love how wide and comfortable it is and boy the pick up on this car is unbelievable . I had the Mercedes ML and this car is way above it in everything!!! Love it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Third and best X5 I’ve owned!

by Bgaiser from MEDINA, Ohio on Mon Dec 23 2019

I chose to purchase the six cylinder version of this X5 with an M sport trim level. This car is packed with so much technology is staggering, Yet easy to use. The balance between performance and fuel economy is perfect. The interior is well appointed and everything is tight.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality taken to a new level of excellence

by Randy from Dexter on Mon Nov 04 2019

I have owned X-series vehicles continuously since 2001 and the 2020 X5 is an amazing evolution of the series. The material quality of everything in the vehicle is satisfying to touch, see, or use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5