2000 Z3

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW Z3

2000 BMW Z3

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

25 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW Z3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

BMW Z3

by Jsh from Cape Cod , Ma on Wed May 18 2011

Bought a 2000 BMW Z3 in Mar 2011. Luckily I found a BMW mechanic that does side work. I replaced brakes , rotors and drive belts. The car is our summer car and is lots of fun to drive. I owned 3 Miata,s before the Z and it's a world of difference. The Z is roomy, has leg room and plenty of power. The trade off is repairs are more money, but you only go around once, so if you are planning on a fun roadster, I would recommend the BMW Z3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

by San Francisco BMW Enthusaist from San Francisco Bay Area on Thu Jun 25 2009

I have the 2.8 six cylinder and this car flies. It's also been very dependable, with no problems in the four years I've owned the car. I'd owned a 5 serious and really liked the BMW. I was shocked at what a good value the Z-3 was for the money. Nothing else even came close to it's performance for the money, so I brought it used and have not ever regretted it. I'm constantly getting comments from various corners about my hot expensive sports car and I never tell them they could have one to for well under $20,000. There's nothing like a day spent cruising the back roads of wine country in my Z-3.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang For The Buck

by Rob D from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Mar 14 2009

I've owned my Z3 for almost 6 years with zero problems. The 2.3 isn't screaming but more than adequate, the interior legroom is impressive and materials are excellent. The car still feels solid. At 45k, it has a lot of life left in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car

by BMW lover from Winchester, IN on Mon Nov 01 2010

I have owned another BMW for 4 years now, and this one is another great example of BMW quality. The power, handling, and overall feel is superb. The seats are the biggest drawback for me, the are very uncomfortable and lack any padding. The style is outstanding, handling is incredible, and the comments from others is daily. Watch out for fraud....these are getting rarer and the temptation to change odometers is getting higher. I wish it had a glass rear window.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Weekend car or Daily Driver

by Ed from TX on Wed Mar 19 2008

I have owned the z3 2.3 roadster since 4/2000. It was mainly used as a weekend car for the first 3-4 years, but has since been changed to a daily driver. The car is currently up to 51k miles. Handles great, engine is not a beast but is more than sufficient and provides smooth power throughout all gears. Only complaint I have is that during heavy rain, water leaks a bit in one area between the window and softtop seal. Car is generally easy to maintain (oil, coolant, power steering fluid, air filter changes are all easy DIY jobs). Because it is a bmw, some things have to be ordered or maintained at the dealer or a good independent shop so maintenance could cost more than a typical honda or toyota. The most costly maintenance to the car has been new tires and a leaking valve cover gasket, so not a big deal. Its a car to enjoy!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A true roadster!

by sopome from Maine on Thu Jun 27 2013

If you enjoy really feeling what's "going on" on the road you're driving...this car is for you. Solid feel and great handling, but a two hands on the wheel roadster! Power roof is easy to use, the boot that protects the top when it's tucked behind the seats is a bit of a pain to get on and off...my only complaint. Otherwise, what a FUN drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by MidloZ3 from Midlothian, VA on Mon Jan 15 2018

Having owned MGs - I soon realized this was the car MG should have built next. I have a 2o00 Z3 2.3 with the 6 cylinder engine - ultra smooth if not as lively as my 2017 GTI. Has a very high spec. and was I lucky enough to buy mine recently only having 33,000 miles on it. Love it! Handles superbly, love the smooth growl from the six, and enjoy all the built in safety/luxury features!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have ever owned!

by Ky Wildcat from Montgomery, AL on Wed May 17 2017

This car was purchased as a "fun" car and it has lived up to it. The Z 3 handling and mechanics are superb.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Fun Roadster

by Roadsterchick from Poconoes, PA on Thu Mar 29 2018

I had a 1.9 and currently own a 2.8. Both are pretty bullet proof. Like other BMWs of the era, I6 model’s water pumps/radiators need replacing at around 100k. The MRoadster and coupe and 3.0 can have subframe issues. It’s a documented issue with a repair ki5 available. Other than that, these cars have no other serious issues. The sixes are naturally aspirated and sound wonderful, especially with a sports exhaust. They are torquey and quick, but certainly not fast by modern standards-but the MCoupe or Roadster is quite capable of shocking a C5. The 1.9 is a little underpowered, but gets great fuel economy and is still quicker than a NA or NB Miata. Z3s also are a bit more roomy than a Miata, S2000 or Mr2. They ride waaaay better than the Audi TT and have better steering/handling than a SLK. Being older tech, z3s have few electrical problems since they were before a lot of stuff like navigation. To be truthful, the low levels of electronics make this little roadster very mechanical and old school in a more raw sports car way. Plus Z3s are easy to work on for the home mechanic. If you are interested in a Z3; get into a well maintained model and you will have a blast.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, fun sports car

by jemcumber from Jackson, MI on Wed Jan 03 2018

This vehicle was what I was looking for in a used sports car. It was well maintained and in great shape. It is fun to drive and so far is in top shape for the age.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2000 BMW Z3

Under the definition of "potent" in the dictionary, you'll find a pencil sketch of the 2000 BMW M roadster.

The M hustles. The M is the performance version of BMW's Z3 roadster.

The Z3 is powered by a 2.8-liter, 193-h.p. in-line 6 that claims a 6.3-second zero-to-60-m.p.h. time; the M by a 3.2-liter, 240-h.p., 24-valve in-line 6 that claims a 5.2 second zero-to-60-m.p.h. time.

The 3.2-liter 6 is teamed with a smooth-shifting 5-speed manual (BMW's 5-speed automatic is not available) that helps the roadster come alive.

Despite the focus on performance, fuel economy is a respectable 19 m.p.g. city/26 m.p.g. highway.

But where the M roadster stands out is in... Read More