Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Z3

Consumer Reviews

2002 BMW Z3

2002 BMW Z3

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 BMW Z3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

BMW Z3 Coupe

by Finia from McHenry, IL on Sun Aug 15 2010

Great sports car, head turner design, light, high performance, very stylish and bulish design, great ride and sound, very reliable, only made 760 of them in 2002 which was the last production year. I love this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved it so much we bought it twice!

by Loved it so much we bought it twice! from Saint Louis, MO on Mon Jun 06 2011

We owned a Z3 about 10 years ago, and realized we missed it so much we had to buy another one. There is no other car like it---it's a work of art from the outside, and drives like a dream inside. Very reliable, low total cost-of-ownership vehicle. So much more beautiful than the Z4 they replaced it with.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Sports Car Enthusiast from on Tue May 31 2011

Would highly recommend! Glad I got one!!! Anyone looking to get one now is the time to do it as prices seem relatively low, or at least when I made my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Top Gear needs one on their opening credits

by z3guy from Charlotte, NC on Fri Aug 05 2011

Very good car all around. If there is a car heaven, then St Michael will greet you in his Z3 with the top down and the wind in his white hair.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR BAD EXPERIENCE WITH DEALERSHIP

by AD from HAVANA, FL on Mon Apr 07 2014

THE CAR FOR THE MOST PART IS GREAT. IT'S THE SECOND ONE WE HAVE OWNED. THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM LEAK TO THE FRONT WEATHER STRIP FOR THE CONVERTIBLE TOP. IT LEAKS BOTH AIR AND WATER. THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL WON'T TURN OFF AUTOMATICALLY. IT WAS A REALLY GREAT LOOKING CAR AND WE THOUGHT WE WERE BUYING SOMETHING SPECIAL, WITH LOW MILES AND FROM A BMW DEALERSHIP. WE PLANNED TO BUY AN X3, SUV, EARLY NEXT YEAR BUT AT THIS TIME, I HAVE LOST MY FAITH DUE TO CONTINUING PROBLEMS THE DEALERSHIP. IT'S A GREAT DRIVE. OUR PREVIOUS Z3 WAS A 5-SPEED AND I WASN'T SURE THAT I'D LIKE THE AUTOMATIC BUT AM ENJOYING IT SO FAR. BY THE WAY, MY FIRST Z3, A 1996, WAS PURCHASED FROM AN INDIVIDUAL AND WE DIDN'T HAVE NEAR AS MANY PROBLEMS WITH IT. BOTTOM LINE, AMAZING VEHICLE IF YOU CAN LOCATE SOMEONE YOU TRUST TO MAINTAIN IT. FOR ME, THAT'S NOT THE DEALERSHIP ANYMORE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Way ahead of its time

by RC ROCKETMR Z3 from OJAI < CA on Fri Jul 28 2017

This BMW model 2002 Z3 3.0 Coupe may be the finest available of any car in the market today, if you don't understand I will explain to you or anyone !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Delightful to drive

by orangutan2001 from Los Angeles on Mon Oct 03 2011

I think this car will become a collectible very soon. The design is iconic. It's compact, powerful, sexy. I feel good every time I drive it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second Purchase and still enjoying the Car

by jah from Atlanta, GA on Mon Dec 20 2010

This is the second BMW Z3 I have owned. The first was a 1996, first year and a 2002, the last year. It is a sports car with a rag-top. In a good week, I drive it twice a week (around 25 miles). I love the look and the sun in my face. All the extras only detract from that. So far no issues. Pro: Good rough ride, loud and noisy. Con: Service is expense. Bottom Line: I love it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This roadster is a blast to drive!

by Cricket from San Diego, CA on Fri Aug 03 2018

I love this car even though it's time to part with it. It's the most fun car I've ever owned including my former Datsun 280Z. I loved driving with the top down and on curving mountain roads. It handles beautifully and is a powerful car. It handles well and maneuvers easily. Plus, it just looks good. The Impala metallic brown color always reminded me of a copper penny.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool, rare, and fun to drive!

by JHeeze from Ohio on Tue Mar 06 2018

Love this car because you don't see many of them on the road. It is quick, handles great, and looks awesome. Engine sounds great and most importantly it is fun to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2002 BMW Z3

We took the top down, which wasn't the brightest thing to do on a day of intense sunlight. But it seemed sacrilegious to drive to the beach in a tight little roadster top up.

We wanted romance. It was our 33rd wedding anniversary. We wanted to pretend we were somewhere in the south of France taking back roads to the Mediterranean Sea. But time and money required that we settle for southern Delaware and the Atlantic Ocean. That was okay. At least we didn't have to compromise on the car.

We drove the 2002 BMW M Roadster, the 315-horsepower version of the BMW Z3. Fun happens when you put that much power into a 3,131-pound car with a 96.8-inch wheelbase. Zooommm, baby! But we mostly zoomed... Read More